1952 Dallas Texans season

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
1952 Dallas Texans (NFL) season
Head coach Jimmy Phelan
Home field Cotton Bowl
Results
Record 1–11
Division place 6th NFL National
Playoff finish did not qualify
Timeline
Previous season Next season
N/A N/A

The 1952 Dallas Texans season was the team's only season in the league while in Dallas. They started 0–9 before finishing 1–11[1] and failing to qualify for the playoffs. The team was returned to the NFL on November 14 [1] The Texans home game against Chicago was moved to Akron, Ohio's Rubber Bowl and the final home game of the season was moved to Detroit from Dallas.

Results[edit]

Week Day & Date Opponent W-L-T Score Site Record
1 Sun September 28, 1952 New York Giants L 24–6 Cotton Bowl 0–1–0
2 Sun 10/5/1952 San Francisco 49ers L 37–14 Cotton Bowl 0–2–0
3 Sun 10/12/1952 Chicago Bears L 38–20 Wrigley Field 0–3–0
4 Sat Night October 18, 1952 Green Bay Packers L 24–14 Cotton Bowl 0–4–0
5 Sun October 26, 1952 San Francisco 49ers L 48–21 Kezar Stadium 0–5–0
6 Sun 11/2/1952 Los Angeles Rams L 42–20 Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum 0–6–0
7 Sun 11/9/1952 Los Angeles Rams L 27–6 Cotton Bowl 0–7–0
8 Sun November 16, 1952 Detroit Lions L 43–13 Briggs Stadium 0–8–0
9 Sun November 23, 1952 Green Bay Packers L 42–14 East Stadium 0–9–0
10 Thu November 27, 1952 Chicago Bears W 27–23 Rubber Bowl* (Akron, Ohio) 1–9–0
11 Sun 12/7/1952 Philadelphia Eagles L 38–21 Shibe Park 1–10–0
12 Sat December 13, 1952 Detroit Lions L 41–6 Briggs Stadium * 1–11–0


* moved from Dallas

Standings[edit]

NFL National
W L T PCT PF PA STK
Detroit Lions 9 3 0 .750 344 192 W-3
Los Angeles Rams 9 3 0 .750 349 234 W-8
San Francisco 49ers 7 5 0 .583 285 221 W-1
Green Bay Packers 6 6 0 .500 295 312 L-3
Chicago Bears 5 7 0 .417 245 326 W-1
Dallas Texans 1 11 0 .083 182 427 L-2

References[edit]