1988 National Panasonic Cup

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
1988 National Panasonic Cup
AFL pre-season competition
Season 1988
Teams 14
Winners Hawthorn (1st title)
Matches played 13
Attendance 155,035 (average 11,926 per match)

The 1988 VFL National Panasonic Cup was the Victorian Football League Pre-season Cup competition played in its entirety before the Victorian Football League's 1988 Premiership Season began. It culminated the Final in March 1988. This was the first of the night premierships to be played entirely in the pre-season.

Games[edit]

1st Round[edit]

Home team Home team score Away team Away team score Ground Crowd Date
Fitzroy 14.10 (94) Footscray 7.13 (55) VFL Park 8,921 Wednesday 10 February
Carlton 5.8 (38) Richmond 15.3 (93) VFL Park 14,185 Saturday 13 February
Geelong 12.7 (79) St Kilda 7.17 (59) VFL Park - Sunday 14 February
Hawthorn 16.9 (105) Brisbane 12.8 (80) VFL Park - Sunday 14 February
Collingwood 16.13 (109) North Melbourne 11.9 (75) VFL Park 13,938 Wednesday 17 February
West Coast 19.14 (128) Sydney 5.11 (41) WACA Ground 12,587 Saturday 20 February

Quarter Finals[edit]

Home team Home team score Away team Away team score Ground Crowd Date
Fitzroy 18.10 (118) Melbourne 13.8 (86) VFL Park 10,273 Wednesday 24 February
Geelong 15.18 (108) Richmond 9.7 (61) VFL Park 11,813 Saturday 27 February
Collingwood 11.10 (76) Hawthorn 14.9 (93) VFL Park 17,433 Wednesday 9 March
Essendon 14.12 (96) West Coast 8.12 (60) VFL Park 5,992 Saturday 12 March

Semi Finals[edit]

Home team Home team score Away team Away team score Ground Crowd Date
Fitzroy 5.6 (36) Geelong 8.16 (64) VFL Park 8,596 Wednesday 16 March
Essendon 9.7 (61) Hawthorn 15.14 (104) VFL Park 15,494 Saturday 19 March

Final[edit]

Home team Home team score Away team Away team score Ground Crowd Date
Geelong 9.13 (67) Hawthorn 10.10 (70) VFL Park 35,803 Saturday 26 March[1]

See also[edit]

References[edit]

  1. ^ Lovett, Michael (ed.). AFL Record Season Guide to 2010. p. 900. ISBN 978-0-9806274-5-9.