2002–03 Portland Trail Blazers season

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
2002–03 Portland Trail Blazers season
Head coach Maurice Cheeks
Arena Rose Garden Arena
Results
Record 50–32 (.610)
Place Division: 3rd (Pacific)
Conference: 6th (Western)
Playoff finish West First Round (eliminated 3–4)

Stats @ Basketball-Reference.com
< 2001–02 2003–04 >

The 2002–03 season was the 33rd season of the Portland Trail Blazers in the National Basketball Association (NBA).[1] The Blazers finished 50–32, making the playoffs for the 21st consecutive year and 26th year of the last 27.

In the 2003 NBA Playoffs, the sixth-seeded Blazers battled the Dallas Mavericks in the first round, and fell four games to three. (The NBA had changed all playoff series to be best-of-seven; previously first-round series had been best-of-five).

The Blazers' 107–95 Game 7 loss to the Mavericks in Dallas would be the venerable franchise's last playoff game for six years, as the historic postseason streak ended in 2003–04 with a mediocre 41-41 record; two seasons followed in which they failed to win even 30 games.

Draft picks[edit]

Main article: 2002 NBA Draft
Round Pick Player Position Nationality School/Club Team
1 21 Qyntel Woods F  United States NE Mississippi CC
2 43 Jason Jennings C  United States Arkansas State
2 51 Federico Kammerichs F  Argentina Ourense (Spain)

Roster[edit]

Derek Anderson

Regular season[edit]

Season standings[edit]

Template:2002-03 NBA Pacific standings

# Western Conference
Team W L PCT GB
1 z-San Antonio Spurs 60 22 .732
2 y-Sacramento Kings 59 23 .720 1
3 x-Dallas Mavericks 60 22 .732
4 x-Minnesota Timberwolves 51 31 .622 9
5 x-Los Angeles Lakers 50 32 .610 10
6 x-Portland Trail Blazers 50 32 .610 10
7 x-Utah Jazz 47 35 .573 13
8 x-Phoenix Suns 44 38 .537 16
9 Houston Rockets 43 39 .524 17
10 Seattle SuperSonics 40 42 .488 20
11 Golden State Warriors 38 44 .463 22
12 Memphis Grizzlies 28 54 .341 32
13 Los Angeles Clippers 27 55 .329 33
14 Denver Nuggets 17 65 .207 43


z - clinched division title
y - clinched division title
x - clinched playoff spot

Game log[edit]

Playoffs[edit]

West First Round[edit]

(3) Dallas Mavericks vs. (6) Portland Trail Blazers Last Playoff Meeting: 1990 Western Conference First Round (Portland won 3-0)

Game Date Visitor Score Home Score Record

(POR-DAL)

Venue TV Time Recap
1 April 19 Portland 86 Dallas 96 0–1 American Airlines Center, Dallas TNT 8:00 EDT/7:00CT Recap
2 April 23 Portland 99 Dallas 103 0–2 American Airlines Center, Dallas TNT 9:30 EDT/8:30CT Recap
3 April 25 Dallas 115 Portland 103 0–3 Rose Garden, Portland ESPN 10:30 EDT/7:30PT Recap
4 April 27 Dallas 79 Portland 98 1–3 Rose Garden, Portland TNT 8:00 EDT/7:00PT Recap
5 April 30 Portland 103 Dallas 99 2–3 American Airlines Center, Dallas TNT 8:00 EDT/7:00CT Recap
6 May 2 Dallas 103 Portland 125 3–3 Rose Garden, Portland ESPN 10:30 EDT/7:30PT Recap
7 May 4 Portland 95 Dallas 107 3–4 American Airlines Center, Dallas ABC 3:30 EDT/2:30CT Recap
Dallas wins series 4–3

Player statistics[edit]

Legend
  GP Games played   GS  Games started  MPG  Minutes per game
 FG%  Field-goal percentage  3P%  3-point field-goal percentage  FT%  Free-throw percentage
 RPG  Rebounds per game  APG  Assists per game  SPG  Steals per game
 BPG  Blocks per game  PPG  Points per game

Season[edit]

Playoffs[edit]

Awards and honors[edit]

Transactions[edit]

References[edit]