2005 Saskatchewan Roughriders season

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
2005 Saskatchewan Roughriders season
Head coach Danny Barrett
General manager Roy Shivers
Home field Taylor Field
Results
Record 9–9–0
Division place 4th, West
Playoff finish Lost East Semi-Final
Team MOP Corey Holmes
Team MOC Scott Schultz
Team MOR T. J. Stancil
Uniform
CFL SSK Jersey 2005.png
Timeline
Previous season Next season
< 2004 2006 >

The 2005 Saskatchewan Roughriders finished in 4th place in the West division with a 9–9–0 record. They crossed over to the east and appeared in the East Semi-Final where they lost to the Montreal Alouettes.

Offseason[edit]

CFL Draft[edit]

Round Pick Player Position School/Club Team
1 3 Matt O'Meara Offensive Tackle McMaster
1 4 Chris Best Offensive Lineman Duke
1 7 Nathan Hoffart Slotback Saskatchewan
3 21 Matt Kudu Defensive Lineman Eastern Michigan
4 30 J.O. Gagnon-Gordillo Defensive Lineman Eastern Michigan
5 39 Dustin Cherniawski Defensive Back British Columbia
6 48 Ryan Gottselig Defensive Lineman Saskatchewan

Preseason[edit]

Week Date Opponent Score Result Attendance
A Tues, June 7 at Calgary Stampeders 18–14 Loss 24,700
A Sun, June 12 vs. BC Lions 37–23 Loss 25,771

Regular season[edit]

Season standings[edit]

West Division
Team GP W L T PF PA Pts
Y-BC Lions 18 12 6 0 550 444 24 Details
X-Calgary Stampeders 18 11 7 0 529 443 22 Details
X-Edmonton Eskimos 18 11 7 0 453 421 22 Details
X-Saskatchewan Roughriders 18 9 9 0 441 433 18 Details
Winnipeg Blue Bombers 18 5 13 0 474 558 10 Details

Season schedule[edit]

Week Date Opponent Score Result Attendance Record
1 Sat, June 25 vs. Winnipeg Blue Bombers 42–15 Win 23,067 1–0
2 Sat, July 2 at Hamilton Tiger-Cats 23–21 Win 29,032 2–0
3 Sat, July 9 at Toronto Argonauts 27–26 Loss 26,218 2–1
4 Sun, July 17 vs. Hamilton Tiger-Cats 32–13 Win 23,421 3–1
5 Sat, July 23 at Calgary Stampeders 44–18 Loss 35,652 3–2
6 Fri, July 29 vs. Ottawa Renegades 21–16 Loss 25,198 3–3
7 Thurs, Aug 4 at Montreal Alouettes 42–13 Loss 20,202 3–4
8 Thurs, Aug 11 at Ottawa Renegades 22–17 Loss 20,607 3–5
9 Bye
10 Sat, Aug 27 vs. BC Lions 19–15 Loss 24,899 3–6
11 Sun, Sept 4 vs. Winnipeg Blue Bombers 45–26 Win 28,800 4–6
12 Sat, Sept 10 at Winnipeg Blue Bombers 19–17 Win 29,653 5–6
13 Sun, Sept 18 vs. Edmonton Eskimos 37–36 Win 25,226 6–6
14 Fri, Sept 23 vs. Toronto Argonauts 24–13 Win 22,779 7–6
15 Sat, Oct 1 at BC Lions 28–19 Win 34,711 8–6
16 Sat, Oct 8 vs. Montreal Alouettes 38–34 Loss 26,900 8–7
17 Sat, Oct 15 at Edmonton Eskimos 19–18 Loss 53,216 8–8
18 Sun, Oct 23 vs. Calgary Stampeders 29–21 Loss 28,800 8–9
19 Bye
20 Sat, Nov 5 at BC Lions 13–12 Win 38,847 9–9

Roster[edit]

Saskatchewan Roughriders roster
Quarterbacks

Running Backs

Wide Receivers

Slotbacks

Offensive Linemen

Defensive Linemen

Linebackers

Defensive Backs

Special Teams

Injured

Practice Roster


Italics indicate Import player

More rosters

Awards and records[edit]

CFL All-Star Selections[edit]

Western All-Star Selections[edit]

  • Eddie Davis, Defensive Back
  • Andrew Greene, Offensive Guard
  • Corey Holmes, Special Teams
  • Gene Makowsky, Offensive Tackle
  • Omarr Morgan, Cornerback
  • Scott Schultz, Defensive Tackle
  • Elijah Thurmon, Wide Receiver

Milestones[edit]

Playoffs[edit]

East Semi-Final[edit]

Team Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Total
Saskatchewan Roughriders 0 0 7 7 14
Montreal Alouettes 7 17 3 3 30

References[edit]