2007–08 Newport County A.F.C. season

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Newport County
2007–08 season
Chairman Chris Blight
Manager Peter Beadle
Conference South 9th
FA Cup 3rd qualifying round
FA Trophy 2nd round
FAW Premier Cup Winners
Top goalscorer League: Griffin (16)
All: Griffin (20)
Highest home attendance 1,889 vs Llanelli (FAWPC, 11 Mar 2008)
Lowest home attendance 726 vs Cambridge City (23 Jan 2008)
Average home league attendance 1,000
Home colours
Away colours

The 2007–08 season was Newport County's fourth consecutive season in the Conference South and they had been ever-present since the introduction of the Conference North & South in 2004.

Newport County missed out on a place in the promotion play-offs due to a last-day defeat for the second year running, this time to play-off semi-finalists Fisher Athletic.[1] There was some consolation in winning the FAW Premier Cup after County's second successive final appearance.[2]

Season review[edit]

League[edit]

The first half of the season saw County well in the play-off places, only losing four games. The second half of the season was a different story, with the club losing eight matches and falling out of the play-off zone. After missing out on the play-offs for two consecutive seasons Peter Beadle was sacked as manager on 27 April 2008.[1]

Results summary[edit]

Overall Home Away
Pld W D L GF GA GD Pts W D L GF GA GD W D L GF GA GD
42 18 12 12 64 49 +15 66 9 5 7 37 27 +10 9 7 5 27 22 +5

Last updated: 26 Apr 2008.
Source: [1]

Results by round[edit]

Round 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42
Ground A H H A H A A H A H A H H A H A A A A A H H H A H A A H A H A H H A A H H A A H H H
Result D D W L W L D W W W W D L W W D D L D W W D W W D D L L W W W L L L W W L D W D L L
Position 11 14 7 12 8 10 10 9 6 4 4 4 5 3 3 3 3 6 9 8 5 5 6 5 4 5 8 8 8 7 5 7 9 11 9 8 9 9 6 6 6 9

Last updated: 26 Apr 2008.
Source: [2]
Ground: A = Away; H = Home. Result: D = Draw; L = Lose; W = Win; P = Postponed.

Fixtures and results[edit]

Pre-season friendlies[edit]

Date Opponents Venue Result Scorers Attendance
21 Jul 2007 Chippenham Town A 1–2 C.Hughes
24 Jul 2007 Clevedon Town A 4–1 C.Hughes, S.O'Sullivan, C.Griffin 2
1 Aug 2007 Bristol Rovers H 2–4 C.Griffin (P), J.Alsop
4 Aug 2007 Llanelli A 2–1 C.Hughes 2
6 Aug 2007 Yate Town A 5–3 C.Griffin, J.Alsop, S.O'Sullivan 2, C.Hughes

Conference South[edit]

Date Opponents Venue Result Scorers Attendance
Sat 11 Aug 2007 Bishop's Stortford A 0–0 516
Wed 15 Aug 2007 Maidenhead United H 1–1 J.Bowen 1,159
Sat 18 Aug 2007 St Albans City H 2–0 J.Alsop, J.Bowen 1,006
Sat 25 Aug 2007 Hampton & Richmond Borough A 0–1 493
Mon 27 Aug 2007 Basingstoke Town H 2–0 J.Bowen, N.Davies 1,004
Sun 2 Sep 2007 Lewes A 0–1 496
Fri 7 Sep 2007 Bath City A 1–1 I.Hillier 1,619
Sat 15 Sep 2007 Sutton United H 2–0 J.Bowen, C.Griffin 853
Tue 18 Sep 2007 Eastleigh A 2–0 C.Griffin, J.Bowen 683
Sat 22 Sep 2007 Braintree Town H 2–0 J.Alsop, C.Hughes 866
Sat 6 Oct 2007 Maidenhead United A 3–2 J.Alsop, C.Griffin, C.Hughes 638
Sat 20 Oct 2007 Bognor Regis Town H 2–2 C.Hughes, L.Fowler 849
Wed 24 Oct 2007 Bath City H 2–3 R.Evans 2 970
Sat 27 Oct 2007 Fisher Athletic A 3–1 C.Griffin, C.Hughes, J.Bowen (P) 284
Sat 3 Nov 2007 Dorchester Town H 3–2 C.Hughes, C.Griffin 2 928
Sat 17 Nov 2007 Bromley A 2–2 C.Griffin, J.Alsop 1,021
Tue 27 Nov 2007 Eastbourne Borough A 0–0 603
Sat 8 Dec 2007 Basingstoke Town A 1–3 L.Fowler 468
Wed 26 Dec 2007 Weston-super-Mare A 2–2 C.Hughes, J.Alsop 788
Sat 29 Dec 2007 Dorchester Town A 3–2 I.Hillier, C.Griffin, J.Clarke 615
Tue 1 Jan 2008 Weston-super-Mare H 5–0 I.Hillier, C.Griffin 2, J.Bowen, N.Davies 1,030
Sat 5 Jan 2008 Hayes & Yeading H 1–1 J.Clarke 902
Wed 23 Jan 2008 Cambridge City H 4–1 C.Hughes 2, L.Fowler, C.Griffin 726
Sat 26 Jan 2008 Sutton United A 1–0 J.Bowen (P) 609
Sat 2 Feb 2008 Hampton & Richmond Borough H 2–2 C.Griffin, C.Hughes 890
Sat 9 Feb 2008 St Albans City A 0–0 496
Sat 16 Feb 2008 Thurrock A 0–3 326
Sun 24 Feb 2008 Lewes H 1–3 C.Griffin 1,157
Wed 27 Feb 2008 Welling United A 2–1 J.Bowen (P), P.Cochlin 506
Sat 1 Mar 2008 Bishop's Stortford H 1–0 J.Bowen 1,022
Sat 8 Mar 2008 Hayes & Yeading A 3–1 C.Griffin, A.Gurney, R.Evans 362
Wed 19 Mar 2008 Welling United H 0–1 912
Sat 22 Mar 2008 Eastleigh H 1–2 P.Cochlin 926
Mon 24 Mar 2008 Havant & Waterlooville A 0–2 877
Sat 29 Mar 2008 Bognor Regis Town A 2–0 J.Bowen (P), L.Fowler 521
Sat 5 Apr 2008 Bromley H 3–1 A.Gurney 2, C.Griffin 1,057
Wed 9 Apr 2008 Havant & Waterlooville H 0–1 963
Sat 12 Apr 2008 Braintree Town A 0–0 1,026
Tue 15 Apr 2008 Cambridge City A 2–0 C.Griffin, A.Gurney 535
Sat 19 Apr 2008 Eastbourne Borough H 1–1 A.Gurney 1,206
Mon 21 Apr 2008 Thurrock H 1–4 A.Gurney 1,144
Sat 26 Apr 2008 Fisher Athletic H 1–2 A.Gurney 1,427

FA Cup[edit]

Round Date Opponents Venue Result Scorers Attendance
2Q 29 Sep 2007 Basingstoke Town A 1–0 C.Griffin 658
3Q 12 Oct 2007 Bath City H 1–2 I.Hillier 1,446

FA Trophy[edit]

Round Date Opponents Venue Result Scorers Attendance
3Q 24 Nov 2007 Windsor & Eton A 2–1 C.Hughes, J.Clarke 274
1 15 Dec 2007 Bath City H 3–0 C.Hughes 2, C.Griffin 592
2 12 Jan 2008 Torquay United H 1–2 M.Dodds 1,510

FAW Premier Cup[edit]

Round Date Opponents Venue Result Scorers Attendance Notes
2 6 Nov 2007 Bangor City H 1–0 C.Griffin 403
QF 19 Dec 2007 Swansea City H 1–0 J.Bowen 819
SF 19 Feb 2008 Cardiff City A 1–1 a.e.t J.Bowen 1,960 Won 5–4 on penalties
F 11 Mar 2008 Llanelli H 1–0 C.Hughes 1,889

Gwent Senior Cup[edit]

Round Date Opponents Venue Result Scorers Attendance Notes
R1 4 Sep 2007 Tredegar Town A 2–1 C Hughes, M Dodds 200
QF 26 Sep 2007 Cwmbran Celtic A 0–3 450

League table[edit]

Pos Team Pld W D L F A GD Pts Notes
1 Lewes 42 27 8 7 81 39 +42 89 Champions, promoted
2 Eastbourne Borough 42 23 11 8 83 38 +45 80 Play-off winners, promoted
3 Hampton & Richmond Borough 42 21 14 7 87 49 +38 77 Play-offs
4 Fisher Athletic 42 22 5 15 65 61 +4 71 Play-offs
5 Braintree Town 42 19 12 11 52 42 +10 69 Play-offs
6 Eastleigh 42 19 10 13 76 62 +14 67
7 Havant & Waterlooville 42 19 10 13 59 53 +6 67
8 Bath City 42 17 15 10 59 36 +23 66
9 Newport County 42 18 12 12 64 49 +15 66
10 Bishop's Stortford 42 18 10 14 72 60 +12 64
11 Bromley 42 19 7 16 77 66 +11 64
12 Thurrock 42 18 9 15 63 64 −1 63
13 Hayes & Yeading United 42 14 12 16 67 73 −6 54
14 Cambridge City 42 14 10 18 71 72 −1 52 Demoted ¹
15 Basingstoke Town 42 12 14 16 54 75 −21 50
16 Welling United 42 13 7 22 41 64 −23 46
17 Maidenhead United 42 11 12 19 56 59 −3 45
18 Bognor Regis Town 42 11 11 20 49 67 −18 44
19 St Albans City 42 10 12 20 43 69 −26 42
20 Weston-super-Mare 42 9 10 23 52 85 −33 37
21 Dorchester Town 42 8 10 24 36 70 −34 34 Reprieved from relegation ²
22 Sutton United 42 5 9 28 32 86 −54 24 Relegated
Key
Division Champions
Promoted
Into play-offs
Relegated

¹ Cambridge City demoted for failing to comply with stadium regulations.

² Dorchester Town reprieved from relegation due to Nuneaton Borough's liquidation and the Conference's decision to expel Boston United.

References[edit]

  1. ^ a b "Beadle's final game". South Wales Argus. 27 Apr 2008. 
  2. ^ "Newport 1-0 Llanelli". BBC Sport. 11 Mar 2008. 

External links[edit]