2008–09 Peterborough United F.C. season

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Peterborough United
2008–09 season
Chairman Republic of IrelandDarragh MacAnthony
Manager ScotlandDarren Ferguson
League One 2nd
FA Cup Third round
Football League Cup First round
Johnstone's Paint Trophy Second round
Top goalscorer League: Craig Mackail-Smith (23)
All: Craig Mackail-Smith (26)
Highest home attendance 14,110 (28 March vs. Leicester)
Lowest home attendance 4,876 (6 September vs. Bristol Rovers)
Home colours
Away colours

Peterborough United achieved automatic promotion to the Championship after a really successful season eventually finishing 2nd.

Squad[edit]

Note: Flags indicate national team as defined under FIFA eligibility rules. Players may hold more than one non-FIFA nationality.

No. Position Player
1 England GK Joe Lewis
2 England DF Russell Martin (captain)
3 England DF Shane Blackett
4 Wales DF Craig Morgan
5 England DF Chris Westwood
6 England DF Charlie Lee
7 England FW Scott Rendell
8 Republic of Ireland MF Lee Frecklington
9 England FW Aaron McLean
10 Scotland MF George Boyd
11 England MF Dean Keates (vice-captain)
12 Scotland FW Craig Mackail-Smith
13 Republic of Ireland GK James McKeown
14 England FW Liam Hatch
15 Scotland MF Paul Coutts
16 England FW Rene Howe
17 England DF Jamie Day
18 England MF Chris Whelpdale
No. Position Player
19 England DF Kieran Charnock
20 England MF Alfie Potter
21 Cyprus DF Tom Williams
22 Argentina MF Sergio Torres
23 England MF Billy Crook
24 England FW Shaun Batt
25 England MF Dominic Green
26 Democratic Republic of the Congo DF Gabriel Zakuani
27 England FW Ben Wright
28 England DF Craig Braham-Barrett
29 England MF Lewis Webb
31 England DF Sam Gaughran
32 England DF Danny Andrew
33 England DF Danny Blanchett
34 England GK Mark Tyler
38 England FW Kwesi Appiah
England MF Tommy Rowe

Fixtures and results[edit]

Coca-Cola Football League 1[edit]

  • Sat Aug 09 2008 Southend United CC1 (A) 0 - 1
  • Tue Aug 12 2008 Bristol City CC (A) 1 - 2
  • Sat Aug 16 2008 Leyton Orient CC1 (H) 3 - 0
  • Sat Aug 23 2008 Scunthorpe United CC1 (A) 0 - 1
  • Sat Aug 30 2008 Hartlepool United CC1 (H) 1 - 2
  • Sat Sep 06 2008 Bristol Rovers CC1 (H) 5 - 4
  • Sat Sep 13 2008 Northampton Town CC1 (A) 1 - 1
  • Sat Sep 20 2008 Tranmere Rovers CC1 (H) 2 - 2
  • Sat Sep 27 2008 Milton Keynes Dons CC1 (A) 2 - 1
  • Sat Oct 04 2008 Leeds United CC1 (H) 2 - 0
  • Sat Oct 11 2008 Walsall CC1 (A) 2 - 1
  • Sat Oct 18 2008 Carlisle United CC1 (A) 3 - 3
  • Tue Oct 21 2008 Brighton and Hove Albion CC1 (H) 0 - 0
  • Sat Oct 25 2008 Huddersfield Town CC1 (H) 4 - 0
  • Tue Oct 28 2008 Crewe Alexandra CC1 (A) 1 - 1
  • Sat Nov 01 2008 Hereford United CC1 (H) 2 - 0
  • Sat Nov 15 2008 Yeovil CC1 (A) 1 - 0
  • Sat Nov 22 2008 Colchester United CC1 (H) 2 - 1
  • Tue Nov 25 2008 Swindon Town CC1 (A) 2 - 2
  • Sat Nov 29 2008 Tranmere Rovers FA (H) 0 - 0
  • Sat Dec 06 2008 Stockport County CC1 (A) 3 - 1
  • Tue Dec 09 2008 Tranmere Rovers FA (A) 2 - 1
  • Sat Dec 13 2008 Oldham Athletic CC1 (H) 2 - 2
  • Sat Dec 20 2008 Leicester City CC1 (A) 0 - 4
  • Fri Dec 26 2008 Millwall CC1 (H) 1 - 0
  • Sun Dec 28 2008 Cheltenham Town CC1 (A) 6 - 3
  • Sat Jan 03 2009 West Bromwich Albion FA (A) 1 - 1
  • Tue Jan 13 2009 West Bromwich Albion FA (H) 0 - 2
  • Sat Jan 17 2009 Walsall CC1 (H) 1 - 0
  • Tue Jan 20 2009 Milton Keynes Dons CC1 (H) 0 - 0
  • Sat Jan 24 2009 Leeds United CC1 (A) 1 - 3
  • Tue Jan 27 2009 Crewe Alexandra CC1 (H) 4 - 2
  • Sat Jan 31 2009 Huddersfield Town CC1 (A) 0 - 1
  • Tue Feb 10 2009 Brighton and Hove Albion CC1 (A) 4 - 2
  • Sat Feb 14 2009 Yeovil CC1 (H) 1 - 3
  • Tue Feb 17 2009 Tranmere Rovers CC1 (A) 1 - 1
  • Sat Feb 21 2009 Hereford United CC1 (A) 1 - 0
  • Tue Feb 24 2009 Carlisle United CC1 (H) 1 - 0
  • Sat Feb 28 2009 Southend United CC1 (H) 1 - 2
  • Tue Mar 03 2009 Leyton Orient CC1 (A) 3 - 2
  • Sat Mar 07 2009 Hartlepool United CC1 (A) 2 - 1
  • Tue Mar 10 2009 Scunthorpe United CC1 (H) 2 - 1
  • Sat Mar 14 2009 Northampton Town CC1 (H) 1 - 0
  • Sat Mar 21 2009 Bristol Rovers CC1 (A) 1 - 0
  • Sat Mar 28 2009 Leicester City CC1 (H) 2 - 0
  • Sat Apr 04 2009 Oldham Athletic CC1 (A) 2 - 1
  • Fri Apr 10 2009 Cheltenham Town CC1 (H) 1 - 1
  • Mon Apr 13 2009 Millwall CC1 (A) 0 - 2
  • Sat Apr 18 2009 Stockport County CC1 (H) 1 - 0
  • Sat Apr 25 2009 Colchester United CC1 (A) 1 - 0
  • Sat May 2, 2009 Swindon Town CC1 (H) 2 - 2

FA Cup[edit]

Date Round Opponent Venue Result Attendance Scorers
9 November Round 1 A.F.C. Hornchurch Away W 1-0 3,000 Craig Mackail-Smith
29 November Round 2 Tranmere Rovers Home D 0-0 5,980
9 December Round 2 Replay Tranmere Rovers Away W 2-1 (aet) 3,139 Aaron McLean, Craig Mackail-Smith
3 January Round 3 West Bromwich Albion F.C. Away D 1-1 18,659 Craig Mackail-Smith
13 January Round 3 Replay West Bromwich Albion F.C. Home L 0-2 10,735

League Cup[edit]

Date Round Opponent Venue Result Attendance Scorers
12 August Round 1 South Bristol City Away L 1-2 5,684 George Boyd

Johnstone's Paint Trophy[edit]

Date Round Opponent Venue Result Attendance Scorers
7 October Round 2 SE Section Dagenham & Redbridge Home L 0-1 2,644

Football League One[edit]

Pos
Team
Pld
W
D
L
GF
GA
GD
Pts
Promotion or relegation
1 Leicester City (C) (P) 46 27 15 4 84 39 +45 96 Promotion to Football League Championship 2009–10
2 Peterborough United (P) 46 26 11 9 78 54 +24 89
3 Milton Keynes Dons 46 26 9 11 83 47 +36 87 Qualification to Football League One playoffs
4 Leeds United 46 26 6 14 77 49 +28 84
5 Millwall 46 25 7 14 63 53 +10 82
6 Scunthorpe United (P) 46 22 10 14 82 63 +19 76

Source:[citation needed]
Rules for classification: .
(C) = Champion; (R) = Relegated; (P) = Promoted; (E) = Eliminated; (O) = Play-off winner; (A) = Advances to a further round.
Only applicable when the season is not finished:
(Q) = Qualified to the phase of tournament indicated; (TQ) = Qualified to tournament, but not yet to the particular phase indicated; (RQ) = Qualified to the relegation tournament indicated; (DQ) = Disqualified from tournament.

References[edit]