2011–12 Dartmouth Big Green women's ice hockey season

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
2011–12 Dartmouth Big Green women's ice hockey season
Conference ECAC
Home ice Thompson Arena
Record
Coaches and Captains
Head Coach Mark Hudak

Offseason[edit]

News and notes[edit]

  • May 25, 2011: Dartmouth goaltender Lindsay Holdcroft competed at the Warren Strelow National Team Goaltending Camp in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Holdcroft was one of six ECAC goaltenders to compete in the camp.[1]
  • June 9, 2011: Holly Tyng has been promoted to associate head coach.[2]
  • June 20, 2011: Former Dartmouth player Correne Bredin was named as a mentor and ambassador to help promote women's hockey as part of the IIHF Ambassador and Mentor Program (AMP).[3]
  • August 19: Dartmouth head coach Mark Hudak was named an assistant coach for Team USA in the 2011 IIHF 12 Nations Tournament Series, Aug. 24-31, in Vierumäki, Finland.[4]

Recruiting[edit]

Player Nationality Position Notes
Morgan Illikainen  United States Defense Competed for the Grand Rapids Greenway Lightning and the Minnesota Junior Whitecaps
Sam Zeiss  United States Forward Participated at Choate Rosemary Hall, and also played for the Connecticut Polar Bears U-19 team
Abbie Lund  United States Forward In 2010, she earned all-conference and all-state honors in Minnesota
Karlee Odland  Canada Forward Played for the Medicine Hat Hounds of the Alberta Major Midget Female Hockey League
Katie Milligan  Canada Forward She played with the Ottawa Lady Senators of the PWHL

Regular season[edit]

  • January 10: The Dartmouth Big Green and Providence Friars played each other in an outdoor game at Fenway Park in Boston. Providence skater Brooke Simpson scored her first career NCAA goal.[5] With 1:14 remaining in regulation, Big Green forward Camille Dumais scored the game-winning goal on Providence netminder Genevieve Lacasse as the Big Green prevailed by a 3-2 mark.[6]

Standings[edit]

Conference Overall
GP W L T PTS GF GA GP W L T GF GA
#3Cornell 16 14 2 0 28 75 23 22 19 3 0 107 39
#8Harvard 16 11 4 1 23 51 24 22 14 7 1 75 42
#10Dartmouth 16 10 4 2 22 39 26 22 14 6 2 66 47
Clarkson 16 10 4 2 22 51 23 28 16 7 5 82 51
Quinnipiac 16 10 4 2 22 42 30 27 15 10 2 65 59
St. Lawrence 16 9 5 2 20 47 35 27 15 8 4 85 63
Princeton 16 7 7 2 16 35 28 23 9 10 4 49 48
Brown 16 4 8 4 12 22 42 23 7 9 7 50 51
Rensselaer 16 5 9 2 12 34 44 28 8 16 4 63 83
Colgate 16 3 12 1 7 26 56 27 8 18 1 57 81
Union 16 2 12 2 6 20 47 28 4 20 4 48 89
Yale 16 1 15 0 2 14 78 23 1 22 0 22 118
Championship: To be determined
indicates conference regular season champion
* indicates conference tournament champion
National rankings:[1] Conference rankings:[2]
Updated February 1st, 2012

Schedule[edit]

Date Opponent Location Time Score Record Big Green scorers
Fri, Oct 21 McGill (Exh.) Hanover, N.H. 5:00 pm
Sun, Oct 23 Boston College at Chestnut Hill, Mass. 2:00 pm
Fri, Oct 28 Clarkson * at Potsdam, N.Y. 7:00 pm
Sat, Oct 29 St. Lawrence * at Canton, N.Y. 4:00 pm
Sun, Nov 06 NEW HAMPSHIRE Hanover, N.H. 2:00 pm
Fri, Nov 11 Cornell * at Ithaca, N.Y. 7:00 pm
Sat, Nov 12 Colgate * at Hamilton, N.Y. 4:00 pm
Fri, Nov 18 ST. LAWRENCE * Hanover, N.H. 7:00 pm
Sat, Nov 19 CLARKSON * Hanover, N.H. 4:00 pm
Wed, Nov 23 Harvard * at Cambridge, Mass. 7:00 pm
Sat, Nov 26 NORTHEASTERN Hanover, N.H. 7:00 pm
Wed, Nov 30 HARVARD * Hanover, N.H. 7:00 pm
Sun, Dec 11 New Hampshire at Durham, N.H. 2:00 pm
Sat, Dec 31 Providence at Providence, R.I. 2:00 pm
Tue, Jan 03 VERMONT Hanover, N.H. 7:00 pm
Fri, Jan 06 Quinnipiac * at Hamden, Conn. 7:00 pm
Sat, Jan 07 Princeton * at Princeton, N.J. 4:00 pm
Fri, Jan 13 RENSSELAER * Hanover, N.H. 7:00 pm
Sat, Jan 14 UNION * Hanover, N.H. 4:00 pm
Fri, Jan 20 COLGATE * Hanover, N.H. 7:00 pm
Sat, Jan 21 CORNELL * Hanover, N.H. 4:00 pm
Fri, Jan 27 Brown * at Providence, R.I. 7:00 pm
Sat, Jan 28 Yale * at New Haven, Conn. 4:00 pm
Fri, Feb 03 PRINCETON * Hanover, N.H. 7:00 pm
Sat, Feb 04 QUINNIPIAC * Hanover, N.H. 4:00 pm
Fri, Feb 10 at Union * at Schenectady, N.Y. 7:00 pm
Sat, Feb 11 Rensselaer * at Troy, N.Y. 4:00 pm
Fri, Feb 17 YALE * Hanover, N.H. 7:00 pm
Sat, Feb 18 BROWN * Hanover, N.H. 4:00 pm

Conference record[edit]

CHA school Record
Brown
Clarkson
Cornell
Colgate
Harvard
Quinnipiac
Princeton
RPI
St. Lawrence
Union
Yale

Player stats[edit]

Awards and honors[edit]

  • Camille Dumais, ECAC Player of the Week (Week of January 17, 2012)[7]
  • Kelly Foley, ECAC Player of the Week (Week of October 24, 2011)[8]
  • Lindsay Holdcroft, ECAC Player of the Week (Week of October 31, 2011)[9]
  • Sally Komarek, ECAC Player of the Week (Week of November 28, 2011)[10]
  • Ali Winkel, ECAC Player of the Week (Week of November 14, 2011)[11]

References[edit]