Acephala group

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
  (Redirected from Acephala Group)
Jump to: navigation, search

Groups of cultivars of Brassica oleracea

Mabberley (q.v.) has these groups: Napobrassica Group / Pabularia Group / Acephala Group / Alboglabra Group / Botrytis Group / Capitata Group / Gemmifera Group / Gongylodes Group / Italica Group / Tronchuda Group / Chinensis Group / Japonica Group / Pekinensis Group / Perviridis Group / Rapifera Group

Royal Botanic Gardens Kew[1] has eight groups: Acephala Group (kale, borecole, collards) / Alboglabra Group (Chinese kale, Chinese broccoli, gai laan, kai lan) / Botrytis Group (broccoli, cauliflower, broccoflower, calabrese) / Capitata Group (cabbage, savoy cabbage, red cabbage) / Gemmifera Group (sprouts, Brussels sprouts) / Gongylodes Group (kohlrabi, knol-kohl) / Italica Group (purple sprouting, sprouting broccoli) / Tronchuda Group (Portuguese cabbage, seakale cabbage)

The Acephala group of cultivars or variety for the species Brassica oleracea includes:[2]

The Acephala means "no head"[20] as the plants have leaves with no central head; the opposite arrangement of white cabbage, or Savoy cabbage.

Each cultivar has a different genome owing to mutation,[21] evolution, the ecological niche,[22] and intentional plant-breeding by man.

Mabberley (1997, p.120) has the Acephala group in three sub-groups: kale, borecole, and collards.[23]

References[edit]

  1. ^ RBG Kew web site > Science & Conservation > Plants and fungi. http://www.kew.org/science-conservation/plants-fungi/brassica-oleracea-wild-cabbage
  2. ^ RHS Plant Finder. Web. https://www.rhs.org.uk Accessed: 2014-11-25.
  3. ^ (Quote.) "Originally, a general name for any plant of the cabbage kind, genus Brassica (of which the varieties were formerly less distinct than now)." ("colewort, n." OED Online. Oxford University Press, September 2014. Web. 26 November 2014.)
  4. ^ Henry Homeyer: the Gardening Guy http://www.gardening-guy.com/tag/decorative-kale/
  5. ^ Walter Reeves,com The Georgia Gardener http://www.walterreeves.com/landscaping/ornamental-kaleornamental-cabbage/
  6. ^ Better Homes & Gardens http://www.bhg.com/gardening/plant-dictionary/annual/flowering-kale/
  7. ^ Garden Guides.com http://www.gardenguides.com/70082-flowering-cabbage-plants.html
  8. ^ Gardeners' World.com http://www.gardenersworld.com/blogs/plants/the-ornamental-cabbage/2897.html
  9. ^ BBC History Domesday http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/domesday/dblock/CI-554000-5452000/page/7 This page misspells "oleracea".
  10. ^ BBC History Domesday http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/domesday/dblock/CI-554000-5452000/page/7 This page misspells "oleracea".
  11. ^ Thompson & Morgan http://www.thompson-morgan.com/vegetables/vegetable-seeds/brassica-and-leafy-green-seeds/kale-walking-stick/779TM
  12. ^ Jersey Evening Post. (2004) "Giant cabbage" http://jerseyeveningpost.com/island-life/history-heritage/giant-cabbage/. Online.
  13. ^ Andrew, A.J. (2014) SFPages : Home Guide : How to grow giant walking stick cabbages. http://homeguides.sfgate.com/grow-giant-walking-stick-cabbage-76144.html. Online. Accessed: 2014-11-26 For spelling of "chour", and "vaque" cf. Dictionnaithe Jerriais-Angliais: Jerriais-English dictionary. Jersey : Société Jersiaise 2005.
  14. ^ FREELANG Jérriais to English dictionary http://www.freelang.net/online/jerriais.php?lg=gb
  15. ^ The Cottage Smallholder http://www.cottagesmallholder.com/perennial-vegetables-tree-cabbage-7321/
  16. ^ Chiltern Seeds http://www.chilternseeds.co.uk/item_1360c_jersey_kale_or_walking_stick_cabbage_seeds
  17. ^ Torpey, Jodi (2014) Walking stick kale really works. In "Vegetable Gardener" http://www.vegetablegardener.com/item/12690/walking-stick-kale-really-works
  18. ^ Mabberley, D. (1997) Mabberley's plant-book : A portable dictionary of plants, their classification and uses. 3rd ed. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.
  19. ^ Oxford Dictionaries : Language matters http://www.oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/Scotch-kale
  20. ^ Merriam-Webster http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/acephala
  21. ^ https://www.bio.cmu.edu/. Courses: "Genome evolution and mutation". Web. Accessed: 2014-11-25.
  22. ^ Coupling Genetic and Ecological-Niche Models to Examine How Past Population Distributions Contribute to Divergence. Current Biology. http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0960982207012742
  23. ^ Mabberley, q.v.