Anne Chu

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

Anne Chu (born 1959, New York) is an artist based in New York.[1]

She graduated from Philadelphia College of Art in 1982 and received her MFA from Columbia University in 1985.[2]

She has shown work internationally in many exhibitions including solo museum shows at Museum Haus Lange, Krefeld, Germany,[3] Museum of Contemporary Art, North Miami,[4] Weatherspoon Art Museum,[5] Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive.[6] Other museum exhibitions include The Institute for Contemporary Art, Philadelphia [7] in 2010, The Brooklyn Museum of Art[8] in 2011 and participation in the 54th Carnegie International [9] at the Carnegie Museum of Art in Pittsburgh. Earlier venues include at White Columns [10] in New York, at the Saatchi Gallery in London,[11] and the Galerie Friedrich [12] in Basel. She has been represented by the Victoria Miro Gallery in London, 303 Gallery [13] in New York and Donald Young Gallery in Chicago.[14] and is represented by Monica de Cardenas in Milan,[15] and Zuoz. She has been the recipient of the John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship, The Penny McCall Award, Anonymous Was a Woman Foundation Award, Joan Mitchell Foundation Grant, and winner of the Louis Comfort Tiffany Biennial Competition. Anne Chu creates painted sculptures from a variety of materials.

Awards[edit]

References[edit]

  1. ^ "Carnegie Museum of Art". cmoa.org. 
  2. ^ "Marlborough Gallery — Anne Chu Graphics Artwork". marlboroughgallery.com. 
  3. ^ "Kunstmuseen Krefeld". kunstmuseenkrefeld.de. 
  4. ^ http://mocanomi.org/product/anne-chu/
  5. ^ "Anne Chu: Falk Visiting Artist". uncg.edu. 
  6. ^ "BAM/PFA - Art Exhibitions - Anne Chu / MATRIX 184". berkeley.edu. 
  7. ^ "ICA". icaphila.org. 
  8. ^ "Brooklyn Museum: Playing House". brooklynmuseum.org. 
  9. ^ "Carnegie Museum of Art". cmoa.org. 
  10. ^ "White Columns - Exhibitions". whitecolumns.org. 
  11. ^ Saatchi Gallery. "Anne Chu". saatchi-gallery.co.uk. 
  12. ^ "Galerie Friedrich / Ausstellungshinweise". galeriefriedrich.ch. 
  13. ^ "303 Gallery - Nick Mauss". 303gallery.com. 
  14. ^ http://www.donaldyoung.com/chu/chu_1.html
  15. ^ "Galleria Monica De Cardenas". monicadecardenas.com. 
  16. ^ Joan Mitchell Foundation. "Joan Mitchell Foundation". joanmitchellfoundation.org. 

External links[edit]