August 2007 in sports

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  

Deaths in August[edit]

Main article: Deaths in August 2007

Sporting seasons[edit]

Upcoming events[edit]

31 August 2007 (Friday)[edit]

30 August 2007 (Thursday)[edit]

29 August 2007 (Wednesday)[edit]

28 August 2007 (Tuesday)[edit]

27 August 2007 (Monday)[edit]

26 August 2007 (Sunday)[edit]

25 August 2007 (Saturday)[edit]

24 August 2007 (Friday)[edit]

23 August 2007 (Thursday)[edit]

22 August 2007 (Wednesday)[edit]

  • Major League Baseball:
    • In the first game of a doubleheader, the Texas Rangers set a modern-era (post-1900) MLB single-game record by scoring 30 runs in a 30–3 rout of the Baltimore Orioles at Oriole Park at Camden Yards. With a 9–7 victory in the second game, the Rangers also set the record for runs by a single team in a doubleheader, with 39. It is the first time a team has scored at least 30 runs since 1897.

21 August 2007 (Tuesday)[edit]

Kurt Busch wins in a green-white-checker finish after Greg Biffle spun out with two laps remaining. Jeff Gordon and Denny Hamlin became the first to clinch spots in the Chase for the NEXTEL Cup.

20 August 2007 (Monday)[edit]

19 August 2007 (Sunday)[edit]

18 August 2007 (Saturday)[edit]

17 August 2007 (Friday)[edit]

16 August 2007 (Thursday)[edit]

15 August 2007 (Wednesday)[edit]

14 August 2007 (Tuesday)[edit]

13 August 2007 (Monday)[edit]

12 August 2007 (Sunday)[edit]

Stewart takes advantage of a spinout by leader Jeff Gordon with two laps remaining to win.

11 August 2007 (Saturday)[edit]

10 August 2007 (Friday)[edit]

9 August 2007 (Thursday)[edit]

8 August 2007 (Wednesday)[edit]

7 August 2007 (Tuesday)[edit]

  • Baseball:
    • Barry Bonds home run chase
      • Bonds hits his 756th career home run in the fifth inning of the San Francisco Giants' game against the Washington Nationals at AT&T Park. Bonds hits the 435-foot shot to right-center field against pitcher Mike Bacsik in the bottom of the fifth inning with one out at 8:51 PM PDT to pass Hank Aaron. Bonds was greeted at home plate by his family, his teammates, and his godfather, Willie Mays. The AT&T Park video board then displayed a videotaped message of congratulations from Aaron, who had earlier expressed disinterest in Bonds' chase. The Nationals, though, came back and won the game by a score of 8–6.
      • The man who caught the historic ball was identified as Matt Murphy, a 22-year-old from Queens, New York who is a fan of the New York Mets and was on a stopover en route to Australia. Murphy caught the ball, survived a near-riot and was given a police escort. (Newsday.com)

6 August 2007 (Monday)[edit]

5 August 2007 (Sunday)[edit]

4 August 2007 (Saturday)[edit]

3 August 2007 (Friday)[edit]

2 August 2007 (Thursday)[edit]

  • Basketball:
    • FIBA Asia Championship quarterfinals at Tokushima, Japan:
      • Group E:  Qatar 87–74 Chinese Taipei 
      • Group E:  Lebanon 82–60 Iran 
        • Lebanon wins group E; both teams advance to the semifinals.
      • Group F:  Kazakhstan 75–73 South Korea  – Clutch free-throws by Anton Ponomarev kept the Kazakhs in contention.
        • With Japan's defeat of Jordan, both Kazakhstan and Korea advance to the semifinals.
      • Group F:  Japan 71–68 Jordan  – Jordan's Rashiem Wright missed a three-pointer that could've put the game into overtime.
        • Jordan is eliminated from championship contention.

1 August 2007 (Wednesday)[edit]