Bane (band)

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Bane
W0805-Hellfest2013 Bane AaronDalbec AaronBedard 66852.JPG
Background information
Also known as Gateway
Origin Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Genres Hardcore punk, melodic hardcore
Years active 1995 (1995)–present
Labels Equal Vision
Associated acts Backbone, Converge, Only Crime
Members Aaron Bedard
Aaron Dalbec
Zach Jordan
Brendan Maguire
Bob Mahoney

Bane is a hardcore punk band that began as a side project between Aaron Dalbec (then of Converge) and Damon Bellardo. Dalbec approached Matt Firestone to sing and they played under the moniker of Gateway for a few shows, before Firestone parted ways to focus on other projects. Dalbec then approached Aaron Bedard (who had previously sung for the Worcester, Massachusetts hardcore band Backbone) about singing for Bane. They went into the studio in December 1995 with a few friends and released a five-song demo. The next year saw the release of their first EP, and many shows throughout central Massachusetts. In early 1997, Bane released Free to Think, Free to Be EP, and in 1998 the band released the Holding This Moment 7" and CD collection, and embarked upon their first US tour. Like many other hardcore bands, Bane are known for their promotion of tolerance and unity within the scene.

In 2014, Bane released their final album, Don't Wait Up, though the band has said they still plan to tour.[1]

Straight edge[edit]

In an early album Bane claimed straight edge, however it was never their main lyrical focus. The current original members are straight edge; Bob Mahoney and Stu are not. They still perform early songs with straight edge references, such as "Count Me Out" which includes the lyric "Just like this X on the back of my hand, I'm not going nowhere". However the lyrics to the song "Wasted On The Young", on Bane's album The Note can be interpreted as criticism of people who ignorantly claim straight edge too early in their life.

Members[edit]

Current members[edit]

  • Aaron Bedard – vocals
  • Aaron Dalbec – guitar
  • Zach Jordan – guitar
  • James Siboni – bass
  • Bob Mahoney – drums

Former members[edit]

  • Brendan "Stu" Maguire – bass (From when Pete left the band, til 2012. Also played in Reach The Sky.)
  • Pete Chilton – bass (First EP to The Note)
  • Nick Branigan – drums (It All Comes Down To This LP, Bane/Adamantium Split 7", Give Blood LP)
  • Ben Chused – drums (Holding This Moment 7")
  • Damon Bellardo – drums (Demo, XXX 7", Free To Think 7")
  • Kurt Ballou – guitar (first few shows, Converge)
  • Matthew Firestone – vocals (Gateway)
  • Christopher Cardone – bass (Gateway)
  • Joe "Lumpy" Lawrence – vocals (Gateway)
  • Tim Cabana – bass (Gateway)
  • Brian Hull – drums (Gateway)
  • Chris Linkovich – bass

Discography[edit]

Studio albums[edit]

Compilation albums[edit]

Extended plays[edit]

Compilation contributions[edit]

  • They Came From Massachusetts (1996, Big Wheel Recreation) - Both Guns Blazing
  • All Systems Go! (2000, Opened Handed Records/UnderEstimated Records) - Just How Much (Chain of Strength cover)
  • Atticus: Dragging the Lake II (2003) - Some Came Running
  • Our Impact Will Be Felt: A Tribute To Sick of It All (2007, Abacus Recordings) - We Stand Alone
  • At Both Ends (2009, At Both Ends Hardcore Magazine)[3] - 1. Non-Negotiated 2. Struck Down By Me (re-recording)
  • America's Hardcore Volume 2 (2013, Triple-B Records) - Satan's Son

Footnotes[edit]

  1. ^ Tokyo 7:58am was also released as Perth 7:58am and Curitiba 7:58pm, and compiles the tracks found on Boston 6:58pm and Los Angeles 3:58pm.
  2. ^ Boston 6:58pm was released internationally as Dublin 11:58pm.
  3. ^ Los Angeles 3:58pm was released internationally as Rome 12:58am.

References[edit]

  1. ^ Whitt, Cassie (8 May 2014). "Bane - ‘Don’t Wait Up’ album premiere". Alternative Press. Retrieved 12 August 2014. 
  2. ^ Crane, Matt (December 21, 2013). "Bane begin recording final album". Alternative Press. Retrieved December 21, 2013. 
  3. ^ At Both Ends Hardcore Magazine official website

External links[edit]