Gareth Gates discography

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Gareth Gates discography
Releases
Studio albums 4
Singles 9
Music videos 9

The discography of English singer-songwriter Gareth Gates consists of three studio albums, nine singles, nine music videos and one live DVD. Gates rose to fame after appearing as a contestant on the first series of British television talent contest Pop Idol in 2002. After finishing as runner-up behind Will Young, Gates was given a recording contract with BMG and released his first single, a cover of "Unchained Melody", which was a #1 hit in the UK in March 2002. He went on to have three further number one singles in the UK Singles Chart (one of which was a duet with Young) and three albums that reached the top 30, including his debut album which reached number two in the UK Albums Chart.

Studio albums[edit]

Year Album details Peak chart positions Certifications
(sales thresholds)
UK
[1]
AUT
[2]
IRE
[3]
NL
[4]
NOR
[5]
SWE
[6]
SWI
[7]
2002 What My Heart Wants to Say 2 52 19 11 8 52 84
2003 Go Your Own Way
  • Released: 4 October 2003
  • Label: SonyBMG
  • Formats: CD, digital download
11 59 40 34 40
2007 Pictures of the Other Side 23 47 99
2014 Very Best Of

Singles[edit]

Year Single Peak chart positions Certifications Album
UK
[1]
AUT
[2]
BEL FRA
GER
IRE
[3]
NL
[4]
NOR
[5]
SWE
[6]
SWI
[7]
2002 "Unchained Melody" 1 6 4 17 1 12 18
  • UK: 2× Platinum[8]
What My Heart Wants to Say
"Anyone of Us (Stupid Mistake)" 1 6 3 3 2 1 1 1 24
"The Long and Winding Road" (with Will Young) / "Suspicious Minds" 1[9] 4
"What My Heart Wants to Say" 5 20 16 52
2003 "Spirit in the Sky" (featuring The Kumars) 1[10] 10 13 2 11 30
  • UK: Platinum[8]
Go Your Own Way
"Sunshine" 3 71 20 77
"Say It Isn't So" 4 46 26 27 74
2007 "Changes" 14 Pictures of the Other Side
"Angel on My Shoulder" 22

Music videos[edit]

Year Song Director(s)
2002 "Unchained Melody"
"Anyone of Us (Stupid Mistake)"
"The Long and Winding Road"
"Suspicious Minds"
"What My Heart Wants To Say"
2003 "Spirit in the Sky"
"Sunshine"
"Say It Isn't So"
2007 "Changes"
"Angel on My Shoulder"

References[edit]

  1. ^ a b "Chart Stats > Gareth Gates". chartstats.com. Retrieved 2009-10-26. 
  2. ^ a b "Australian Charts > Gareth Gates". austriancharts.at Hung Medien. Retrieved 2009-10-26. 
  3. ^ a b "Irish Charts > Gareth Gates". irish-charts.com Hung Medien. Retrieved 2009-10-26. 
  4. ^ a b "Dutch Charts > Gareth Gates" (in Dutch). dutchcharts.nl Hung Medien. Retrieved 2009-10-26. 
  5. ^ a b "Norwegian Charts > Gareth Gates". norwegiancharts.com Hung Medien. Retrieved 2009-10-26. 
  6. ^ a b "Swedish Charts > Gareth Gates". swedishcharts.com Hung Medien. Retrieved 2009-10-26. 
  7. ^ a b "Swiss Charts > Gareth Gates". swisscharts.com Hung Medien. Retrieved 2009-10-26. 
  8. ^ a b c d e f "BPI - Certified Awards Search". British Phonographic Industry. Retrieved 2009-10-26. 
  9. ^ "Chart Stats > Will Young and Gareth Gates". chartstats.com. Retrieved 2009-10-26. 
  10. ^ "Chart Stats > Gareth Gates and The Kumars". chartstats.com. Retrieved 2009-10-26. 

External links[edit]