Google Cultural Institute

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Google Cultural Institute
Developer(s) Google Inc.
Development status Active
Website www.google.com/culturalinstitute

Google Cultural Institute is an initiative unveiled by Google following the 2011 launch of the Google Art Project. The Cultural Institute was launched in 2011, and put 42 new exhibits online on October 10, 2012.[1][2][3][4] It is "an effort to make important cultural material available and accessible to everyone and to digitally preserve it to educate and inspire future generations."[5] As of June 2013, the Cultural Institute included over 6 million items - photos, videos, and documents.[6] The Cultural Institute has partnered with a number of institutions to make exhibition and archival content available online, including the British Museum,[7][8][9] Yad Vashem,[10][11] the Museo Galileo in Florence,[12] the Museum of Auschwitz-Birkenau,[13] and the Museum of Polish History in Warsaw.[14][15]

The Cultural Institute includes the Google Art Project, which features high-resolution images of art works from museums in over 40 countries; the World Wonders Project, which presents three-dimensional recreations of world heritage sites; and archival exhibitions, many in partnership with museums around the world.[16]

References[edit]

  1. ^ Pfanner, Eric. "Quietly, Google Puts History Online." The New York Times, November 21, 2011. http://www.nytimes.com/2011/11/21/technology/quietly-google-puts-history-online.html?pagewanted=all
  2. ^ Newton, Casey. "Google Cultural Institute brings dozens of new exhibits online." CNET, October 10, 2012. http://news.cnet.com/8301-1023_3-57529821-93/google-cultural-institute-brings-dozens-of-new-exhibits-online/
  3. ^ Stephens, Simon. "Google Unveils Museum Exhibitions Project." Museums Journal, 10 October 2012. http://www.museumsassociation.org/museums-journal/news/10102012-google-unveils-museum-exhibitions-project
  4. ^ "Google Brings History to Life with Online Exhibitions." Mashable.com, October 10, 2012. http://mashable.com/2012/10/10/google-brings-history-to-life-with-online-exhibitions/
  5. ^ Google Cultural Institute. "Frequently Asked Questions." http://www.google.com/culturalinstitute/about/
  6. ^ "From Sutton Hoo to the soccer pitch: culture with a click." Google Official Blog. http://googleblog.blogspot.com/2013/06/from-sutton-hoo-to-soccer-pitch-culture.html
  7. ^ "British Museum."http://www.google.com/culturalinstitute/collection/the-british-museum
  8. ^ "British Museum." http://culturalinstitute.britishmuseum.org/home
  9. ^ "The Sutton Hoo Ship Burial." http://www.britishmuseum.org/explore/highlights/articles/k/the_sutton_hoo_ship-burial.aspx
  10. ^ "Helping Google Bring History to Life." Achievements and Challenges: Annual Report 2012. p. 30. http://www.yadvashem.org/yv/en/pressroom/annual_reports/2012/pdf/annual_report.pdf
  11. ^ "Yad Vashem: Remembering the Holocaust." http://www.google.com/culturalinstitute/about/yadvashem/
  12. ^ "The Museo Galileo on the Google Cultural Institute." http://www.museogalileo.it/en/pressroom/enews/emuseogalileogoogleculturalinstitute.html
  13. ^ "Poland Joins Google Cultural Institute." Culture.pl, October 11, 2012. http://www.culture.pl/web/english/resources-visual-arts-full-page/-/eo_event_asset_publisher/eAN5/content/poland-joins-google-cultural-institute
  14. ^ "Wystawa Muzeum Historii Polski w Google Cultural Institute." (in Polish) http://www.muzhp.pl/aktualnosci/917/wystawa-muzeum-historii-polski-w-google-cultural-institute
  15. ^ "Polska historia w Google Cultural Institute." Polskie Radio, October 10, 2012 (in Polish). http://external.polskieradio.pl/8/83/Artykul/115152,Polska-historia-w-Google-Cultural-Institute
  16. ^ Google Cultural Institute. "Our Projects." http://www.google.com/culturalinstitute/about/.