Hawaii Prepaid Health Care Act
|This article needs additional citations for verification. (February 2011)|
Hawaii Prepaid Health Care (PHC) Act (PHCA) is a state law (Hawaii Revised Statutes Chapter 393) enacted June 12, 1974 in the State of Hawaii to improve health care coverage by employer mandate. Under the law, businesses are required to offer health insurance to employees who work more than 20 hours per week for four or more consecutive weeks in the State of Hawaii. Before the law Hawaii had an insured rate of 70%. The highest insured rate after the law was enacted was 98%; by 2009 Hawaii's insured rate dropped to 92%, due largely to the 2009 recession.
Among other things, Hawaii's law requires employers to offer coverage to employees working at least 20 hours per week. In contrast, the federal law requires employers to offer coverage to employees working at least 30 hours per week effective Jan. 1, 2014. The two laws also set different penalties on employers that do not offer coverage.
At 8.2%, Hawaii had the nation's second-lowest uninsured rate, trailing only Massachusetts, where 4.4% of the population lacked health care coverage in 2009, according to the U.S. Census Bureau.
- Hawaii State Legislature. "Chapter 393: Prepaid Health Care Act". 2010 Hawaii Revised Statutes. Retrieved 2011-02-17.
- Hawaii (1974). "Act 210 S.B. 14 Prepaid health care". Session laws of Hawaii passed by the State Legislature; Regular Session 1974, Special Session 1974. Honolulu: The State of Hawaii. pp. xii, 459–469. OCLC 7102901.
|This Hawaiʻi-related article is a stub. You can help Wikipedia by expanding it.|