Hipódromo Chile

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Horse Race Track
Hipódromo Chile
Hipodromo Chile logo.jpg
Location Independencia, Chile
Year opened 1904
Race type Thoroughbred
Website www.hipodromo.cl
Principal Races
Chilean St. Leger (Chi-G1)
Gran Premio Hipodromo Chile (Chi-G1)
Chilean Guineas (Chi-G1)
Gran Criterium (Chi-G1)

Hipódromo Chile is a thoroughbred horse race track in the municipality of Independencia, in the Santiago Metropolitan Region of Chile. It is one of two race tracks in Greater Santiago.

History[edit]

The track was founded in 1904 by a group of 19 owners, breeders and supporters. It is one of Chile's three main tracks, the others being Club Hipico de Santiago and Valparaiso Sporting Club.

Physical Attributes[edit]

Racetrack.

Hipodromo Chile features a roughly triangular left-handed dirt track of slightly more than 1 mile (exactly 1.645m). Of the three main race tracks in Chile, it is the only one with a dirt track.

Racing[edit]

Live racing is conducted every Saturday and most Thursdays. As usual for Chile's major tracks, 18 to 20 races on a single raceday are common.

2007 Major Stakes Schedule[edit]

Date Race (Clasico) Distance Age/Sex Grade
Sat May 5 Gran Premio Hipodromo Chile 2200m 3+ G1
Sat Jun 16 Gran Premio de Honor 2400m 3+ G2
Sat Jun 23 Tanteo de Potrancas 1500m 2F G1
Sat Jun 30 Tanteo de Potrillos 1500m 2M G1
Sat July 14 Pedro del Rio Talavera 2200m 3+ G2
Sat July 28 Fernando Moller Bordeu 1600m 3+ G2
Sat Aug 4 Gran Premio Criadores 1600m 3M G2
Sat Aug 4 GP Criadores Salvador Hess 1500m 3F G2
Sat Aug 18 Domingo Segundo Herrera 1500m 3M G2
Sat Sep 1 Mil Guineas 1600m 3F G1
Sat Sep 8 Dos Mil Guineas 1600m 3M G1
Sat Oct 6 Gran Criterium Mauricio Serrano 1900m 3yo G1
Sat Oct 20 Independencia 1800m 3F G2
Sat Nov 10 Alberto Solari Magnasco 2000m 3F G1
Sat Dec 1 Haras de Chile 2000m 3+ F&M G2
Sat Dec 15 St. Leger 2200m 3yo G1
Sat Dec 15 Seleccion de Velocistas 1000m 3+ G2

External links[edit]

Coordinates: 33°24′17″S 70°39′54″W / 33.404666°S 70.665062°W / -33.404666; -70.665062