J. S. Lewis

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
For other uses, see J. S. Lewis (disambiguation).
J. S. Lewis
Born Jon Samuel Lewis
(1972-05-15) May 15, 1972 (age 42)
Occupation Writer
Nationality American
Genre Science fiction, action, adventure fiction

Jon Samuel Lewis is an American fiction writer under the pen name J. S. Lewis. He is co-author of the popular Grey Griffins series, originally published by Scholastic, Inc. The next three books in the Grey Griffins series will be published as the Grey Griffins Clockwork Chronicles by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. The original trilogy has sold over 850,000 copies to date.[1]

Background[edit]

Lewis grew up in the Midwestern United States, spending most of his time in Minnesota and Iowa[2] before moving to Arizona where he would attend Arizona State University, earning a degree in Broadcast Journalism.[3]

At an early age, Lewis set out to become a comic book illustrator, but he discovered a love for writing when he first began crafting the background stories for the comic book characters he had drawn.[4]

Lewis began his first novel at the age of fourteen with writing partner Derek Benz. Intended to be an epic fantasy in the tradition of Tolkien, Lewis and Benz never finished the manuscript.[5]

The authors reunited in Arizona in 2000, however, where they began writing their Grey Griffins series.[5]

Published books[edit]

  1. The Revenge of the Shadow King (Orchard Books, March 2006)
  2. The Rise of the Black Wolf (January 2007)
  3. The Fall of the Templar (January 2008)
  4. Clockwork Chronicles: The Brimstone Key (Little, Brown, June 2010)
  5. Clockwork Chronicles: The Relic Hunters (May 2011)
  6. Clockwork Chronicles: The Paragon Prison (May 2012)
  • C.H.A.O.S.
  1. Invasion (Thomas Nelson, January 2011)
  2. Alienation (January 2012)
  3. Domination (April 2013)

References[edit]

  1. ^ "Thomas Nelson signs best-selling author J. S. Lewis for new Young Adult series". Nelson Newsroom. September 14, 2009. Thomas Nelson Fiction (thomasnelson.com). Archived 2012-03-06. Retrieved 2015-03-10. Quote: "the leading publisher of Young Adult Christian Fiction".
  2. ^ St. Paul Pioneer Press, May 11, 2006.
  3. ^ "J.S. Lewis". The Grey Griffins Headquarters (greygriffins.com). Retrieved 2015-03-07.
  4. ^ Phoenix New Times, March 30, 2006.
  5. ^ a b East Valley Tribune, January 12, 2007.

External links[edit]