J. S. Lewis

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
J. S. Lewis
Born (1972-05-15) May 15, 1972 (age 42)
Occupation Writer
Nationality USA
Genres Science Fiction, Action, Adventure novel

Jon Samuel Lewis is a fiction writer who writes under the pen name J. S. Lewis. Lewis is co-author of the popular Grey Griffins series, originally published by Scholastic, Inc. The next three books in the Grey Griffins series will be published as the Grey Griffins Clockwork Chronicles by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. The original trilogy has sold over 850,000 copies to date.[1]

Background[edit]

Lewis grew up in the Midwestern United States, spending most of his time in Minnesota and Iowa[2] before moving to Arizona where he would attend Arizona State University, earning a degree in Broadcast Journalism.[3]

At an early age, Lewis set out to become a comic book illustrator, but he discovered a love for writing when he first began crafting the background stories for the comic book characters he had drawn.[4]

Lewis began his first novel at the age of fourteen with writing partner Derek Benz. Intended to be an epic fantasy in the tradition of Tolkien, Lewis and Benz never finished the manuscript.[5]

The authors reunited in Arizona in 2000, however, where they began writing their Grey Griffins series.[6]

Bibliography[edit]

References[edit]

  1. ^ Press release from Thomas Nelson publishers.[dead link]
  2. ^ St. Paul Pioneer Press, May 11, 2006
  3. ^ Official Grey Griffins Website[dead link]
  4. ^ Phoenix New Times, March 30, 2006
  5. ^ East Valley Tribune, Jan 12, 2007
  6. ^ East Valley Tribune, Jan 12, 2007

External links[edit]