January 2007 in sports

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31  

Deaths in January[edit]

Sporting seasons[edit]


31 January 2007 (Wednesday)[edit]

30 January 2007 (Tuesday)[edit]

29 January 2007 (Monday)[edit]

28 January 2007 (Sunday)[edit]

27 January 2007 (Saturday)[edit]

26 January 2007 (Friday)[edit]

25 January 2007 (Thursday)[edit]

24 January 2007 (Wednesday)[edit]

23 January 2007 (Tuesday)[edit]

22 January 2007 (Monday)[edit]

21 January 2007 (Sunday)[edit]

  • American football:
    • NFL Conference championships:
      • NFC: Chicago Bears 39, New Orleans Saints 14. The Bears take advantage of early Saints fumbles and powerful running from Thomas Jones to take a 16–0 lead in the second quarter. New Orleans pulls within two points in the third when Reggie Bush turns a short slant pattern into an 88-yard score. But Bernard Berrian makes a teriffic catch for a touchdown to make the score 25–14, then the Bears take advantage of two more Saints turnovers to pull away in the final period. Chicago advances to its first Super Bowl in 21 years. Also notable is that Bears head coach Lovie Smith becomes the first African American head coach to take his team to the Super Bowl.
      • AFC: Indianapolis Colts 38, New England Patriots 34. After years of playoff disappointments, Peyton Manning throws for 349 yards to lead the Colts to their first Super Bowl appearance since moving to Indianapolis in 1984. The Patriots pull out to a 21–3 lead in the second quarter when Asante Samuel returns a Manning interception for a touchdown. But Manning scores on a 1-yard run, then throws a 1-yard pass to Dan Klecko and hits a two-point conversion to tie the game. The teams exchange another touchdown and field goal before Joseph Addai runs in from 3 yards out to put on the Colts on top for the first time. Marlin Jackson picks off a Tom Brady pass to seal the victory. Colts head coach Tony Dungy joins Smith as the first pair of African American head coaches in Super Bowl history.
    • In off-the-field news, the Pittsburgh Steelers named former Minnesota Vikings defensive coordinator Mike Tomlin as their new head coach.

20 January 2007 (Saturday)[edit]

19 January 2007 (Friday)[edit]

18 January 2007 (Thursday)[edit]

17 January 2007 (Wednesday)[edit]

16 January 2007 (Tuesday)[edit]

15 January 2007 (Monday)[edit]

14 January 2007 (Sunday)[edit]

13 January 2007 (Saturday)[edit]

12 January 2007 (Friday)[edit]

11 January 2007 (Thursday)[edit]

10 January 2007 (Wednesday)[edit]

9 January 2007 (Tuesday)[edit]

  • Cricket:
    •  England in  Australia, Twenty20 International in Sydney:
      Australia 221 for 5 (Gilchrist 48, Ponting 47, White 40*) beat England 144 for 9 (Dalrymple 32) by 77 runs. Australia crushes England after piling up the largest total at international level.
    • Rain ruins the deciding ODI between  New Zealand and  Sri Lanka as the match is abandoned without a ball being bowled. The two sides were tied 2–2 after the first four games of the five match series.

8 January 2007 (Monday)[edit]

  • American football: NCAA Bowl Championship Series
    • BCS Championship Game: (2) Florida 41, (1) Ohio State 14. The Gators shock the previously undefeated Buckeyes to win the national championship. Florida holds the Buckeyes to 82 yards of total offense; Ohio State's quarterback, Heisman Trophy winner Troy Smith, goes 4-for-14. Half of Ohio State's points come on Ted Ginn Jr.'s return of the opening kickoff for a touchdown, but Ginn injures his ankles in the celebration that follows and does not return.
    • Boise State, the only undefeated team in Division I college football in 2006–07, wins one first-place vote in the year-end Associated Press poll, robbing the Gators of unanimity, and also becoming the second team in 3 seasons that was undefeated but not champion. Ohio State finishes number two despite the championship debacle.

7 January 2007 (Sunday)[edit]

6 January 2007 (Saturday)[edit]

5 January 2007 (Friday)[edit]

4 January 2007 (Thursday)[edit]

3 January 2007 (Wednesday)[edit]

2 January 2007 (Tuesday)[edit]

1 January 2007 (Monday)[edit]

References[edit]