List of New York City Ballet 2009 repertory

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

New York City Ballet dances Winter, Spring and Fall seasons each year at the David H. Koch Theater, Lincoln Center, as well as a Summer season at Saratoga Springs and tours; from Thanksgiving to New Year's they perform George Balanchine's Nutcracker; this is the list of ballets with casts for the 2009 season, beginning with the Winter gala, Tuesday, November 25, 2008,[1] and ending with the last performance of The Nutcracker.[2]

Contents


Winter[edit]

Winter gala, Tuesday, November 25, 2008 [edit]

[Winter Playbill 1]
with the Juilliard Jazz Orchestra[4]
with the Juilliard Jazz Orchestra[4]
with the Juilliard Jazz Orchestra[4]

notes for winter gala[edit]

  1. ^ from the Incantation

Week one, January 6–11[edit]

Tuesday, January 6, All Balanchine[edit]

[Winter Repertory 1] [Winter Playbill 2]

Wednesday, January 7, XIX Century Classic[edit]

Thursday, January 8, All Balanchine[edit]

Friday, January 9, All Balanchine[edit]

Saturday, January 10, matinée, XIX Century Classic[edit]

Saturday, January 10, evening, All Balanchine[edit]

Sunday matinée, January 11, XIX Century Classic[edit]

Week two, January 13–18[edit]

Tuesday, January 13, XIX Century Classic[edit]

Wednesday, January 14, tribute to the School of American Ballet 75th anniversary[edit]

Thursday, January 15, All Robbins[edit]

Friday, January 16, XIX Century Classic[edit]

Saturday, January 17, matinée, Four Voices[edit]

Saturday, January 17, evening, XIX Century Classic[edit]

Sunday matinée, January 18, Four Voices[edit]

Week three, January 20–25[edit]

Tuesday, January 20, All Robbins[edit]

Wednesday, January 21, All Robbins[edit]

Thursday, January 22, New Combinations: A Tribute to Nureyev[edit]

pas de deux
pas de deux

Friday, January 23, Four Voices[edit]

Saturday, January 24, matinée, All Robbins[edit]

Saturday, January 24, evening, Four Voices[edit]

Sunday matinée, January 25, New Combinations: A Tribute to Nureyev[edit]

pas de deux
pas de deux

Week four, January 27 – February 1[edit]

Tuesday, January 27, Founding Choreographers I[edit]

[Winter Repertory 2] [Winter Playbill 3] [Winter Fourth Ring 1]

Wednesday, January 28, Four Voices[edit]

[Winter Repertory 2] [Winter Playbill 4]

Thursday, January 29, Founding Choreographers I[edit]

[Winter Repertory 2] [Winter Playbill 5] [Winter Studio 1]

Friday, January 30, Early Music Masters[edit]

[Winter Repertory 2] [Winter Playbill 6]

Saturday, January 31, matinée, New Combinations: A Tribute to Nureyev[edit]

Saturday, January 31, evening, Founding Choreographers I[edit]

[Winter Repertory 2] [Winter Playbill 7] [Winter Fourth Ring 2]

Sunday, February 1, Early Music Masters[edit]

[Winter Repertory 2] [Winter Playbill 8] [Winter Fourth Ring 3]

notes for week four[edit]

  1. ^ a b c d e f Rebecca Krohn and Sterling Hyltin replaced Jenifer Ringer and Megan Fairchild in Dances at a Gathering.
  2. ^ a b c d Sara Mearns and Charles Askegard replaced Abi Stafford and Andrew Veyette in Stars and Stripes.
  3. ^ a b Faye Arthurs and Rebecca Krohn replaced Jennie Somogyi and Rachel Rutherford in Chiaroscuro.
  4. ^ Erica Pereira replaced Kathryn Morgan in Dances at a Gathering.
  5. ^ a b c d Rachel Rutherford replaced Kathryn Morgan in Divertimento No. 15 and Kathryn Morgan replaced Jenifer Ringer in Stabat Mater.
  6. ^ a b Due to illness or injury, Abi Stafford and Gonzalo Garcia replaced Kathryn Morgan and Allen Peiffer in the Flower Festival in Genzano pas de deux.
  7. ^ a b Tiler Peck and Joaquín De Luz replaced Abi Stafford and Gonzalo Garcia in Theme and Variations .
  8. ^ Maria Kowroski replaced Sara Mearns in Dances at a Gathering.
  9. ^ Adam Hendrickson replaced Daniel Ulbricht in Stars and Stripes.

Week five, February 3–8[edit]

Tuesday, February 3, New Combinations: A Tribute to Nureyev[edit]

[Winter Repertory 3] [Winter Playbill 9]

Wednesday, February 4, XX Century Music Masters[edit]

[Winter Repertory 3] [Winter Playbill 10] [Winter Fourth Ring 4]

Thursday, February 5, Early Music Masters[edit]

[Winter Repertory 3] [Winter Playbill 11]

Friday, February 6, Tradition and Innovation[edit]

Saturday, February 7, matinée, XX Century Music Masters[edit]

Saturday, February 7, evening, XX Century Music Masters[edit]

Sunday matinée, February 8, Tradition and Innovation[edit]

notes for week five[edit]

  1. ^ a b Due to illness or injury, Abi Stafford and Gonzalo Garcia replaced Kathryn Morgan and Allen Peiffer in the Flower Festival in Genzano pas de deux.
  2. ^ a b Tiler Peck and Joaquín De Luz replaced Abi Stafford and Gonzalo Garcia in Theme and Variations.
  3. ^ Adam Hendrickson replaced Daniel Ulbricht in Tschaikovsky Suite No. 3.

Week six, February 10–15[edit]

Tuesday, February 10, Tradition and Innovation[edit]

Wednesday, February 11, Early Music Masters[edit]

Thursday, February 12, Short Stories[edit]

pas de deux

Friday, February 13, XX Century Music Masters[edit]

Saturday, February 14, matinée, Short Stories[edit]

pas de deux

Saturday, February 14, evening, Short Stories[edit]

pas de deux

Sunday matinée, February 15, XX Century Music Masters[edit]

Week seven, February 17–22[edit]

Tuesday, February 17, XXI Century Movement[edit]

[Winter Repertory 4] [Winter Playbill 12]

Wednesday, February 18, Founding Choreographers II[edit]

[Winter Repertory 4] [Winter Playbill 13]

Thursday, February 19, XXI Century Movement[edit]

[Winter Repertory 4] [Winter Playbill 14] [Winter Studio 2]

Friday, February 20, Founding Choreographers II[edit]

[Winter Repertory 4] [Winter Playbill 15]

Saturday, February 21, matinée, Founding Choreographers II[edit]

Saturday, February 21, evening, Tradition and Innovation[edit]

[Winter Repertory 4] [Winter Playbill 16]

Sunday matinée, February 22, Tradition and Innovation[edit]

[Winter Repertory 4] [Winter Playbill 17] [Winter Fourth Ring 5]

notes for week seven[edit]

  1. ^ a b Ask la Cour replaced Amar Ramasar in Slice To Sharp.
  2. ^ a b Due to illness or injury, Ellen Bar and Robert Fairchild replaced Sara Mearns and Ask la Cour in Tschaikovsky Suite No. 3.
  3. ^ Andrew Veyette replaced Joaquín De Luz in Tschaikovsky Suite No. 3.

Week eight, February 24 – March 1[edit]

Tuesday, February 24, Short Stories[edit]

[Winter Repertory 5] [Winter Playbill 18]

Wednesday, February 25, Short Stories[edit]

Thursday, February 26, XXI Century Movement[edit]

Friday, February 27, Short Stories[edit]

[Winter Repertory 5] [Winter Playbill 19]

Saturday, February 28, matinée, XXI Century Movement[edit]

Saturday, February 28, evening, XXI Century Movement[edit]

[Winter Repertory 5] [Winter Playbill 20]

Sunday matinée, March 1, An All American Season Finale[edit]

[Winter Repertory 5] [Winter Playbill 21] [Winter Fourth Ring 6]

notes for week eight[edit]

  1. ^ a b c Ask la Cour replaced Amar Ramasar in Slice To Sharp.

notes for Winter[edit]

Winter tour[edit]

Spring[edit]

Week one, April 28 – May 3[edit]

Tuesday, April 28[edit]

[Spring Repertory 1] [Spring Playbill 1] [Spring Fourth Ring 1]

Wednesday, April 29 Coppélia[edit]

[Spring Repertory 1] [Spring Playbill 2] [Spring Fourth Ring 2]

Thursday, April 30Coppélia[edit]

Friday, May 1[edit]

Saturday matinée, May 2[edit]

Saturday evening, May 2, Coppélia[edit]

Sunday matinée, May 3, Coppélia[edit]

notes for week one[edit]


Week two, May 5–10[edit]

Tuesday, May 5[edit]

[Spring Repertory 2] [Spring Playbill 3] [Spring Fourth Ring 3]

Wednesday, May 6[edit]

[Spring Repertory 2] [Spring Playbill 4] [Spring Fourth Ring 4]

Thursday, May 7[edit]

Friday, May 8[edit]

[Spring Repertory 2] [Spring Playbill 5]

Saturday matinée, May 9[edit]

Saturday evening, May 9[edit]

[Spring Repertory 2] [Spring Playbill 6] [Spring Fourth Ring 5]

Sunday matinée, May 10[edit]

[Spring Repertory 2] [Spring Playbill 7]

notes for week two[edit]

Week three, May 12–17[edit]

Tuesday, May 12[edit]

Wednesday, May 13, Spring gala[edit]

[Spring Repertory 3] [Spring Playbill 8][Spring 1]

Thursday, May 14[edit]

[Spring Repertory 3] [Spring Playbill 9] [Spring Fourth Ring 6]

Friday, May 15[edit]

Saturday matinée, May 16[edit]

[Spring Repertory 3] [Spring Playbill 10] [Spring Fourth Ring 7]

Saturday evening, May 16[edit]

Sunday matinée, May 17[edit]

notes for week three[edit]

  1. ^ a b c d e f g h i j k l m n first time in rôle
  2. ^ a b c guest artist

Week four, May 18–24[edit]

Monday, May 18, seminar: NYCB On Stage[edit]

Tuesday, May 19[edit]

Wednesday, May 20[edit]

Thursday, May 21[edit]

Friday, May 22[edit]

Saturday matinée, May 23[edit]

Saturday evening, May 23[edit]

Sunday matinée, May 24[edit]

notes for week four[edit]

Week five, May 26–31[edit]

Tuesday, May 26[edit]

Wednesday, May 27[edit]

Thursday, May 28[edit]

Friday, May 29[edit]

Saturday matinée, May 30[edit]

Saturday evening, May 30[edit]

[Spring Repertory 4] [Spring Playbill 11] [Spring Fourth Ring 8]

Sunday matinée, May 31[edit]

[Spring Repertory 4] [Spring Playbill 12] [Spring Fourth Ring 9]

notes for week five[edit]

  1. ^ a b NYC rôle debut

Week six, June 2–7[edit]

Tuesday, June 2[edit]

Wednesday, June 3[edit]

[Spring Repertory 5] [Spring Playbill 13] [Spring Fourth Ring 10]

Thursday, June 4[edit]

[Spring Repertory 5] [Spring Playbill 14] [Spring Fourth Ring 11]

Friday, June 5[edit]

[Spring Repertory 5] [Spring Playbill 15] [Spring Fourth Ring 12]

Saturday matinée, June 6[edit]

Saturday evening, June 6[edit]

Sunday matinée, June 7[edit]

[Spring Repertory 5] [Spring Playbill 16] [Spring Fourth Ring 13]

notes for week six[edit]

Week seven, June 9–14[edit]

Tuesday, June 9[edit]

Wednesday, June 10[edit]

Thursday, June 11[edit]

[Spring Repertory 6] [Spring Playbill 17]

Friday, June 12[edit]

Saturday matinée, June 13[edit]

Saturday evening, June 13[edit]

Sunday matinée, June 14[edit]

Sunday evening, June 14, Dancers' Choice benefit[edit]

initiated by Peter Martins; conceived and supervised by Jenifer Ringer[9] [Spring Repertory 6] [Spring Playbill 18]

notes for week seven[edit]


Week eight, June 16–21 A Midsummer Night's Dream[edit]

Tuesday, June 16[edit]

Wednesday, June 17[edit]

Thursday, June 18[edit]

Friday, June 19[edit]

Saturday matinée, June 20[edit]

Saturday evening, June 20[edit]

Sunday matinée, June 21[edit]

[Spring Playbill 19] [Spring Fourth Ring 14]

notes for week eight[edit]

  1. ^ a b Jenifer Ringer replaced Wendy Whelan in the divertissement.
  2. ^ a b Troy Schumacher replaced Sean Suozzi in the rôle of Puck.

notes for Spring[edit]

  1. ^ NY Times, Alastair Macaulay, May 14, 2009
  2. ^ a b world premiere

Summer Saratoga Springs[edit]

Week one, July 7–11[edit]

Week two, July 14–18[edit]

Fall tour, Bunkamura, Tokyo[edit]

Nutcracker[edit]

Footnotes[edit]

  1. ^ City Ballet's winter gala is held in November of the year preceding; The Nutcracker is danced between the gala and the beginning of the repertory season in January,
  2. ^ Casting becomes available a week or two before performance and is subject to change right up to curtain time.
  3. ^ a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z aa ab ac ad ae af ag ah ai aj ak al am an ao ap aq ar as at au av aw ax ay az ba bb bc bd be bf bg bh bi bj bk bl bm bn bo bp bq br bs bt bu bv bw bx by bz ca cb cc cd ce cf cg ch ci cj ck cl cm cn co cp cq cr cs ct cu cv cw cx cy cz da db dc dd de df dg dh di dj dk dl dm dn do dp dq dr ds dt du dv dw dx dy dz ea eb ec ed ee ef eg eh first time in rôle
  4. ^ a b c guest artists
  5. ^ a b c world premiere
  6. ^ a b NYC rôle debut
  7. ^ apprentice
  8. ^ a b c d guest artist
  9. ^ All performers in Dancers' Choice appeared for the first time in the rôles which they danced.

Playbill, NYCB 2009[edit]

Fourth Ring talks also known as First Position discussions[edit]

Repertory Week, Winter 2009[edit]

Studio talks[edit]

External links[edit]