List of schools in Croydon

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Cotelands with Park Hill Infants School in the background

The London Borough of Croydon is one of the boroughs in London with the most schools. They include primary schools (95), secondary schools (21) and four further education establishments.[1] Croydon College has its main building in Croydon, it is a low rise building.[2] John Ruskin College[3] is one of the other colleges in the borough, located in Addington and Coulsdon College[4] in Coulsdon. South Norwood has been the home of Spurgeon's College, a world-famous Baptist theological college, since 1923; Spurgeon's is located on South Norwood Hill and currently has some 1000 students. Winterbourne Junior Boys' and Winterbourne Junior Girls Schools are the only single-sex state primary schools in the United Kingdom. The London Borough of Croydon is the local education authority for the borough. Croydon operates a comprehensive system of education but there are a number of formerly selective schools in the borough; including The John Fisher School and Coloma Convent Girls' School

State-funded schools[edit]

Primary schools[edit]

Source.[5]

There are over 90 primary schools in the borough and 6 specialist primary schools for children with special needs.

School Location School website
The Aerodrome Primary School Waddon
All Saints CofE Junior School Upper Norwood www.allsaintsjunior.croydon.sch.uk
All Saints Infant School Upper Norwood www.allsaints-inf.croydon.sch.uk
Applegarth Junior School New Addington
Applegarth Nursery and Infant School New Addington www.applegarth-infants.org.uk
Atwood Primary School Sanderstead www.atwoodschool.com
Beaumont Primary School Purley
Benson Primary and Nursery School Shirley www.bensonprimaryschool.org.uk
Beulah Junior School Thornton Heath www.beulah-jun.croydon.sch.uk
Beulah Nursery and Infant School Thornton Heath www.pegasusacademytrust.org
Broadmead Junior School Croydon
Broadmead Nursery and Infant School Croydon web.broadmead-inf.croydon.sch.uk
Byron Primary School Coulsdon www.byron.croydon.lgfl.net
Castle Hill Primary School New Addington www.castlehill.croydon.sch.uk
Chipstead Valley Primary School Coulsdon web.chipstead.croydon.sch.uk
Christ Church CofE Primary School Purley www.christchurch.croydon.sch.uk
Coulsdon CofE Primary School Coulsdon www.coulsdoncofe.co.uk
Courtwood Primary School Croydon www.courtwood.croydon.lgfl.net
Cypress Infant School South Norwood www.cypress-inf.croydon.lgfl.net
Cypress Junior School South Norwood www.cypressjuniors.co.uk
David Livingstone Academy Thornton Heath www.davidlivingstone.croydon.sch.uk
Davidson Primary School Croydon www.davidsonprimary.croydon.sch.uk
Downsview Primary and Nursery School Upper Norwood www.downsview.croydon.lgfl.net
Ecclesbourne Primary School Thornton Heath www.pegasusacademytrust.org
Elmwood Infant School Croydon www.elmwood-inf.croydon.sch.uk
Elmwood Junior School Croydon www.elmwood-jun.croydon.sch.uk
Fairchildes Primary School New Addington www.fairchildes.croydon.lgfl.net
Forestdale Primary School Croydon www.forestdale.croydon.sch.uk
Gilbert Scott Primary School South Croydon www.gilbertscott.croydon.sch.uk
Gonville Primary School Thornton Heath www.gonville.croydon.lgfl.net
Good Shepherd Catholic Primary School New Addington www.shepherd.croydon.sch.uk
Greenvale Primary School South Croydon www.greenvale.croydon.sch.uk
Gresham Primary School Sanderstead
The Hayes School Kenley
Heavers Farm School South Norwood www.heaversfarm.co.uk
Howard Primary School Croydon
Kenley Primary School Whyteleafe www.kenley.croydon.sch.uk
Kensington Avenue Primary School Thornton Heath
Keston Primary School Coulsdon
Kingsley Primary School Croydon www.kingsley.croydon.sch.uk
Margaret Roper Catholic Primary School Purley www.margaretroper.croydon.sch.uk
Monks Orchard Primary School Croydon www.monks-orchard.croydon.lgfl.net
Norbury Manor Primary School Croydon www.nmp.croydon.sch.uk/
Oasis Academy Shirley Park Ashburton www.oasisacademyshirleypark.org
Orchard Way School Croydon
The Oval Primary School Addiscombe
Parish Church CofE Junior School Croydon www.parishchurchjuniors.com
Parish Church CofE Nursery and Infant School Croydon www.parishchurch-inf.croydon.sch.uk
Park Hill Infant School Croydon www.parkhillinfants.co.uk
Park Hill Junior School Croydon http://www.phjs.co.uk/
Purley Oaks Primary School South Croydon
Regina Coeli Catholic Primary School South Croydon
Ridgeway Primary School South Croydon
Rockmount Primary School Upper Norwood
Roke Primary School Kenley www.roke.croydon.sch.uk
Rowdown Primary School New Addington
Ryelands Primary School South Norwood
St Aidan's Catholic Primary School Coulsdon
St Chad's Catholic Primary School Selhurst
St Cyprian's Greek Orthodox Primary School Thornton Heath
St James The Great Catholic Primary and Nursery School Thornton Heath www.stjamesthegreat.org
St John's CofE Primary School Shirley
St Joseph's RC Infant School Upper Norwood
St Joseph's RC Junior School Upper Norwood
St Mark's CofE Primary School South Norwood
St Mary's Catholic Infant School Croydon
St Mary's RC Junior School Croydon
St Peter's Primary School South Croydon
St Thomas Becket Catholic Primary School Woodside
Selsdon Primary and Nursery School South Croydon
Smitham Primary School Coulsdon
South Norwood Primary School South Norwood
Spring Park School Croydon
The Wattenden School Purley
West Thornton Primary Academy Croydon
Whitehorse Manor Infant School Thornton Heath www.pegasusacademytrust.org
Whitehorse Manor Junior School Thornton Heath www.pegasusacademytrust.org
Winterbourne Junior Boys' School Thornton Heath www.winterbourne-bsch.croydon.lgfl.net
Winterbourne Junior Girls' School Thornton Heath
Winterbourne Nursery and Infant School Thornton Heath
Wolsey Infant School New Addington www.lgfl.net/lgfl/leas/croydon/schools/wolsey-inf
Wolsey Junior School New Addington
Woodcote Infant and Nursery School Coulsdon www.woodcote-infants.croydon.sch.uk
Woodcote High School Coulsdon http://www.woodcote.croydon.sch.uk/
Woodside Children's Centre and Infant School Woodside web.woodside-inf.croydon.sch.uk
Woodside Junior School Woodside webfronter.com/croydon/woodsidejuniorschool

Special schools[edit]

Source[6]

School Location School website
Beckmead School Monks Orchard
Bensham Manor School Thornton Heath www.bensham-manor.croydon.sch.uk
Priory School South Norwood
Red Gates School Purley Way
St Giles School South Croydon st-gilesschool.co.uk
St Nicholas School Purley www.st-nicholas-school.com

Secondary schools[edit]

Source[7]

School Location School website
Addington High School New Addington www.addington.croydon.sch.uk
The Archbishop Lanfranc School Thornton Heath www.lanfranc.com
Archbishop Tenison's School Croydon www.archten.croydon.sch.uk
BRIT School Selhurst www.brit.croydon.sch.uk
Coloma Convent Girls' School Shirley www.coloma.croydon.sch.uk
Edenham High School Shirley www.edenham.croydon.sch.uk
Harris Academy Purley Purley www.harrispurley.org.uk
Harris Academy Upper Norwood Upper Norwood www.harrisuppernorwood.org.uk
Harris City Academy Crystal Palace South Norwood www.harriscrystalpalace.org.uk
Harris Academy South Norwood South Norwood www.harrisnorwood.org.uk
The John Fisher School Purley www.johnfisher.sutton.sch.uk
Norbury Manor Business and Enterprise College for Girls Thornton Heath www.nmbec.org.uk
Oasis Academy Coulsdon Coulsdon www.oasisacademycoulsdon.org
Oasis Academy Shirley Park Ashburton www.oasisacademyshirleypark.org
The Quest Academy South Croydon www.thequestacademy.org.uk
Riddlesdown Collegiate Croydon www.riddlesdown.org
St Andrew's CofE High School Croydon www.standhigh.net
St Joseph's College Upper Norwood www.sjcict.com
St Mary's High School Croydon www.st-maryshigh.croydon.sch.uk
Shirley High Performing Arts College Shirley www.shirley.croydon.sch.uk
Thomas More Catholic School Purley www.tmore.org.uk
Virgo Fidelis Convent Senior School Upper Norwood www.virgofidelis.org.uk
Woodcote High School Coulsdon www.woodcote.croydon.sch.uk

Independent schools[edit]

School Location School website
Al Khair School East Croydon www.alkhairschool.org.uk
Croydon High School Selsdon www.croydonhigh.gdst.net
Cumnor House School South Croydon www.cumnorhouse.com
Elmhurst School for Boys South Croydon www.elmhurstschool.net
Old Palace School of John Whitgift Croydon www.oldpalace.croydon.sch.uk
Royal Russell School Croydon www.royalrussell.co.uk
Rutherford School South Croydon rutherfordschool.org.uk
St. David's School Purley www.stdavidsschool.co.uk
Trinity School of John Whitgift Shirley www.trinity-school.org
Whitgift School South Croydon www.whitgift.co.uk

Further education colleges[edit]

School Location School website
Cambridge Tutors College South Croydon www.ctc.ac.uk
Coulsdon College Old Coulsdon www.coulsdon.ac.uk
Croydon College[1] Croydon www.croydon.ac.uk
Croydon College (Sixth Form)[2] Croydon www.croydon.ac.uk
Croydon College (Skills and Enterprise)[3] Croydon www.croydon.ac.uk
John Ruskin College Addington www.johnruskin.ac.uk
Spurgeon's College South Norwood www.spurgeons.ac.uk

Notes[edit]

^1 Created in 2007 after the restructure of the previous Croydon College to allow for more students, although it is still administered as Croydon College with the other two separate further education institutions. Provides university level education and therefore is not a further education institution but one for higher education.[8]

^2 Created in 2007 after the restructure of the previous Croydon College to allow for more students, although it is still administered as Croydon College with the other two separate further education institutions.[9]

^3 Created in 2007 after the restructure of the previous Croydon College to allow for more students, although it is still administered as Croydon College with the other two separate further education institutions.[10]

See also[edit]

References[edit]

  1. ^ "London Borough of Croydon: Education and learning". Croydon Council. 2008. Retrieved 2008-07-27. 
  2. ^ "Croydon College: About the College". Croydon College. 2007. Retrieved 2008-07-27. [dead link]
  3. ^ "John Ruskin College". John Ruskin College. 2007. Retrieved 2008-07-27. 
  4. ^ "Homepage of Coulsdon College". Coulsdon College. 2007. Retrieved 2008-07-27. 
  5. ^ List of Primary schools (London Borough of Croydon) accessed 26 Sep 2007
  6. ^ List of Special schools (London Borough of Croydon) accessed 27 Jul 2008
  7. ^ List of Secondary schools (London Borough of Croydon) accessed 26 Sep 2007
  8. ^ "Croydon Higher Education College". Croydon College. Retrieved 2008-07-27. 
  9. ^ "Croydon Sixth Form College". Croydon College. Retrieved 2008-07-27. 
  10. ^ "Croydon Sixth Form College". Croydon College. Retrieved 2008-07-27. 

External links[edit]