List of schools in Croydon

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Cotelands with Park Hill Infants School in the background

The London Borough of Croydon is one of the boroughs in London with the most schools. They include primary schools (95), secondary schools (21) and four further education establishments.[1] Croydon College has its main building in Croydon, it is a low rise building.[2] John Ruskin College[3] is one of the other colleges in the borough, located in Addington and Coulsdon College[4] in Coulsdon. South Norwood has been the home of Spurgeon's College, a world-famous Baptist theological college, since 1923; Spurgeon's is located on South Norwood Hill and currently has some 1000 students. Winterbourne Junior Boys' and Winterbourne Junior Girls Schools are the only single-sex state primary schools in the United Kingdom. The London Borough of Croydon is the local education authority for the borough. Croydon operates a comprehensive system of education but there are a number of formerly selective schools in the borough; including The John Fisher School and Coloma Convent Girls' School

This list covers primary school (including infant and junior schools), secondary schools and further education colleges in the borough. Schools are in the state sector unless otherwise indicated:

State schools[edit]

Primary schools[edit]

Source.[5]

There are over 90 primary schools in the borough and 6 specialist primary schools for children with special needs.

School Location School website
All Saints CofE Junior Upper Norwood www.allsaintsjunior.croydon.sch.uk
All Saints Infant Upper Norwood www.allsaints-inf.croydon.sch.uk
Applegarth Junior New Addington
Applegarth Nursery and Infant New Addington www.applegarth-infants.org.uk
(Ashburton) Oasis Primary, Shirley Park Ashburton www.ashburton-jun.croydon.sch.uk
Atwood Primary Sanderstead www.atwoodschool.com
Beaumont Primary Purley
Benson Primary and Nursery Shirley www.bensonprimaryschool.org.uk
Beulah Junior School Thornton Heath www.beulah-jun.croydon.sch.uk
Beulah Nursery and Infant Thornton Heath www.pegasusacademytrust.org
Broadmead Junior School Croydon
Broadmead Nursery and Infant Croydon web.broadmead-inf.croydon.sch.uk
Byron Primary Coulsdon www.byron.croydon.lgfl.net
Castle Hill Primary New Addington www.castlehill.croydon.sch.uk
Chipstead Valley Primary Coulsdon web.chipstead.croydon.sch.uk
Christ Church CofE Primary Purley www.christchurch.croydon.sch.uk
Coulsdon CofE Primary Coulsdon www.coulsdoncofe.co.uk
Courtwood Primary Croydon www.courtwood.croydon.lgfl.net
Cypress Infant South Norwood www.cypress-inf.croydon.lgfl.net
Cypress Junior South Norwood www.cypressjuniors.co.uk
David Livingstone Academy Thornton Heath www.davidlivingstone.croydon.sch.uk
Davidson Primary Croydon www.davidsonprimary.croydon.sch.uk
Downsview Primary and Nursery Upper Norwood www.downsview.croydon.lgfl.net
Ecclesbourne Primary Thornton Heath www.pegasusacademytrust.org
Elmwood Infant Croydon www.elmwood-inf.croydon.sch.uk
Elmwood Junior Croydon www.elmwood-jun.croydon.sch.uk
Fairchildes Primary New Addington www.fairchildes.croydon.lgfl.net
Forestdale Primary School Croydon www.forestdale.croydon.sch.uk
Gilbert Scott Primary School South Croydon www.gilbertscott.croydon.sch.uk
Gonville Primary Thornton Heath www.gonville.croydon.lgfl.net
Good Shepherd Catholic Primary New Addington www.shepherd.croydon.sch.uk
Greenvale Primary South Croydon www.greenvale.croydon.sch.uk
Gresham Primary Sanderstead
Heavers Farm South Norwood www.heaversfarm.co.uk
Howard Primary Croydon
Kenley Primary Whyteleafe www.kenley.croydon.sch.uk
Kensington Avenue Primary Thornton Heath
Keston Primary Coulsdon
Kingsley Primary Croydon www.kingsley.croydon.sch.uk
Margaret Roper Catholic Primary Purley www.margaretroper.croydon.sch.uk
Monks Orchard Primary Croydon www.monks-orchard.croydon.lgfl.net
Norbury Manor Primary Croydon www.nmp.croydon.sch.uk/
Orchard Way Croydon
The Oval Primary Addiscombe
Parish Church CofE Junior Croydon www.parishchurchjuniors.com
Parish Church CofE Nursery and Infant Croydon www.parishchurch-inf.croydon.sch.uk
Park Hill Infant Croydon www.parkhillinfants.co.uk
Park Hill Junior Croydon http://www.phjs.co.uk/
Purley Oaks Primary South Croydon
Regina Coeli Catholic Primary South Croydon
Ridgeway Primary South Croydon
Rockmount Primary Upper Norwood
Roke Primary Kenley www.roke.croydon.sch.uk
Rowdown Primary New Addington
Ryelands Primary South Norwood
Selsdon Primary and Nursery South Croydon
Smitham Primary Coulsdon
South Norwood Primary South Norwood
Spring Park Croydon
St Aidan's Catholic Primary Coulsdon
St Chad's Catholic Primary Selhurst
St Cyprian's Greek Orthodox Primary Thornton Heath
St James The Great Catholic Primary and Nursery Thornton Heath www.stjamesthegreat.org
St John's CofE Primary Shirley
St Joseph's RC Infant Upper Norwood
St Joseph's RC Junior Upper Norwood
St Mark's CofE Primary South Norwood
St Mary's Catholic Infant Croydon
St Mary's RC Junior Croydon
St Peter's Primary South Croydon
St Thomas Becket Catholic Primary Woodside
The Hayes Kenley
The Wattenden Purley
The Aerodrome Primary School [a] Waddon
West Thornton Primary Croydon
Whitehorse Manor Infant Thornton Heath www.pegasusacademytrust.org
Whitehorse Manor Junior Thornton Heath www.pegasusacademytrust.org
Winterbourne Junior Boys' Thornton Heath www.winterbourne-bsch.croydon.lgfl.net
Winterbourne Junior Girls' Thornton Heath
Winterbourne Nursery and Infant Thornton Heath
Wolsey Infant New Addington www.lgfl.net/lgfl/leas/croydon/schools/wolsey-inf
Wolsey Junior New Addington
Woodcote Infant and Nursery Coulsdon www.woodcote-infants.croydon.sch.uk
Woodcote High School Coulsdon http://www.woodcote.croydon.sch.uk/
Woodside Children's Centre and Infant School Woodside web.woodside-inf.croydon.sch.uk
Woodside Junior School Woodside webfronter.com/croydon/woodsidejuniorschool

Notes:

  • a Duppas Junior School and Waddon Infants School merged to form The Aerodrome Primary School in September 2010, in recognition of the former Croydon Airport.[6][7]

Special schools[edit]

Source[8]

School Location School website
Beckmead Monks Orchard
Bensham Manor Thornton Heath www.bensham-manor.croydon.sch.uk
Priory South Norwood
Red Gates Purley Way
St Giles School South Croydon st-gilesschool.co.uk
Rutherford School South Croydon rutherfordschool.org.uk
St Nicholas Purley www.st-nicholas-school.com

Secondary schools[edit]

Source[9]

School Location School website
Addington High School New Addington www.addington.croydon.sch.uk
The Archbishop Lanfranc School Thornton Heath www.lanfranc.com
Archbishop Tenison's School Croydon www.archten.croydon.sch.uk
BRIT School Selhurst www.brit.croydon.sch.uk
Coloma Convent Girls' School Shirley www.coloma.croydon.sch.uk
Edenham High School Shirley www.edenham.croydon.sch.uk
Harris Academy Purley Purley www.harrispurley.org.uk
Harris Academy Upper Norwood Upper Norwood www.harrisuppernorwood.org.uk
Harris City Academy Crystal Palace South Norwood www.harriscrystalpalace.org.uk
Harris Academy South Norwood South Norwood www.harrisnorwood.org.uk
The John Fisher School Purley www.johnfisher.sutton.sch.uk
Norbury Manor Business and Enterprise College for Girls Thornton Heath www.nmbec.org.uk
Oasis Academy Coulsdon Coulsdon www.oasisacademycoulsdon.org
Oasis Academy Shirley Park Ashburton www.oasisacademyshirleypark.org
The Quest Academy South Croydon www.thequestacademy.org.uk
Riddlesdown Collegiate Croydon www.riddlesdown.org
St Andrew's CofE High School Croydon www.standhigh.net
St Joseph's College Upper Norwood www.sjcict.com
St Mary's High School Croydon www.st-maryshigh.croydon.sch.uk
Shirley High Performing Arts College Shirley www.shirley.croydon.sch.uk
Thomas More Catholic School Purley www.tmore.org.uk
Virgo Fidelis Convent Senior School Upper Norwood www.virgofidelis.org.uk
Woodcote High School Coulsdon www.woodcote.croydon.sch.uk

Independent schools[edit]

School Location School website
Al Khair School East Croydon www.alkhairschool.org.uk
Croydon High School Selsdon www.croydonhigh.gdst.net
Cumnor House School South Croydon www.cumnorhouse.com
Elmhurst School for Boys South Croydon www.elmhurstschool.net
Old Palace School of John Whitgift Croydon www.oldpalace.croydon.sch.uk
Royal Russell School Croydon www.royalrussell.co.uk
St. David's School Purley www.stdavidsschool.co.uk
Trinity School of John Whitgift Shirley www.trinity-school.org
Whitgift School South Croydon www.whitgift.co.uk

Further education colleges[edit]

School Location School website
Cambridge Tutors College South Croydon www.ctc.ac.uk
Coulsdon College Old Coulsdon www.coulsdon.ac.uk
Croydon College[1] Croydon www.croydon.ac.uk
Croydon College (Sixth Form)[2] Croydon www.croydon.ac.uk
Croydon College (Skills and Enterprise)[3] Croydon www.croydon.ac.uk
John Ruskin College Addington www.johnruskin.ac.uk
Spurgeon's College South Norwood www.spurgeons.ac.uk

Notes[edit]

^1 Created in 2007 after the restructure of the previous Croydon College to allow for more students, although it is still administered as Croydon College with the other two separate further education institutions. Provides university level education and therefore is not a further education institution but one for higher education.[10]

^2 Created in 2007 after the restructure of the previous Croydon College to allow for more students, although it is still administered as Croydon College with the other two separate further education institutions.[11]

^3 Created in 2007 after the restructure of the previous Croydon College to allow for more students, although it is still administered as Croydon College with the other two separate further education institutions.[12]

See also[edit]

References[edit]

  1. ^ "London Borough of Croydon: Education and learning". Croydon Council. 2008. Retrieved 2008-07-27. 
  2. ^ "Croydon College: About the College". Croydon College. 2007. Retrieved 2008-07-27. [dead link]
  3. ^ "John Ruskin College". John Ruskin College. 2007. Retrieved 2008-07-27. 
  4. ^ "Homepage of Coulsdon College". Coulsdon College. 2007. Retrieved 2008-07-27. 
  5. ^ List of Primary schools (London Borough of Croydon) accessed 26 Sep 2007
  6. ^ Charlton, Jo (7 August 2009). "Work begins on new primary school in Waddon". The Croydon Advertiser (Croydon, UK: Northcliffe Media). Retrieved 2009-10-08. 
  7. ^ "Schools amalgamation means lift off for Aerodrome School". London Borough of Croydon. 6 August 2009. Retrieved 2009-10-08. 
  8. ^ List of Special schools (London Borough of Croydon) accessed 27 Jul 2008
  9. ^ List of Secondary schools (London Borough of Croydon) accessed 26 Sep 2007
  10. ^ "Croydon Higher Education College". Croydon College. Retrieved 2008-07-27. 
  11. ^ "Croydon Sixth Form College". Croydon College. Retrieved 2008-07-27. 
  12. ^ "Croydon Sixth Form College". Croydon College. Retrieved 2008-07-27. 

External links[edit]