Mary Jane (candy)

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Candy-Mary-Jane-Wrapper-Small.jpg
Mary Jane Candies

Mary Jane is a peanut butter and molasses flavored taffy-type candy with peanut butter in the center. Originally made in 1914 by The Charles N. Miller Co., and later by Stark Candy Co.,[1] it is now manufactured by Necco.[1] Charles Miller named the after his favorite aunt, Mary Jane, and the candy has used same "little girl" illustration on the wrappers since its inception.[2]

Mary Jane is dairy-free, egg-free, and gluten-free and is similar in style, taste and packaging to the Schutter-Johnson Company's (now Nestlé) Bit-O-Honey, which appeared in 1924.

References[edit]

External links[edit]