May 2008 in sports

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Deaths in May[edit]

Main article: Deaths in May 2008

Current sporting seasons[edit]

31 May 2008 (Saturday)[edit]

  • Football:
    • Europeada 2008
      • Danes in Germany 15 Catalans 1
      • Rhaetians 5 Germans in Hungary 1
      • Germans in Denmark 19 North Frissians 4
      • Welsh 0 Germans in Poland 2
      • Aromunians 0 South Tyrol 3
      • Croats in Serbia 0 Roma in Hungary 2
      • Occitaniians 2 Cimbrians 1
      • Sorbs 4 Croats in Romania 1

30 May 2008 (Friday)[edit]

29 May 2008 (Thursday)[edit]

28 May 2008 (Wednesday)[edit]

27 May 2008 (Tuesday)[edit]

26 May 2008 (Monday)[edit]

25 May 2008 (Sunday)[edit]

24 May 2008 (Saturday)[edit]

23 May 2008 (Friday)[edit]

22 May 2008 (Thursday)[edit]

21 May 2008 (Wednesday)[edit]

20 May 2008 (Tuesday)[edit]

19 May 2008 (Monday)[edit]

18 May 2008 (Sunday)[edit]

(1) Paul di Resta United Kingdom (2) Timo Scheider Germany (3) Mattias Ekström Sweden
(1) Christophe Bouchut France & Xavier Maassen Netherlands (2) Alexandre Negrao Brazil & Miguel Ramos Portugal (3) Philipp Peter Austria & Allan Simonsen Denmark
(1) Sébastien Loeb France (2) Mikko Hirvonen Finland (3) Jari-Matti Latvala Finland

17 May 2008 (Saturday)[edit]

(1) Kasey Kahne Washington (state) (2) Greg Biffle Washington (state) (3) Matt Kenseth Wisconsin
Kahne becomes the first driver to enter the All-Star Race via fan voting to win the non-points race and its $1 million first prize.

16 May 2008 (Friday)[edit]

15 May 2008 (Thursday)[edit]

14 May 2008 (Wednesday)[edit]

13 May 2008 (Tuesday)[edit]

12 May 2008 (Monday)[edit]

11 May 2008 (Sunday)[edit]

  • Avram Grant's side come up short in their title ambitions, after stuttering to a draw at home to Bolton. Andriy Shevchenko had given the Blues the lead, but a late equaliser from Kevin Davies helped to cement Bolton's place in the Premiership and diminish Chelsea's slim chance of the title.
  • Derby County finished the worst season for a Premiership member with one win, eight draws and 29 losses for a total of 11 points and a goal differential of minus-69 (with 20 goals scored as a team, were outscored by three players and 89 against, also premiership records) surpassing the 2003–04 and 2005–06 Sunderland teams, and their 29 losses tied the 2005–06 Black Cats' total losses.
(1) Felipe Massa Brazil (2) Lewis Hamilton United Kingdom (3) Kimi Räikkönen Finland
(1) Nicolas Minassian France, Marc Gené Spain & Jacques Villeneuve Canada (2) Alexandre Prémat France & Mike Rockenfeller Germany (3) Olivier Panis France & Nicolas Lapierre France
(1) Mark Winterbottom Australia (2) Garth Tander Australia (3) Jamie Whincup Australia

10 May 2008 (Saturday)[edit]

(1) Kyle Busch Nevada (2) Carl Edwards Missouri (3) Jeff Gordon California

7 May 2008 (Wednesday)[edit]

6 May 2008 (Tuesday)[edit]

4 May 2008 (Sunday)[edit]

(1) Narain Karthikeyan India (2) Robbie Kerr United Kingdom (3) Neel Jani Switzerland
A1 Team Switzerland win the third A1 Grand Prix season ahead of A1 Team New Zealand and A1 Team Great Britain.
(1) Jamie Green United Kingdom (2) Paul di Resta United Kingdom (3) Tom Kristensen Denmark

3 May 2008 (Saturday)[edit]

(1) Clint Bowyer Kansas (2) Kyle Busch Nevada (3) Mark Martin Arkansas

2 May 2008 (Friday)[edit]

1 May 2008 (Thursday)[edit]