Media in Philadelphia

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

This is a list of media based in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States.

Newspapers and magazines[edit]

Newspaper Founded Type Website
The Philadelphia Inquirer 1829 Daily philly.com/mld/inquirer
Philadelphia Tribune 1884 Bi-weekly phila-tribune.com
Philadelphia magazine 1908 Monthly phillymag.com
Philadelphia Daily News 1925 Daily philly.com/mld/dailynews
South Philly Review 1947 Weekly southphillyreview.com
University City Review Weekly ucreview.com
Northeast Times 19?? Weekly northeasttimes.com
Philadelphia Weekly 1971 Weekly philadelphiaweekly.com
Philadelphia Gay News 1976 Weekly epgn.com
Philadelphia City Paper 1981 Weekly citypaper.net
AL DÍA 1994 Weekly aldianews.com
El Hispano 1976 Weekly el-hispano.com
The Public Record 1999 Weekly phillyrecord.com
Brazilian News Week 2000 Weekly
Philadelphia Metro 2000 Daily metro.lu
Philadelphia Business Journal 1982 Weekly bizjournals.com/philadelphia
The Hawk 1929 Weekly hawkhillnews.com
The Temple News 1921 Weekly temple-news.com
The Daily Pennsylvanian 1885 Daily thedp.com
The Triangle 1926 Weekly thetriangle.org
Philadelphia News 1995 Weekly thephilanews.com
The Public Record (newspaper) 1999 Weekly phillyrecord.com
Impacto Latin Newspaper 1998 Weekly impactofiladelfia.com
The Jewish Exponent 1887 Weekly jewishexponent.com

Former newspapers:

Television stations[edit]

Television station Affiliate Founded Channel Website
KYW-TV CBS 1941 3 cbs3.com
WPVI-TV ABC 1947 6 6abc.com
WELL-LD Daystar 1988 30
WCAU NBC 1948 10 nbcphiladelphia.com
WHYY-TV PBS 1957 12 whyy.org
WPHL-TV My Network TV 1965 17 myphl17.trb.com
WTXF-TV Fox 1965 29 myfoxphilly.com
WUVP-DT Univision 1981 65 univision65.com
WFPA-CA Telefutura telefutura.com
WWSI-TV Telemundo 2001 49 wwsi-tv.com
WYBE-TV Public Television 1990 35 wybe.org
WGTW-TV Trinity Broadcasting Network 1992 27 tbn.org
WPSG-TV The CW 1981 57 cwphilly.com
WPSJ-CD Public Television 1986 8
WPPX-TV Ion Television 1986 31 iontelevision.com
The Comcast Network basic cable 1996 www.csnphilly.com/pages/comcastnetwork
Comcast SportsNet Philadelphia basic cable 1997 philadelphia.comcastsportsnet.com
Prism (former) premium 1977

AM radio stations[edit]

AM radio station Frequency (kHz) Format Founded Website
WFIL 560 Religious 1922 wfil.com
WIP 610 Sports 1922 610wip.com
WURD 900 Talk talkradio900.com
WCHR 920 Religious wchram.net
WKDN 950 Religious familyradio.com
WNTP 990 News/Talk newstalk990.com
KYW 1060 News 1922 kyw1060.com
WPHT 1210 Talk 1922 thebigtalker1210.com
WHAT 1340 Standards 2007 martiniloungeradio.com
WDAS 1480 Urban Oldies 2007 wdasam.com
WNWR 1540 Ethnic wnwr.com
WEXP 1600 College 1972 lasalle.edu/wexp

FM radio stations[edit]

FM radio stations Frequency (MHz) Format Founded Website
WPEB 88.1 Variety 1981 hdms.net/wpeb
WXPN 88.5 Adult Album Alternative, College, University of Pennsylvania 1945 xpn.org
WRDV 89.3 Oldies 1980 wrdv.org
WRTI 90.1 Classical/Jazz 1948 wrti.org
WHYY 90.9 Public, NPR News/Talk 1954 whyy.org
WKDU 91.7 College, Drexel University 1958 wkdu.org
WXTU 92.5 Country 1984 wxtu.com
WMMR 93.3 Active Rock 1942 wmmr.com
WIP-FM 94.1 Sports Talk 1971 610wip.com
WPST 94.5 Hot AC 1965 wpst.com
WBEN 95.7 Adult Hits 2005 957benfm.com
WRDW 96.5 Rhythmic CHR 2003 wired965.com
WPEN 97.5 Sports Talk 2009 975thefanatic.com
WOGL 98.1 Classic Hits 1987 wogl.com
WUSL 98.9 Urban 1975 power99.com
WRNB 100.3 Urban AC 1940s rnbphilly.com
WBEB 101.1 Adult Contemporary 1963 b101radio.com
WIOQ 102.1 CHR 1989 q102.com
WMGK 102.9 Classic Rock 1975 wmgk.com
WPPZ 103.9 Urban Gospel 1960 praisephilly.com
WRFF 104.5 Alternative 1965 radio1045.com
WDAS 105.3 Urban AC 1959 wdasfm.com
WISX 106.1 Hot AC 2006 mixphiladelphia.com
WKVP 106.9 News/Talk 2012 iq1069.com
WPHI 107.9 Urban 2005 hot1079philly.com

Internet[edit]

Site Founded Website
Philly.com 1995 philly.com
Drink Philly 2009 drinkphilly.com
Geekadelphia 2007 geekadelphia.com
Philadelphia News 2010 thephilanews.com
Philadelphia Public School Notebook 1994 thenotebook.org
Philly2night.com 1999 philly2night.com
Philly2Philly.com 2009 philly2philly.com
Plan Philly 2005 thenotebook.org
Technical.ly 2009 technical.ly/philly
West Philly Local 2010 westphillylocal.com
Philadelphia Jewish Voice 2005 www.pjvoice.com

See also[edit]

External links[edit]