Media in the Lehigh Valley

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

This is a list of media based in the Lehigh Valley region of eastern Pennsylvania and western New Jersey in the United States.

Magazines and Newspapers[edit]

The Express-Times' headquarters in Easton
Newspaper Founded Type Website
A Valley and Beyond 2012 Indie Music, Arts, Culture, Weekly avalleyandbeyond.weebly.com
Valley Social Magazine Luxury Lifestyle, Bi-Monthly [1]
Adventure Allentown Recreation, Twice Annually lehighvalleylive.com/adventureallentown
The Bethlehem Press 2005 Weekly thebethlehempress.com
Curious Parents 1994 Lifestyle, Monthly curiousparents.com
East Coast Biker Magazine Motorcycling, Monthly eastcoastbiker.net
Eastern Pennsylvania Business Journal 1990 Financial, Weekly epbj.com
The Express-Times 1855 Daily lehighvalleylive.com
Harmon Homes Real Estate, Weekly harmonhomes.com
Home DREAMS Magazine Home & Shelter, 6 times annually dreamsmagazine.us
ICON Magazine Arts, Monthly icondv.com
The Lafayette College thelaf.com
Lehigh Valley Exposed 2008 Alternative Weekly pennlive.com/exposed
Lehigh Valley Family 2007 Lifestyle, Monthly lehighvalleyfamily.com
Lehigh Valley Home Source Real Estate, Weekly
Lehigh Valley Magazine Bi-monthly lehighvalleymagazine.com
Lehigh Valley Marketplace 7 times annually lv-marketplace.com
Lehigh Valley Metromix Alternative Weekly lehighvalley.metromix.com
Lehigh Valley Real Estate Weekly Real Estate, Weekly lehighvalleyarea.com/realestateweekly
Lehigh Valley Sports Extra 2000 Sports, Monthly lehighvalleysportsextra.com
Lehigh Valley Style Monthly lehighvalleystyle.com
Lehigh Valley Woman's Journal 2008 Women's Interests, Bi-monthly lehighvalleywomansjournal.com
Lifestyles Over 50 2005 Lifestyle, Monthly lifestylesover50.com
The Morning Call 1883 Daily mcall.com
Muhlenberg Weekly College muhlenbergweekly.com
Natural Awakenings 1994 Lifestyle, Monthly naturalawakeningsmag.com
Pocono Real Estate Guide Real Estate, Monthly poconorealestate.com
Pork Illustrated: The Official IronPigs Game Day Program 2008 Sports
The Real Estate Book Real Estate, Weekly realestatebook.com
Times News 1883 Daily tnonline.com
The Valley Beat 2010 Alternative Weekly thevalleybeat.com
USA Today 1982 Daily usatoday.com
Xtreme Magazine Adult Entertainment, Monthly xtrememagazine.com

Spanish Newspapers[edit]

Newspaper Founded Type Website
Al Día 1994 Weekly aldiainc.com
El Hispano 1976 Weekly el-hispano.com
El Torero Weekly
La Cronica Weekly
La Voz Latina Weekly

Television stations[edit]

Television station Affiliate Founded Website
WBPH-TV FamilyNet 1990 wbph.org
WFMZ-TV* 1976 wfmz.com
WLVT-TV PBS 1965 wlvt.org
WTVE 1980 wtve.com

The Lehigh Valley is part of the Philadelphia television market, and the Philadelphia stations are all available over-the-air and on cable. Scranton/Wilkes-Barre stations are also available over-the-air in much of the Lehigh Valley.

* A WFMZ-TV went on the air in December 1954 on analog UHF channel 69. It went black in June 1976.[1]

AM radio stations[edit]

AM radio station Frequency (kHz) Format Founded Website
WAEB 790 News 1949 waeb.com
WGPA 1100 Assorted 1946 wgpasunny1100.com
WEEX 1230 Sports espnlv.com
WTKZ 1320 Sports 1948* espnlv.com
WEST 1400 Spanish hola1600.com
WSAN 1470 Sports talk 1923** fox1470.com
WHOL 1600 Spanish 1948 hola1600.com

*As WKAP; **As WCBA (1070)[1]

FM radio stations[edit]

FM radio stations Frequency (MHz) Branding Format Founded Website
WDIY 88.1 WDIY-FM Public Radio 1995 wdiy.org
WJCS 89.3 WJCS 89.3 Religious wjcs.org
WLHI 90.3 The Word FM Religious 2013 [2]
WLVR-FM 91.3 91.3 WLVR College 1946 wlvr.org
WMUH 91.7 91.7 WMUH College 1950 muhlenberg.edu/wmuh
WZZO 95.1 WZZO-Z95 Active Rock 1977 wzzo.com
WCTO 96.1 Cat Country 96 Country 1947 catcountry96.fm
WODE-FM 99.9 99-9 The Hawk Classic Rock 1948 999thehawk.com
WLEV 100.7 WLEV Adult Contemporary 1947* wlevradio.com
WAEB-FM 104.1 B104 Top 40/CHR 1961 b104.com
WJRH 104.9 WJRH-FM College 1946 wjrh.org
WWYY 107.1 107 The Bone Active Rock 1992 107thebone.fm

*As WFMZ[1]

Internet[edit]

Site Type URL
LehighValleyJournal.com News [3]
WXLV-The X News,Music,Talk, from Lehigh Carbon Community College [4]
DaStashBox.com News http://www.dastashbox.com/
DeSales University Student Radio Station College Internet Radio http://www.desales.edu/
LehighValleyEntrepreneur.com News http://www.lehighvalleyentrepreneur.tv/
LehighValleyLive.com News http://www.lehighvalleylive.com/
LehighLalleyTraffic.com Traffic http://www.lehighvalleytraffic.com/
PennLive.com News http://www.pennlive.com/
Prolifickradio.com News http://www.prolifick.com/
WFMZ.com News http://www.wfmz.com/index.html

wgpasunny1100.com |align=center|Assorted |align=center|http://www.wgpasunny1100.com/ |-

See also[edit]

References[edit]

  1. ^ a b c Allentown, Pa Bicentennial 1962 Sesquicentennial Lehigh Country, pp 101, "Communications and Transportation"