Mel Odom (author)

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
For the artist of the same name, see Mel Odom (artist).

Mel Odom (born 1957 in California[citation needed]) is a writer who has published more than 140 books. He is best known for his novels of science fiction and fantasy, though he has also written non-fiction about computer gaming.

Education[edit]

Odom graduated from Byng High School in Byng, Oklahoma, in May 1976 and later graduated with a bachelors degree in English from East Central University in Ada, Oklahoma. He teaches undergraduate courses at the Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication in the Professional Writing program at the University of Oklahoma.

Career[edit]

Odom sold his first book in January 1988[1] and wrote dozens more books over the next ten years.[1] He wrote two novels for the F.R.E.E.Lancers campaign setting for TSR's Top Secret/S.I. role-playing game, F.R.E.E.Lancers and F.R.E.E.Fall.[1] He followed these with his first Forgotten Realms novel in 1998, The Lost Library of Cormanthyr, and then his Threat from the Sea trilogy.[1]

Odom has written dozens of novels in several fields - action-adventure, computer strategy guides, fantasy, game-related fiction, horror, juvenile, movie novelizations, science fiction, and young adult - as well as comics.[2]

Odom wrote several novels in the Forgotten Realms series, including the trilogy The Threat from the Sea, and two short stories. He has gained renown with his The Rover and Left Behind Apocalypse series, and two novels for the NCIS franchise.[citation needed]

He has published original novels for popular TV shows, including Roswell and Sabrina, the Teenage Witch. The most popular show for which he has written original novels is Buffy the Vampire Slayer. He has also written novelizations of movies, including: Blade starring Wesley Snipes,[citation needed] xXx starring Vin Diesel,[citation needed] and Lara Croft: Tomb Raider starring Angelina Jolie.[citation needed]

One of his best known fantasy novels is The Rover (2001), which in 2002 won the Alex Award, an American Library Association award given to novels written for adults that would also appeal to young readers (see the link below). Three sequels have appeared since then: Destruction of the Books (2004), Lord of the Libraries (2005), and The Quest for the Trilogy (2007). These stories are high fantasy in the tradition of J. R. R. Tolkien and The Lord of the Rings.[citation needed]

In 2003, he published Apocalypse Dawn, a military spin-off of the enormously popular Left Behind Series; Odom's book made the Christian bestseller list.[citation needed]

Odom also writes DVD/HD DVD/Blu-ray reviews for AVRev.com.[citation needed]

He is known to have written under several pen names, among others Jordan Gray.[3] Additionally, under the pseudonym of Don Pendleton, Odom has written several Mack Bolan novels, an action-adventure series.

Personal life[edit]

He lives in Moore, Oklahoma, with his wife and five children.[2] By 1998, he had begun playing an AD&D Forgotten Realms campaign with the two oldest.[1]

Bibliography[edit]

Mack Bolan novels

(under pen name Don Pendleton)

  • War Born (1989)
  • Storm Trilogy
    • Storm Warning (1992)
    • Eye of the Storm (1992)
    • Storm Burst (1992)
  • Crimson Tide (2002)
  • The Moon Shadow Trilogy
    • Nuclear Game (2003)
    • Deadly Pursuit (2003)
    • Final Play (2003)
Shadowrun novels
F.R.E.E.Lancers novels from Top Secret (role-playing game)
The Secret World of Alex Mack novel
  • In Hot Pursuit (1998)
Sabrina, the Teenage Witch novels
  • Harvest Moon (1998)
  • Sabrina Goes to Rome (1998)
  • I'll Zap Manhattan (1999)
  • Mummy Dearest (2000)
  • Pirate Pandemonium (2001)
  • Dream Boat (2001)
  • Tiger Tale (2002)
Buffyverse stories
Might and Magic novel
  • The Sea of Mist (2001)
The Rover series
  • The Rover (2001)
  • Destruction of the Books (2004)
  • Lord of the Libraries (2005)
  • The Quest for the Trilogy (2007)
Diablo novel
  • The Black Road (2002)
Left Behind: Military series
  • Apocalypse Dawn (2003)
  • Apocalypse Crucible (2004)
  • Apocalypse Burning (2004)
  • Apocalypse Unleashed (2008)
NCIS novels
  • Paid in Blood (2006)
  • Blood Evidence (2007)
  • Blood Lines (2008)
Identity Trilogy
  • Android: Golem (2011)
  • Android: Mimic (2012)
  • Android: Rebel (2014)
Hunter's League series
  • A Conspiracy Revealed (2005)
  • The Mystery Unravels (2005)
  • The Secret Explodes (2005)
  • His Legacy Avenged (2006)
Rogue Angel series

(under pen name Alex Archer)

  • Destiny (2006)
  • The Spider Stone (2006)
  • Forbidden City (2006)
  • God of Thunder (2007)
  • Serpent's Kiss (2008)
Hellgate: London novel
  • Exodus (2007)
  • Goetia (2008)
  • Covenant (2008)
Forgotten Realms novels and anthologies
  • The Lost Library of Cormanthyr (1998)
  • Rising Tide (1999)
  • Under Fallen Stars (1999)
  • Realms of the Deep (2000)
  • The Sea Devil's Eye (2000)
  • The Jewel of Turmish (2002)
  • Realms of War (2008)
A Blackpool Mystery series (based on bestselling game series Mystery Case Files)

(under pen name Jordan Gray)

  • Stolen (2010)
  • Vanished (2010)
  • Submerged (2011)
  • Unearthed (2011)
Other novels
  • Stalker Analog (1993)
  • Lethal Interface (1993)
  • Hunters of the Dark Sea (2003)

References[edit]

  1. ^ a b c d e Kenson, Stephen (January 1999). "Profiles: Mel Odom". Dragon (Renton, Washington: Wizards of the Coast) (#255): 120. 
  2. ^ a b "Mel Odom". Archived from the original on Feb 24, 2009. 
  3. ^ "Adventures in Writing: STOLEN by Jordan Gray". August 2010. 

External links[edit]