Mythopoeic Awards

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
  (Redirected from Mythopoeic Award)
Jump to: navigation, search

The Mythopoeic Awards for literature and literary studies are given by the Mythopoeic Society to authors of outstanding works in the fields of myth, fantasy, and the scholarly study of these areas.[1]

From 1971 to 1991 there were two awards, annual but not always awarded before 1981, recognizing Fantasy and Scholarship (Inklings Studies). Dual awards in each category were established in 1992: Fantasy Awards for Adult Literature and Children's Literature; Scholarship Awards in Inklings Studies and Myth and Fantasy Studies.[2] In 2010 a Student Paper Award was introduced.[3]

The 2013 finalists were announced in May and the awards were announced at the annual conference, July 12–15.[4]

Mythopoeic Fantasy Awards[edit]

The Fantasy Awards recognize single-author fantasy that "best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings”".[1] Dual awards for Adult and Children's Literature replaced a single award in 1992 and they have been combined once since then (1997). The Mythopoeic Society publishes a record of all finalists; from 1992 there are three to five books on each final ballot.[5]

An eligible book is a "novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection" published during the preceding three years, although it may appear on the final ballot only once — a multi-volume novel when its last volume is published.[1]

Several authors have won at least two Fantasy Awards (below).[2]

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature[edit]

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature[edit]

Children's Literature is "books for younger readers (from “Young Adults” to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia." Books are allocated to one of the two categories by consensus.[1]

Mythopoeic Scholarship Awards[edit]

There are dual Mythopoeic Scholarship Awards since 1992 (and a Student Paper Award, not covered here, since 2010).[2][3] The Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies dates from 1971, in effect, if its name was expanded in 1992.

Scholarly works have three years to win the award once and may be on the final ballot three times.[1]

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies[edit]

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies[edit]

  • 1992 - The Victorian Fantasists, edited by Kath Filmer
  • 1993 - Strategies of Fantasy by Brian Attebery
  • 1994 - Twentieth-Century Fantasists, edited by Kath Filmer
  • 1995 - Old Tales and New Truths: Charting the Bright-Shadow World by James Roy King
  • 1996 - From the Beast to the Blonde by Marina Warner
  • 1997 - When Toys Come Alive by Lois Rostrow Kuznets
  • 1998 - The Encyclopedia of Fantasy, edited by John Clute and John Grant
  • 1999 - A Century of Welsh Myth in Children's Literature by Donna R. White
  • 2000 - Strange and Secret Peoples: Fairies and Victorian Consciousness by Carole G. Silver
  • 2001 - King Arthur in America by Alan Lupack and Barbara Tepa Lupack
  • 2002 - The Owl, the Raven & the Dove: The Religious Meaning of the Grimms' Magic Fairy Tales by G. Ronald Murphy
  • 2003 - Fairytale in the Ancient World by Graham Anderson
  • 2004 - The Myth of the American Superhero by John Shelton Lawrence and Robert Jewett
  • 2005 - Robin Hood: A Mythic Biography by Stephen Thomas Knight
  • 2006 - National Dreams: The Remaking of Fairy Tales in Nineteenth-Century England by Jennifer Schacker
  • 2007 - Gemstone of Paradise: The Holy Grail in Wolfram's Parzival by G. Ronald Murphy, S.J.
  • 2008 - The Shadow-Walkers: Jacob Grimm's Mythology of the Monstrous by Tom Shippey
  • 2009 - Four British Fantasists: Place and Culture in the Children's Fantasies of Penelope Lively, Alan Garner, Diana Wynne Jones, and Susan Cooper by Charles Butler
  • 2010 - One Earth, One People: The Mythopoeic Fantasy Series of Ursula K. Le Guin, Lloyd Alexander, Madeleine L'Engle and Orson Scott Card by Marek Oziewicz
  • 2011 - The Victorian Press and the Fairy Tale by Caroline Sumpter
  • 2012 - The Enchanted Screen by Jack Zipes
  • 2013 - Song of the Vikings: Snorri and the Making of Norse Myths by Nancy Marie Brown[6]

Winners of multiple awards[edit]

Several authors have won at least two Mythopoeic Fantasy Awards.

McKillip has been a finalist for one of the fantasy awards with 14 different books. Robin McKinley (once a winner) and Yolen have been finalists seven times; Gaiman and Jones six times.[5]

See also[edit]

References[edit]

  1. ^ a b c d e "Mythopoeic Awards: About the Awards". Mythopoeic Society. Retrieved 2012-01-04. 
  2. ^ a b c "Mythopoeic Awards: Winners". Mythopoeic Society. Retrieved 2012-05-03.
  3. ^ a b "Mythopoeic Awards: Alexei Kondratiev Award (Student Paper)". Mythopoeic Society. Retrieved 2012-05-03.
  4. ^ "2013 Mythopoeic Award Finalists". Locus Online: News. Locus Publications. Retrieved 2013-06-18.
  5. ^ a b "Mythopoeic Awards – Fantasy" (list of winners and finalists). Mythopoeic Society. Retrieved 2012-05-03.
  6. ^ a b c d "Mythopoeic Awards: 2013 Winners Announced". Mythopoeic Society. Retrieved 2013-06-15.

External links[edit]