Purnima

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
  (Redirected from Purnima (day))
Jump to: navigation, search
For other uses, see Purnima (disambiguation).
Kartik Poornima: November 28, 2012

Purnima (also called Poornima, Sanskrit: पूर्णिमा) is the Indo-Nepalese word for Full Moon. The day of Purnima is the day (Tithi) in each month in which the full moon occurs, and marks the division in each month between the two lunar fortnights (Paksha). The Shukla ("bright") Paksha is the fortnight before, and the Krishna ("dark") Paksha is the fortnight after, Purnima.

Purnima in 2015[edit]

Month Purnima Date (2015) Festivals
Paush 4 January (Sunday) Shakambhari Purnima
Magha 3 February (Tuesday)
Phalguna 5 March (Thursday) Holi
Chaitra 4 April (Saturday) Hanuman Jayanti
Vaishakha 4 May (Monday) Buddha Purnima
Jyeshtha 2 June (Tuesday) Vat Purnima
Ashadha 1 July (Wednesday)
Ashadha 31 July (Friday) Guru Purnima
Shravana 29 August (Saturday) Raksha Bandhan, Hayagriva Jayanti
Bhadrapada 27 September (Sunday) Madhu Purnima
Ashwin 27 October (Tuesday) Sharad Purnima
Kartik 25 November (Wednesday) Kartik Poornima
Margashirsha 25 December (Friday) Dattātreya Jayanti

Festivals[edit]

The following festivals occur on Purnima.

References[edit]

External links[edit]