Tahinopita

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Tahinopita
Tahinopita.JPG
Vegan and gluten-free version of Tahinopita made with chemical leavening
Type Cake
Place of origin Greece, Turkey
Region or state Konya
Cookbook:Tahinopita  Tahinopita

Tahinopita (Turkish: Tahinli pide), is a Greek and Turkish cake which contains no dairy, eggs, or oil and is therefore considered acceptable for fasting in the Greek Orthodox Church.[1] Variations on the recipe include quickbread versions with chemical leaveners (such as baking soda or baking powder), yeasted versions, and phyllo layer versions.[2]

Tahini Pita is the specialty of Konya cuisine. It is on the market only during the holy month of Ramadan.[3]

In Cyprus, where the word pita is a generic word for either bread, cake or pastry, tahinopitta refers to a sweet bread roll (see tahini bread roll).

See also[edit]

Footnotes[edit]