Talk:Book review

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
WikiProject Libraries (Rated Start-class, Low-importance)
WikiProject icon This article is within the scope of WikiProject Libraries, a collaborative effort to improve the coverage of Libraries on Wikipedia. If you would like to participate, please visit the project page, where you can join the discussion and see a list of open tasks.
Start-Class article Start  This article has been rated as Start-Class on the project's quality scale.
 Low  This article has been rated as Low-importance on the project's importance scale.
 
WikiProject Books (Rated Start-class)
WikiProject icon This article is within the scope of WikiProject Books. To participate in the project, please visit its page, where you can join the project and discuss matters related to book articles. To use this banner, please refer to the documentation. To improve this article, please refer to the relevant guideline for the type of work.
Start-Class article Start  This article has been rated as Start-Class on the project's quality scale.
 

Blogs[edit]

Why are there book review blogs? They do not meet up with WP:EL, WP:RS, so I'm removing them. WLU 17:05, 13 March 2007 (UTC)

Deletions[edit]

I have deleted the following statements as unjustified:

"Unlike in the reference book, accuracy is not of crucial importance. An inaccurate number or word here and there is not crucial as long as the message gets through."

Not so: a figure or statement given in an introductory text is more likely to be misleading, because the reader will have no basis for comparison.

"A new textbook might be good based on its own evident merits; however, if it is not as good as existing texts, it is useless."

Nonsense. It may be cheaper, easier to obtain, or any number of other things. Paul Magnussen (talk) 16:49, 22 June 2008 (UTC)

Similarity among reviews[edit]

A book I read recently mentioned how reviews of a publication tend to not be independent and instead have clustered opinions, as if the reviewers were picking up each others ideas and restating them. This could probably use some mention in the article. --AB (talk) 19:32, 16 September 2008 (UTC)

Not English[edit]

To put it bluntly, this goes beyond the point of typographical errors and is simply not English. From just the "General" section:

"The determination of the book review is to communicate to the reader's mind the ideas and sensations the book reviewer experienced while researching the content, in this way explaining the reader what exact meaning the author presumed to transmit, or what did the reviewer experienced while during the reading."

"Making book review implies some special skills, as well as obliges with some precise responsibilities."

"While some aspects are less meaningful, others are have to be marked out as prerogative issues. The task is even more complicated as the writer could unintentionally imply the idea the reviewer of the book can notice."

"Then, the book reviewer has to decide upon authors points validity."

"The book review is also the expertise of the contents authenticity. By comparing the reviewed book to other materials in the given category the reviewer work implies potential danger for those writers, who admit plagiarism."

This article also seems like what you might call "original research" in that much of it is opinion and/or has no citations at all. —Preceding unsigned comment added by 74.162.152.32 (talk) 01:16, 10 July 2009 (UTC)

Book reviews are different from book reports[edit]

I don't think this topic Book Review should be merged with Book Report. They're different. A book review is generally much shorter than a book report, and book reviews should be more critical than book reports.

In my school, a book review should be done by someone in authority, say, an expert in the field while a book report is an academic exercise given to students.

When I ask my students to do a book report, they are instructed to give the title, author, publisher, publication date, etc., etc., and discuss or describe the contents of the book in several pages; whereas when I do a book review, I don't go over one page and I only focus on critiquing the contents of the book.


FadulJA (talk) 02:25, 24 September 2009 (UTC)

Don't merge. A book review is generally a piece written for a magazine, newspaper or other similar publication to help readers determine whether or not they should read the book in question. A book report is a kind of academic project typically assigned to grade schoolers and are generally written to prove that the student has read and comprehended the book to the teacher's satisfaction. One is a published criticism, the other is is an academic endeavor. -74.73.22.230 (talk) 02:46, 12 August 2011 (UTC)

Essay removed[edit]

I removed a long, unsourced, POV essay on book reviews in this edit. A small amount of it looked like it could be sourced, but most of it was Original research, with big dollops of opinion. The only source in it was a link to a funny piece about book reviews on YouTube. Anyone who cares to source what was removed is welcome to restore what they can of it. Lone boatman (talk) 15:19, 17 August 2012 (UTC)