Talk:Bumps race

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
          This article is of interest to the following WikiProjects:
WikiProject Rowing (Rated C-class)
WikiProject icon This article is within the scope of WikiProject Rowing, a collaborative effort to improve the coverage of rowing on Wikipedia. If you would like to participate, please visit the project page, where you can join the discussion and see a list of open tasks.
C-Class article C  This article has been rated as C-Class on the project's quality scale.
 
WikiProject University of Oxford (Rated C-class, Low-importance)
WikiProject icon This article is within the scope of WikiProject University of Oxford, a collaborative effort to improve the coverage of the University of Oxford on Wikipedia. If you would like to participate, please visit the project page, where you can join the discussion and see a list of open tasks.
C-Class article C  This article has been rated as C-Class on the project's quality scale.
Checklist icon
 Low  This article has been rated as Low-importance on the project's importance scale.
 
WikiProject University of Cambridge (Rated C-class)
WikiProject icon This article is within the scope of the University of Cambridge Wikiproject, an attempt to improve articles relating to the University of Cambridge, and to standardize and extend the coverage of the University in the encyclopedia. If you would like to participate, you can help us by editing the article attached to this notice, or you could visit the project page, where you can join the project, learn more about it, see what needs to be done, or contribute to the discussion.
C-Class article C  This article has been rated as C-Class on the project's quality scale.
 

Not Quite Right[edit]

"but an outright collision is neither necessary nor encouraged — the cox of the boat being bumped can concede as soon as slight physical contact occurs or even once it is inevitable."

Whilst this is true most of the time, once you get to a certain stage in Cambridge bumps (onto 'the reach' I think) you can't concede a bump before contact is made.

If no one objects I'll change it to something suggesting this is usually the case. TomGibb (talk) 15:45, 21 March 2008 (UTC)

At Oxford (at least in the late 1980s!) there's no such rule. However, a bump is awarded if the chasing boat rows clean past the boat ahead (how, in practice, this works without the bumped boat conceding I don't know). TrulyBlue (talk) 17:41, 21 March 2008 (UTC)
Having done umpiring at Cambridge in recent times, I can definitely confirm that a cox can conceed at any point during the race, and that will count as a bump, even if there's clear water between the two crews. Most coxes do not conceed before contact once on the Long Reach, because it's usually entirely possible to escape, even if there is significant overlap of anything up to half a length. I have seen crews conceed 'early', even late on in the race, when a crew member has gotten into difficulty, e.g. caught a boat-stopping crab, with a chasing crew half a length away. In a couple of occasions, the cox of the crew has been publicly praised for avoiding a potentially dangerous situation, and sometimes given a monetary credit as well. Richard B (talk) 21:29, 23 March 2008 (UTC)

Fair enough. I always thought it was as Richard B described it anyway until my cox told our crew that for the last set of bumps(2008 lents)he was told at the coxes' meeting he couldn't conceed on the reach. As no-one else has heard of it, and it always seemed a bit strange anyway he must have got it wrong. ThanksTomGibb (talk) 15:17, 26 March 2008 (UTC)