Talk:Climate change opinion by country

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
          This article is of interest to the following WikiProjects:
WikiProject Environment / Climate change  (Rated B-class)
WikiProject icon This environment-related article is part of the WikiProject Environment to improve Wikipedia's coverage of the environment. The aim is to write neutral and well-referenced articles on environment-related topics, as well as to ensure that environment articles are properly categorized.
Read Wikipedia:Contributing FAQ and leave any messages at the project talk page.
B-Class article B  This article has been rated as B-Class on the project's quality scale.
 ???  This article has not yet received a rating on the project's importance scale.
Taskforce icon
This article is supported by the Climate change task force.
 
WikiProject Politics (Rated C-class, Low-importance)
WikiProject icon This article is within the scope of WikiProject Politics, a collaborative effort to improve the coverage of politics on Wikipedia. If you would like to participate, please visit the project page, where you can join the discussion and see a list of open tasks.
C-Class article C  This article has been rated as C-Class on the project's quality scale.
 Low  This article has been rated as Low-importance on the project's importance scale.
 

A little too nice to Gallup[edit]

The article feels like it's being too nice to Gallup. However, they are one of very few organizations that keep numbers on climate change opinion worldwide, and they're usually very objective, which is an added plus. There are, of course, surveys such as the Eurobarometer that measure opinions in specific regions. There are also surveys, such as GlobeScane or even the World Bank that sample a number of countries (usually one from each continent) in order to give a world-wide view. But they each ask different questions, not all of them are objective (World bank seems a little dubious), and most miss countries in Africa and Oceania—which makes it difficult to compare results reliably or to generalize results to opinions world-wide. ChyranandChloe (talk) 02:42, 19 January 2010 (UTC)

Should countries be updated as newer polls are released?[edit]

2007-08 is a long time ago. Take for example, a 2010 BBC poll that finds that 75% of people believe global warming exists and 41% believe it's due to human activity. It seems to me that the table on this page needs updating as new polls are released; there's no reason that all countries need to be sourced together. Oren0 (talk) 20:26, 6 February 2010 (UTC)

If they're not sourced together, it's hard to reliably compare them. This is what the table's for. Difference in wording and methods can contribute to difference in results. Better to describe the BBC separately, perhaps in Climate change in the United Kingdom. Data's old already? Gallup is still polling. They actually have data on over 167 countries (article shows only 128), add it in the next report. I'd wait. ChyranandChloe (talk) 22:22, 6 February 2010 (UTC)
Gallup came out with a new poll though I'm not sure if it was US only or global. Something to look up. TMLutas (talk) 18:15, 13 March 2010 (UTC)
It's US, belongs in Public opinion on climate change, the main article. Added it in.[1] ChyranandChloe (talk) 02:36, 14 March 2010 (UTC)

Taking charge. The answer is yes. Polling is scientifically-based and assessed in the political-science literature. We'll be working that out if necessary (near-term).71.175.121.200 (talk) 00:58, 8 September 2010 (UTC)

See below. 155.99.230.57 (talk) 07:58, 25 September 2010 (UTC)

The Article Will Be Part Of International Economics and Sociology Project[edit]

The heading is a little overblown, since every article is. At any rate, if I can get new data have it released to me, you'll get proper sourcing. I do think it should be on a constant update, however that is done, but I don't think--I don't know--to what extent wikipedia is allowing people with such to act at present. I've made a formal Gallup Organization request, and other organizations can be certified. At the very present, I'm not certain if I may read my own e-mail. Shared household with one phone.Julzes (talk) 01:09, 8 September 2010 (UTC)

Gallup actually sells data to news organizations. You can view their publicly available data here (although you'll need to register), which should be constantly updated. Last I checked there was data on at least 162 countries (the article has about 128). Note that the 128 have error bounds below ±6% with 95% confidence, the others may come with greater caveats that may render it less useful. You can transfer it over if you like, but it would be rather tedious, and in my opinion it would be wiser just to wait until the next major report where all the countries are listed in a neat tabular format like so. The last one was released in December last year,[2] which isn't that long ago considering that it took a year to get the data and another analyze and refine it before it was released.

New organizations conduct frequent polls, but a word of caution. Often only a few countries are surveyed, but the report generalizes their findings to the entire continent and region, which is difficult to justify. Like news organizations the World bank has also released a report, but it isn't comprehensive, and it can't be accurately generalized worldwide. As the anonymous user said above, "scientifically-based and assessed in the political-science literature" would be best, but because the cost of surveying one-hundred-ninety countries is (very) expensive, it is rarely done. To my knowledge there's an article from the Harvard review, but it's already used. 155.99.230.57 (talk) 07:58, 25 September 2010 (UTC)

Pew polls on this question every year[edit]

For some reason, I have a better opinion of Pew's global research. It seems that every year they ask the same question of quite a lot of countries: "On another topic, in your view, is global warming a very serious problem, somewhat serious, not too serious, or not a problem?" (http://pewresearch.org/pubs/1427/global-warming-major-problem-around-world-americans-less-concerned) If I had time, I'd rewrite this article substantially. — Preceding unsigned comment added by Mcdruid (talkcontribs) 11:17, 25 December 2010 (UTC)

Yes, but the problem with Pew's global research only surveys 23 to 25 countries, which is not representative. --Tony 05:49, 14 December 2011 (UTC)

?127 not 128 countries[edit]

Cited reference "Awareness, Opinions About Global Warming Vary Worldwide" says 127 countries polled not 128. Peaceandlonglife (talk) 12:03, 26 September 2011 (UTC)

It's coming from "Top-Emitting Countries Differ on Climate Change Threat", "[...] asking respondents in 128 countries about their awareness of the issue [...]" --Tony 05:49, 14 December 2011 (UTC)

Add[edit]

{tl|{outdated}} 99.181.137.3 (talk) 04:13, 23 April 2012 (UTC)

Why? New polls can be added, but do not invalidate the old ones. — Arthur Rubin (talk) 07:31, 23 April 2012 (UTC)
Outdated doesn't not mean the old are "invalid" of course, but it does mean the article is not up-to-date. 99.181.142.150 (talk) 04:59, 24 April 2012 (UTC)
The article is up-to-date. Additional information can always be added to any article. — Arthur Rubin (talk) 06:55, 24 April 2012 (UTC)