Talk:Connected pawns

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
WikiProject Chess (Rated Start-class, Mid-importance)
WikiProject icon This article is within the scope of WikiProject Chess, a collaborative effort to improve the coverage of Chess on Wikipedia. If you would like to participate, please visit the project page, where you can join the discussion and see a list of open tasks.
Start-Class article Start  This article has been rated as Start-Class on the project's quality scale.
 Mid  This article has been rated as Mid-importance on the project's importance scale.
 

References were requested for this article. I added two, but they don't say much about the subject. Perhaps someone can provide a better reference. Bubba73 (talk), 00:18, 3 December 2006 (UTC)

Another name for connected pawns?[edit]

I've also seen connected pawns referred to as hanging pawns. Perhaps there should be a redirect? —Preceding unsigned comment added by 98.14.10.36 (talk) 02:17, 29 November 2008 (UTC)

Hanging pawns are a little different. According to The Mammouth book of Chess, hanging pawns are two connected pawns that stand next to each other, without pawns on the left or right. Often on c4 and d4, for instance. Bubba73 (talk), 02:36, 29 November 2008 (UTC)
See Glossary of chess#Hanging pawns. Bubba73 (talk), 02:38, 29 November 2008 (UTC)
Redirect to Glossary added. Bubba73 (talk), 02:44, 29 November 2008 (UTC)
Oh, I see. Glad the redirect was added. 98.14.10.36 (talk) 03:27, 30 November 2008 (UTC)

Question from layperson; distance?[edit]

Are pawns still connected when they are not directly or diagonally adjacent? e.g. one on a2 and one on b5? -- 12:51, 14 September 2010 (UTC) —Preceding unsigned comment added by 77.7.145.77 (talk)

Good question. The Oxford Companion to Chess says that a pawn is connected if it can guard or be guarded by a pawn on an adjacent file. So in this case I think it depends on if the pawn on a2 can move. If it is blocked by a black pawn on a3 or a4, I would say that it is not connected. If it is not blocked, then it can guard the pawn on b5 by one move to a4, so I would consider it connected in that case. Bubba73 (You talkin' to me?), 15:14, 14 September 2010 (UTC)