Talk:Far Eastern Economic Review

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
          This article is of interest to the following WikiProjects:
WikiProject Magazines (Rated Start-class)
WikiProject icon This article is within the scope of WikiProject Magazines, a collaborative effort to improve the coverage of magazines on Wikipedia. If you would like to participate, please visit the project page, where you can join the discussion and see a list of open tasks.
Start-Class article Start  This article has been rated as Start-Class on the project's quality scale.
 ???  This article has not yet received a rating on the project's importance scale.
 
See WikiProject Magazines' writing guide for tips on how to improve this article.
WikiProject Hong Kong (Rated Start-class, Low-importance)
WikiProject icon This article is within the scope of WikiProject Hong Kong, a project to coordinate efforts in improving all Hong Kong-related articles. If you would like to help improve this and other Hong Kong-related articles, you are invited to join this project.
Start-Class article Start  This article has been rated as Start-Class on the project's quality scale.
 Low  This article has been rated as Low-importance on the project's importance scale.
 
WikiProject Business (Rated Start-class, Low-importance)
WikiProject icon This article is within the scope of WikiProject Business, a collaborative effort to improve the coverage of business articles on Wikipedia. If you would like to participate, please visit the project page, where you can join the discussion and see a list of open tasks.
Start-Class article Start  This article has been rated as Start-Class on the project's quality scale.
 Low  This article has been rated as Low-importance on the project's importance scale.
 

Untitled[edit]

Um, shouldn't the fact that FEER was effectively closed down in 2004 be noted in the entry? How many people would even consider the new monthly 'FEER' to be the 'genuine article'? Bathrobe

Dunno, you seem to know a lot about what happened. How about making an edit or two? —thames 15:15, 18 Feb 2005 (UTC)

avoiding plagiarism[edit]

hey jmsc ppl, i think the best way to avoid plagiarism, is to make a habit of leaving behind your sources here in the discussion page for others to double check, afterall it's the whole group's responsibilty to ensure no one plagiarises intentionally or accidentally. 0101CHUNGjhk 15:59, 8 October 2005 (UTC) 0101CHUNGjhk


Far Eastern Economic Review Group Members


  • The photos should not distract from the text. Need to place them better.
  • Section on History of Far Eastern Economic Review (modified and simplified from articles "Telling Asia’s Story" By L. Gordon Crovitz, senior vice president at Dow Jones, editor and publisher of the REVIEW from 1992 to 1996.) This section should just be an external link or reference. DO NOT copy and paste entire article onto the wiki – even if its been shortened, it is still plagiarism.
  • The entry needs organizing for better presentation.
  • More comments see WebCT discussion section 0101TA 15:52, 14 October 2005 (UTC)

0101CHANyc - Clarification to 0101TA[edit]

Dear 0101TA,

i am 0101CHANyc, the student who write the part:

History of Far Eastern Economic Review (modified and simplified from articles "Telling Asia’s Story" By L. Gordon Crovitz, senior vice president at Dow Jones, editor and publisher of the REVIEW from 1992 to 1996.)

indeed i haven't intended to copy or plagiarize the original passage. if you could compare the original one with mine, you can see i do digest the whole passage and write the whole part in my own words.

my version is not a shortened version, but a modified version of the original. by my own wording and understanding of the original, i attempt my best to make the passage shorter and easier to read with all relevant facts and ideas particularly suiting the purpose of the title "History".

i have addressed the source of my idea of this writing in order to, first, avoid any confusion of plagiarism; second, assure the readers of the creditability of my ideas (as the ideas are from the authority)

However i should appologize for giving any impression or confusion to you for plagiarism, right now i will add an external link on top of my passage to give a clear way for the reader to seek my source. or Dear Sir or Madame, do you think i should delete my whole passage? please kindly give me some advice.

i am now afraid of any degrade which i will receive, for i have plargiarized something? in fact i work very work to digest and rewrite the passage for the only purpose to contribute to our page.

Re: 0101CHANyc - Clarification to 0101TA - History of Far Eastern Economic Review[edit]

Please don't copy the entire article to the wikipedia.

Just link it at the end of the page.


0101CHANyc - Second Clarification to 0101TA, Please kindly read it[edit]

Dear 0101TA, i am sorry to have caused confusion, However i really HAVEN"T COPIED ANYTHING from the website, the article here is entirely written and edited by me with very much DIFFERENCE from the original article, which does not suit the purpose of "History".


the passage i have written here is refined and specially designed for the purpose of "History" WITHOUT any straight copying from web, since my own version DOES NOT exist in the web outside Wiki. please kindly compare the two.


i know your kind advice is to prevent us to commit plagiarism, however i really HAVEN'T and i ONLY acquire and REFINE (not copy) the information from the official web, which EVERYBODY SHOULD BE DOING THE SAME because that is the only way we can get and ENSURE our information and ideas for our entries and data to be accurate, therefore everybody uses the official info, BUT I HAVE ALREADY, to prevent plagiarism,

1) READ the passage THOROGHLY and ONLY GET THE RELEVANT INFO

2) APPLY the RELEVANT INFO and write my passage IN MY OWN WORDS

3) ADDRESSED THE SOURCE of my REVISED version at the begining of my passage


Indeed if i have copied anything i will delete it without insisting, Sir, but would you kindly understand my feeling, i really haven't copied anything, i am just doing the same thing my classmates do, to use the info in your own words and address the source.


my passage is long but it doesn't necessarily mean that it is a copy, it is long because i really work on it hard and enjoy doing so.


Sir, sorry for any confusion i caused, but please kindly consider and examine my case and inform me whether i have committed plagiarism. IF I HAVE, I WILL BE WILLING TO REMOVE MY PASSAGE, for the whole page and for my whole group.


The reason i give out my passage is not for impressing the marker by the Quantity of my entries but instead, and most importantly i truly wish to make, by giving them accurate and detailed information, a profound Wiki page that helps people to understand FEER, i can assure that my entries will never be a duplicate from the original which serves only as a propaganda of the original source.

History Section of FEER[edit]

Dear FEER groupmates, Don't get stuck on what is or is not plagiarism. What your entry needs right now is editing. Trim each of your sections so that it is accurate, concise and of neutral point of view -- avoid phrases like "premier magazine report" or "Review acquires the “Thought leadership" and earns its reputable influence throughout Asia" -- according to whom? Many of your sections can be combined (for example, Inaugurator and History section, some should be reorganized, for example, Influence section should go before Editorial team. I would suggest you STOP adding to the entry and only edit.

Note on plagiarism -- copying whole sentences like "Politics and economics being connatural, it will be inevitable that this publication may at times appear to transgress its primary objective by reporting on, and dealing with, political affairs" even if you refer to the original passage is both redundant and unnecessary, unless you think it is something that should be quoted. The languagee sounds out of place. Can anyone tell me what "connatural" mean?

According to the FEER fact sheet, it says they have 20,000 subscription copies, yet your entry also says the circulation is roughly 100,000. Which one is it? You may need to carefully distinguish what facts belong to FEER when it was a weekly magazine to a monthly magazine. 0101TA 11:04, 18 October 2005 (UTC)


To 0101CHANyc[edit]

REMEMBER PLZ DON'T COMMIT IT AGAIN

Ownership[edit]

Was FEER previously owned by the HongkongBank? — Instantnood 22:46, 26 February 2006 (UTC)

This article [1] seems to suggest so. — Instantnood 22:07, 8 October 2006 (UTC)

Singapore ban[edit]

Is the feer.com website banned in Singapore too? — Instantnood 22:04, 8 October 2006 (UTC)

What do you imagine Singapore to be? A mini PRC?--Huaiwei 12:08, 9 October 2006 (UTC)
Far Eastern Economic Review (the actual magazine) and feer.com aren't banned in mainland China, are they? — Instantnood 18:26, 10 October 2006 (UTC)
You obviously didnt get what I was saying...as usual. :D--Huaiwei 23:21, 10 October 2006 (UTC)
Am I asking about Singapore or the PRC? — Instantnood 20:38, 14 October 2006 (UTC)
You honestly have acute English comprehension issues, so I arent sure if that question needs an answer? ;)--Huaiwei 09:26, 15 October 2006 (UTC)
Is feer.com accessible in Singapore? Yes or no? — Instantnood 20:46, 20 October 2006 (UTC)
Yes, feer.com is accessible in Singapore.--M3rrick 13:53, 29 October 2006 (UTC)
Thanks. — Instantnood 11:08, 5 November 2006 (UTC)

Removal of POV[edit]

This sentence tried to indirectly add a point of view to this article:

Just a day earlier, PM Lee had called for "responsible journalism" in his speech at the 7th Asian-European Editors' Forum [2].

The reference does not mention the FEER and it can therefore only be assumed that PM Lee was referring to the journal. If we were to leave the article unchanged it would suggest the FEER article was "unresponsible" which is a POV. It needs to be said that Hugo Restall rejects this accusation. However, I am also open to deleting the whole sentence because, like I said, PM Lee does not mention the FEER. --Ghormax 13:13, 12 October 2006 (UTC)

I was the one who added that sentence. I added it without the intention to introduce POV, but to point out the fact that coincidentally, the PM chose to highlight "responsible journalism" in a forum just as the issue was beginning to rumble. I added this to indicate the sg govt's current stand, which is not neccesarily a stand of mine.--Huaiwei 13:26, 12 October 2006 (UTC)

I added a POV template to the "Criticism of Dow Jones" section. Although this is a criticism section, it is heavily biased, and not objective. This can probably be resolved by proper citation of the sources, and presenting quotes as such. I corrected one improper citation that looked like a POV statement, but was actually a poorly sourced paraphrase; by making it a proper quotation, it became more objective. I don't have the time to do more, but perhaps that technique could resolve the POV issues. -- Chituokol1 (talk) 13:56, 29 July 2011 (UTC)

Fair use rationale for Image:Feerlogo.gif[edit]

Nuvola apps important.svg

Image:Feerlogo.gif is being used on this article. I notice the image page specifies that the image is being used under fair use but there is no explanation or rationale as to why its use in Wikipedia articles constitutes fair use. In addition to the boilerplate fair use template, you must also write out on the image description page a specific explanation or rationale for why using this image in each article is consistent with fair use.

Please go to the image description page and edit it to include a fair use rationale. Using one of the templates at Wikipedia:Fair use rationale guideline is an easy way to insure that your image is in compliance with Wikipedia policy, but remember that you must complete the template. Do not simply insert a blank template on an image page.

If there is other other fair use media, consider checking that you have specified the fair use rationale on the other images used on this page. Note that any fair use images uploaded after 4 May, 2006, and lacking such an explanation will be deleted one week after they have been uploaded, as described on criteria for speedy deletion. If you have any questions please ask them at the Media copyright questions page. Thank you.BetacommandBot 07:36, 4 June 2007 (UTC)

Fair use rationale for Image:Colum-1-.jpg[edit]

Nuvola apps important.svg

Image:Colum-1-.jpg is being used on this article. I notice the image page specifies that the image is being used under fair use but there is no explanation or rationale as to why its use in this Wikipedia article constitutes fair use. In addition to the boilerplate fair use template, you must also write out on the image description page a specific explanation or rationale for why using this image in each article is consistent with fair use.

Please go to the image description page and edit it to include a fair use rationale. Using one of the templates at Wikipedia:Fair use rationale guideline is an easy way to insure that your image is in compliance with Wikipedia policy, but remember that you must complete the template. Do not simply insert a blank template on an image page.

If there is other fair use media, consider checking that you have specified the fair use rationale on the other images used on this page. Note that any fair use images uploaded after 4 May, 2006, and lacking such an explanation will be deleted one week after they have been uploaded, as described on criteria for speedy deletion. If you have any questions please ask them at the Media copyright questions page. Thank you.

BetacommandBot 02:39, 6 September 2007 (UTC)

boots SC —Preceding unsigned comment added by 67.180.160.201 (talk) 03:40, 8 December 2008 (UTC)