Talk:Land reclamation

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
WikiProject Soil (Rated Start-class, Low-importance)
WikiProject icon Land reclamation is within the scope of Soil WikiProject, which collaborates on Soil and related articles on Wikipedia. If you would like to participate, you can choose to edit this article, or visit the project page for more information.
Start-Class article Start  This article has been rated as Start-Class on the project's quality scale.
 Low  This article has been rated as Low-importance on the project's importance scale.
 

The Virgin Lands Campaign does not fit the definition of land reclamation as I understand it. They were claiming and using new land, not reclaiming land that was previously damaged.

In fact, the Virgin Lands Campaign article specifically states that the campaign destroyed the land through overuse and erosion. Land reclamation would've been required afterward to make the land useable again. Isomorphic 14:36, 9 Jul 2004 (UTC)

Actually, I think the term "land reclamation" applies both to massive earth-changing agricultural projects, including those that actually harm the land, and to environmentally restorative work. This article needs some serious work and expansion.--Pharos 08:51, 13 Apr 2005 (UTC)

Note the date on my comment above. The current article does explain both meanings, although it doesn't go very much into depth on either one. Expansion would be quite welcome. Isomorphic 21:28, 13 Apr 2005 (UTC)

land reclamation diagrams[edit]

It would be nice if we could have some experts who could create diagrams with the step by step process on how land is reclaimed on water. A good example would be the Osaka Kansai airport, HK Airport, Changi Airport or even lower Manhattan.

cheers

--Visik 07:16, 24 August 2006 (UTC)

Beach Rebuilding[edit]

The above article, in itself, is far too small to even be considered worth mentioning on its own. It would be very beneficial to the article on Land Reclamation for this article to be merged with it. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to realize the similarities between the two, as they both involve the artificial creation of land for the benefit of humans. They are simply too closely related to be considered seperate articles.

Agreed.

>Styletto<

Styletto (talk) 02:37, 17 August 2008 (UTC)

A better Reclamation Page[edit]

I think the comments on this page are great.

I think the first thing is: "reclamation" needs is a better general page rather than going stratight into water reclamation. This could then be given its own page like "land reclamation". The general page could then introduce the fact that reclamation can harm (in a view point) the environment as well as benifit it. A good example of this comes from Peat Bog and wetland drainage for agriculture, or from coastal reclamation to use for sea defence, agriculture again or even building (as suggested as part of article), and compare with the more modern though on managed retreat to re-reclaim the coastal areas for salt marshes (or mangrove swamp etc in other parts of the world - i'm in the UK) and is thought of as a more effective coastal defence geomorphically.

For a UK perspective there are plenty of legislative definitions and good references to put in for general meanings, and "Land Reclamation". I'm new to not just simply reading the entries to Wikipedia so maybe i'll get on that task somehow in a bit.

Also the inclusion of the beach section should fit nicley with more about coastal reclamation. I have to admit, i havn't yet looked for info on coastal defence and similar articles.

Kipple2020 12:13, 7 December 2006 (UTC)

reclamation of desertland?[edit]

Have the Chinese (Communists)reclaimed land from the deserts of some of the PRC's border regions like Inner Mongolia and Xinjiang? If so, then the page on land reclamation should include this type of land reclamation also in the definition.

In response to Desert Reclamation[edit]

Yes, there have been numerous projects in Northern China to 'reclaim' desert lands by simply irrigating them. There is also a project in Egypt, the Toshka Canal, which will be a man-made river flowing from Lake Nasser into the western deserts. I believe Libya also once had a similar project.

New orleans[edit]

"New orleans is also built on reclaimed land below sea level." - I thought that New Orleans was originally above sea level and sank, rather then being reclained - does some one know for sure? GB 01:32, 7 June 2007 (UTC)

Rio de Janeiro[edit]

The city of Rio de Janeiro was largely built on reclaimed land. - this is not precise. Even though large areas of Rio are in reclaimed land, these are, for the most part, parks and beaches: they are the Aterro do Flamengo (taken from Guanabara Bay), Copacabana Beach (taken from the Atlantic Ocean) and areas around Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas. I think Ipanema is also reclaimed land, but it was a natural process that happened from 500 to 200 years ago. Albmont (talk) 19:55, 24 March 2008 (UTC)

Not quite true. Some very densely developed areas of the city were also built over reclaimed land for the last 500 years. Most of Centro, Gamboa and the area around the port for instance. Not to mention the huge reclamation of Fundão island and Tom Jobim International. —Preceding unsigned comment added by 189.4.192.17 (talk) 01:08, 1 September 2008 (UTC)

Proposed merge from Landfill (Land reclamation section)[edit]

What do you think? --Mistakefinder (talk) 13:09, 22 December 2009 (UTC)

Reclamation from desert[edit]

The definition and discussion should add Reclamation from desert? In the sense of reclaimnin land for agriculture.--Connection (talk) 21:01, 7 June 2011 (UTC)

Wetlands[edit]

Surely there should be some discussion of the duality between "reclamation" and "destruction" of wetlands. Groups such as Ducks Unlimited have been actively engaged in recreating former wetlands that had for decades (or longer) been drained for farming or other purposes. Because wetlands are preferred habitat for many wildlife species, they tend to play a large role in conservation efforts. It is not at all clear that continued use of the term "reclamation" for the practice of converting wetland to dry land is anything more than spin control. LeadSongDog come howl! 14:54, 22 July 2014 (UTC)