Talk:Magnetic particle inspection

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
WikiProject Engineering (Rated Start-class)
WikiProject icon This article is within the scope of WikiProject Engineering, a collaborative effort to improve the coverage of engineering on Wikipedia. If you would like to participate, please visit the project page, where you can join the discussion and see a list of open tasks.
Start-Class article Start  This article has been rated as Start-Class on the project's quality scale.
 ???  This article has not yet received a rating on the project's importance scale.
 
WikiProject Metalworking (Rated Start-class, Mid-importance)
WikiProject icon This article is within the scope of WikiProject Metalworking, a collaborative effort to improve the coverage of Metalworking on Wikipedia. If you would like to participate, please visit the project page, where you can join the discussion and see a list of open tasks.
Start-Class article Start  This article has been rated as Start-Class on the project's quality scale.
 Mid  This article has been rated as Mid-importance on the project's importance scale.
 

Untitled[edit]

I removed:

The flaw acts in the same way as a discontinuity in the path of the magnetic fluctuation caused to flow in the specimen in such a direction it crosses the main plane of the defect at right -angles, causing the flux to bend around the defect in an alternative direction in the material which surrounds it. This deformation of the flux is not limited to the immediate locality of the defect but extends, in a deteriorating degree, for a considerable distance around it, and out through the surface into thefix. RJFJR 05:09, Jan 12, 2005 (UTC)


Can someone clarify the differences between this method and magnetic flux leakage ?

--Lyncas 17:20, 26 October 2007 (UTC)


Completely redid the article and will continue to work on it adding references.

--Justin and more pictures also will work on some other articles relating to this material. —Preceding undated comment added 15:29, 2 March 2010 (UTC).

Removed External Link[edit]

--Justin 3/5/2010 I redid this page some time and left out external links to any of the Manufacturers of the MPI equipment and I think it should stay that way. There are 3 manufacturers in North/South America and 2 in Europe and dozen or so in China. It is not fair to other manufacturers unless all the companies are included in external links.


Merger proposal[edit]

I suggest magnaflux be merged into magnetic particle inspection. The article on magnaflux is mostly a brief description of magnetic particle inspection. The part about magnaflux itself is a very short description of the company which specializes in several nondestructive testing techniques. I have already added this to the external links section of magnetic particle inspection. I don't know if there are suggestions for other specific parts of the magnaflux article which may qualify for merger? Druzhnik (talk) 00:19, 8 February 2012 (UTC)


Justin 3/5/2012 The article Magnaflux should be merged into this article. the Magnaflux article should be deleted, point here or point to ITW who owns the company Magnaflux. Magnaflux(ing) the process was coined so the company (Magnaflux) trade name would be linked to the MPI process.

The process is called Magnetic Particle Inspection (MPI) the term Magnaflux the process is no longer used in technical articles or international standards. — Preceding unsigned comment added by 50.77.152.245 (talk) 22:00, 5 March 2012 (UTC)

Demage Section[edit]

--Justin 3/5/2012 Noticed the demag section had several technical errors, I have fixed them. I will need to come back and clean up my grammar latter. Or some else can clean it up. — Preceding unsigned comment added by 50.77.152.245 (talk) 22:53, 5 March 2012 (UTC)

I have tried to clean up the grammar Druzhnik (talk) 23:22, 13 March 2012 (UTC)

Waveform Section[edit]

Someone removed critical information. I redid it from my original article and expanded on it a bit HWDC will penetrate deeper into a part than FWDC at any given part. Read Carl Betz's book in the reference section. — Preceding unsigned comment added by 50.77.152.245 (talk) 23:11, 5 March 2012 (UTC)