Talk:Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
          This article is of interest to the following WikiProjects:
WikiProject Illinois (Rated Start-class, Low-importance)
WikiProject icon This article is within the scope of WikiProject Illinois, a collaborative effort to improve the coverage of Illinois on Wikipedia. If you would like to participate, please visit the project page, where you can join the discussion and see a list of open tasks.
Start-Class article Start  This article has been rated as Start-Class on the project's quality scale.
 Low  This article has been rated as Low-importance on the project's importance scale.
 
WikiProject Chicago (Rated C-class, High-importance)
WikiProject icon This article is within the scope of WikiProject Chicago, which aims to improve all articles or pages related to Chicago or the Chicago metropolitan area.
C-Class article C  This article has been rated as C-Class on the project's quality scale.
 High  This article has been rated as High-importance on the project's importance scale.
 
WikiProject Environment (Rated Stub-class)
WikiProject icon This environment-related article is part of the WikiProject Environment to improve Wikipedia's coverage of the environment. The aim is to write neutral and well-referenced articles on environment-related topics, as well as to ensure that environment articles are properly categorized.
Read Wikipedia:Contributing FAQ and leave any messages at the project talk page.
Stub-Class article Stub  This article has been rated as Stub-Class on the project's quality scale.
 ???  This article has not yet received a rating on the project's importance scale.
 

--Alex 13:49, 2 August 2006 (UTC)

Questions on naming?[edit]

From what I've been able to ascertain this special purpose district was originally called the "Chicago Sanitary District" before being renamed to the "Metropolitan Sanitary District of Greater Chicago" and finally the "Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago." But I'm unable to find sources for this beyond this CPL page[1]. Perhaps the main article can be updated to reflect this info? Mistergoodbar (talk) 21:50, 27 January 2008 (UTC)

  • Go ahead and correct it as you see fit. Speciate (talk) 07:51, 8 February 2008 (UTC)
    • You could find the public acts, passed by the Illinois General Assembly that made these naming changes (most likely simultaneously with many other changes.) I suspect that while the more recent might be available online, the older probably will not be (unless someone found them important enough to put there) which means that the content of those act(s) may need to be acquired and put into wikisource for reference. Squideshi (talk) 06:34, 15 January 2010 (UTC)

Growing Importance, Influence?[edit]

Would it be appropriate to include a section on the growing public and political interest in the MWRDGC?

In 2006 there was a hard fought insurgent campaign by Debra Shore which has generated a lot of interest in the District.

Here is a recent write up in The Reader about the growing interest.] Mistergoodbar (talk) 21:41, 7 March 2008 (UTC)

  • I think that would be very appropriate, especially considering that MWRDGC is the entity that operates the Sanitary and Ship Canal, as well as the locks and dam between it and Lake Michigan; and a hot story in the news right now seems to be that all the other lake states want this historic artificial link between the lake and Mississippi River basin to be severed (in order to prevent an infestation of Asian Carp from making their way into the great lakes, which would devastate the ecosystem.) It's my understanding that even President Obama has gotten involved as of late, siding with Illinois in keeping this link open (it's a vital economic shipping channel for a region that likes to consider itself a hub of transportation.) The other states, such as Michigan, are actually threatening to sue in federal court. Plenty of stories should come up on any news search. Squideshi (talk) 06:40, 15 January 2010 (UTC)

Flooding in Franklin Park[edit]

I live in Franklin Park And the deep tunnel is flooding area homes with in miles of the Desplaines river. Now insurance carriers are not renewing policies and others wont even look at these house to insure so now I think I am just going to walk away because the village says the department does not no what they are doing. So I thank you for ruining our chances of making it through this recession because now we are going to walk away and let the house go into forclosure my mortgage has been on time every month but now it is time to go. Thanks to the deep tunnel. —Preceding unsigned comment added by 76.203.5.220 (talk) 16:47, 23 November 2009 (UTC)

  • How is deep tunnel flooding homes? I'm not arguing with you; but having read how the tunnel works, I'm not sure I understand how this would be possible. The tunnel is deeper and larger than the regular wastewater system and is designed to prevent flooding and overflow. Squideshi (talk) 06:43, 15 January 2010 (UTC)