Timeline of the 1983 Atlantic hurricane season

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Track map of all storms during the season

The 1983 Atlantic hurricane season was the least active Atlantic hurricane season in 53 years, during which four tropical cyclones formed.[1] The season officially began on June 1, 1983 and ended on November 30, dates which conventionally limit the period of each year when tropical cyclones tend to form in the Atlantic. The first named storm, Hurricane Alicia, formed on August 15. The last storm of the season, Tropical Storm Dean, dissipated on September 30. This timeline documents tropical cyclone formations, strengthening, weakening, landfalls, extratropical transitions, as well as dissipations during the season. The timeline also includes information which was not operationally released, meaning that information from post-storm reviews by the National Hurricane Center, such as information on a storm that was not operationally warned upon.

This season produced seven tropical depressions, of which four became named storms; three attained hurricane status, of which one became a major hurricane, a storm that ranks as a Category 3 or higher on the Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Scale.[2] Hurricane Alicia had its name retired due to the fatalities and severe damage caused in Texas. The storm killed 21 people and caused $2.6 billion (1983 USD; $5.6 billion 2008 USD) in damages, making it the costliest storm, at the time, in Texas history.[3] Hurricane Barry was a weak Category 1 hurricane that traveled almost due west across the Gulf of Mexico for most of its track before making landfall in extreme northern Mexico.[4]


Timeline of storms[edit]

Tropical Storm Dean (1983) Hurricane Barry (1983) Hurricane Alicia Saffir–Simpson Hurricane Scale

June[edit]

June 1
The Atlantic hurricane season officially begins.[5]

July[edit]

July 23
The remnants of Tropical Depression One on July 29
July 27
  • 8 a.m. AST (1200 UTC) – Tropical Depression One passes over the island of Saint Lucia with winds of 35 mph (55 km/h).[6]
  • 8 a.m. AST (1200 UTC) – Tropical Depression Two forms 245 miles (395 km) southwest of Brava, Cape Verde.[6]
July 28
  • 2 p.m. AST (1800 UTC) – Tropical Depression One dissipates over the open waters of the Caribbean Sea.[6]

August[edit]

August 2
  • 8 a.m. AST (1200 UTC) – Tropical Depression Two dissipates over open waters.[6]
August 15
August 16
  • 7 p.m. CDT (0000 UTC August 17) – Tropical Storm Alicia intensifies into a hurricane.[7]
August 17
  • 1 p.m. CDT (1800 UTC) – Hurricane Alicia strengthens into a Category 2 hurricane.[7]
August 18
Hurricane Alicia on August 17
  • 1 a.m. CDT (0600 UTC) – Hurricane Alicia strengthens into a major hurricane—a storm with winds of 111 mph (178 km/h) or higher.[7]
  • 3 a.m. CDT (0800 UTC) – Hurricane Alicia makes landfall near Galveston, Texas with winds of 115 mph (185 km/h).[7]
  • 7 a.m. CDT (1200 UTC) – Hurricane Alicia weakens to a Category 1 hurricane.[7]
  • 1 p.m. CDT (1800 UTC) – Hurricane Alicia weakens to a tropical storm.[7]
August 19
  • 1 a.m. CDT (0600 UTC) – Tropical Storm Alicia weakens to a tropical depression.[7]
August 20
August 23
  • 2 p.m. EDT (1800 UTC) – Tropical Depression Four forms 105 miles (175 km) northeast of Nassau, Bahamas.[8]
August 24
August 25
  • 7 a.m. EDT (1100 UTC) – Tropical Storm Barry weakens to a tropical depression and makes landfall near Melbourne, Florida with winds of 35 mph (55 km/h).[8]
August 26
Hurricane Barry at peak intensity on August 27
  • 2 a.m. EDT (0600 UTC) – Tropical Depression Barry emerges into the Gulf of Mexico.[8]
August 27
  • 7 a.m. CDT (1200 UTC) – Tropical Depression Barry re-intensifies into a tropical storm.[8]
August 28
  • 7 a.m. CDT (1200 UTC) – Tropical Storm Barry strengthens into a hurricane.[8]
  • 12:25 CDT (1725 UTC) – Hurricane Barry makes landfall in northern Tamaulipas, Mexico with winds of 80 mph (130 km/h).[8]
  • 7 p.m. CDT (0000 UTC August 29) – Hurricane Barry weakens to a tropical storm.[8]
August 29
  • 1 a.m. CDT (0600 UTC) – Tropical Storm Barry weakens to a tropical depression.[8]
  • 1 p.m. CDT (1800 UTC) – Tropical Depression Barry dissipates over Mexico.[8]

September[edit]

September 10
  • 8 a.m. AST (1200 UTC) – Tropical Depression Five forms 145 miles (235 km) south-southeast of Bermuda.[9]
  • 8 p.m. AST (0000 UTC September 11) – Tropical Depression Five strengthens into Tropical Storm Chantal.[9]
September 11
Track map of Hurricane Chantal
  • 2 p.m. AST (1800 UTC) – Tropical Storm Chantal intensifies into a hurricane.[9]
September 12
  • 8 p.m. AST (0000 UTC September 13) – Hurricane Chantal weakens to a tropical storm.[9]
September 14
  • 8 p.m. AST (0000 UTC September 15) – Tropical Storm Chantal weakens to a tropical depression.[9]
September 15
  • 8 a.m. AST (1200 UTC) – Tropical Depression Chantal dissipates over open waters.[9]
September 19
September 21
September 26
Tropical Storm Dean near landfall
  • 2 p.m. EDT (1800 UTC) – Subtropical Storm One forms 335 miles (540 km) northeast of Nassau, Bahamas.[12]
September 27
  • 2 p.m. EDT (1800 UTC) – Subtropical Storm One transitions into a tropical cyclone and is given the name Dean.[12]
September 30
  • 8 a.m. EDT (1200 UTC) – Tropical Storm Dean makes landfall on the Delmarva Peninsula with winds of 45 mph (75 km/h).[12]
  • 2 p.m. EDT (1800 UTC) – Tropical Storm Dean weakens to a tropical depression.[12]
  • 8 p.m. EDT (0000 UTC October 1) – Tropical Depression Dean dissipates over Virginia.[12]

November[edit]

November 30
The Atlantic hurricane season officially ends.[5]

Notes[edit]

  1. ^ The figures for maximum sustained winds and position estimates are rounded to the nearest 5 units (knots, miles, or kilometers), following the convention used in the National Hurricane Center's operational products for each storm. All other units are rounded to the nearest digit.

References[edit]

  1. ^ John Arnold (1983-11-30). "Hurricane season ends weakly". The Philadelphia Inquirer. Retrieved 2007-12-16. 
  2. ^ NHC Hurricane Research Division (2006-02-17). "Atlantic hurricane best track ("HURDAT")". National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. Retrieved 2008-11-03. 
  3. ^ National Hurricane Center (1986). "Hurricane Alicia Preliminary Report Page:2". National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-11-20. 
  4. ^ National Hurricane Center (1986). "Hurricane Barry Preliminary Report Page:5". National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-11-20. 
  5. ^ a b Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory, Hurricane Research Division. "Frequently Asked Questions: When is hurricane season?". National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. Retrieved 2008-11-03. 
  6. ^ a b c d e National Hurricane Center (2008). "All Tropical Cyclone Tracks for the Atlantic and Eastern Pacific". Hydrometeorological Prediction Center. Retrieved 2008-11-20. 
  7. ^ a b c d e f g h i j National Hurricane Center (1983). "Hurricane Alicia Preliminary Report Page 6". National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-11-20. 
  8. ^ a b c d e f g h i j National Hurricane Center (1983). "Hurricane Barry Preliminary Report Page 3". National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-11-20. 
  9. ^ a b c d e f National Hurricane Center (1983). "Hurricane Chantal Preliminary Report Page 2". National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-11-20. 
  10. ^ Miami Herald (September 19, 1983). "New Tropical Depression Forms, Aims Toward Windwards". The Miami Herald. Retrieved 2007-02-02. 
  11. ^ Miami Herald (September 21, 1983). "Caribbean Storm Downgraded". The Miami Herald. Retrieved 2007-02-02. 
  12. ^ a b c d e National Hurricane Center (1983). "Tropical Storm Dean Preliminary Report Page 3". National Hurricane Center. Retrieved 2008-11-20. 
Preceded by
1982
Atlantic hurricane seasons timelines
1983
Succeeded by
1985