User talk:InMyHumbleOpinion

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

Welcome!

Hello, InMyHumbleOpinion, and welcome to Wikipedia! Thank you for your contributions. I hope you like the place and decide to stay. Here are some pages that you might find helpful:

I hope you enjoy editing here and being a Wikipedian! Please sign your messages on discussion pages using four tildes (~~~~); this will automatically insert your username and the date. If you need help, check out Wikipedia:Questions, ask me on my talk page, or ask your question on this page and then place {{helpme}} before the question. Again, welcome! ·Add§hore· Talk/Cont 06:56, 21 May 2008 (UTC)

hi[edit]

hey hi, i figure that you are a new user here. I registered on wiki a long back but have started editing here fairly recently. When I saw your username, it looks like someone with a legal background. I am interested in law too, so thought would drop in a few drops. Have a nice time on wikipedia. Tarun2k (talk) 10:59, 29 May 2008 (UTC)

Thank you. I have a definite interest in some of the law articles, though more domestic USA jurisdictions and public international law. I know nothing about the law in India, but drop a line anytime if there's something you would like to discuss or a tidbit you think I may interested in. InMyHumbleOpinion (talk) 02:40, 30 May 2008 (UTC)
Not anything in particular really that I wanted to discuss. In any case, I am into taxation laws and do look around on wikipedia legal material generally and relating to India. Tarun2k (talk) 17:08, 30 May 2008 (UTC)

Civil Law[edit]

I added a suggestion to the talk page for Civil law (legal system) regarding the Scandinavian issue, including a reference for why to include them in a page on Civil law. I agree with you that the way in which they are mentioned in the intro is problematic. However, I think there is sufficient ground to keep them in the article. BrotherE (talk) 17:05, 23 July 2008 (UTC)

Judgement[edit]

FYI only... The preferred spelling is "judgment" in most of the English-speaking world, however, "judgement" is not incorrectsinneed (talk) 22:43, 5 March 2009 (UTC)

  •  :) I am sorry, but I didn't intend any criticism or to cause you to answer.
    Yes, it is important to use the version of English in each article.

    In *most* English-speaking countries, "judgment" is preferred, as I recall. If you were studying in one of the countries where "judgment" is the preferred version, then the teachers were correct. It is only in environments like Wikipedia which span many versions of English that it causes problems. It occurs to me I should not have masked the link above http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/judgement&x=0&y=0.
    I think the OED says the UK version prefers judgment but I can't recall with certainty. All the best.  :) sinneed (talk) 03:55, 6 March 2009 (UTC)

WP:Hornbook -- a new WP:Law task force for the J.D. curriculum[edit]

Hi InMyHumbleOpinion,

I'm asking Wikipedians who are interested in United States legal articles to take a look at WP:Hornbook, the new "JD curriculum task force".

Our mission is to assimilate into Wikipedia all the insights of an American law school education, by reducing hornbooks to footnotes.

  • Over the course of a semester, each subpage will shift its focus to track the unfolding curriculum(s) for classes using that casebook around the country.
  • It will also feature an extensive, hyperlinked "index" or "outline" to that casebook, pointing to pages, headers, or {{anchors}} in Wikipedia (example).
  • Individual law schools can freely adapt our casebook outlines to the idiosyncratic curriculum devised by each individual professor.
  • I'm encouraging law students around the country to create local chapters of the club I'm starting at my own law school, "Student WP:Hornbook Editors". Using WP:Hornbook as our headquarters, we're hoping to create a study group so inclusive that nobody will dare not join.

What you can do now:

1. Add WP:Hornbook to your watchlist, {{User Hornbook}} to your userpage, and ~~~~ to Wikipedia:Hornbook/participants.
2. If you're a law student,
(You don't have to start the club, or even be involved in it; just help direct me to someone who might.)
3. Introduce yourself to me. Law editors on Wikipedia are a scarce commodity. Do knock on my talk page if there's an article you'd like help on.

Regards, Andrew Gradman talk/WP:Hornbook 04:28, 4 August 2009 (UTC)

Unclear writing[edit]

Please consider contacting me by e-mail to discuss three aspects of the article about treatiesmetonymy, conflation and invalid treaties. --Tenmei (talk) 08:30, 22 November 2010 (UTC)

Re: User:InMyHumbleOpinion#Tests, consider WP:Test=WP:Sandbox. Although it is unconventional, I have taken the liberty of creating sandbox sub-pages which you may alter, use or delete as you see best. --Tenmei (talk) 15:09, 22 November 2010 (UTC)

UK Supreme Court case drive[edit]

Hi! Thanks for taking the time to read this message.

As you may know, the United Kingdom Supreme Court has been hearing cases for about 18 months now, taking over from the House of Lords as the Court of Last Resort for most appeals within the United Kingdom.

During that time, the court has handed down 87 judgements (82 of which were on substantive appeals). Wikipedia covers around 11 of these and rarely in any detail. Some very important cases (including Radmacher v Granatino [2010] UKSC 42 (prenups) and Norris v USA [2010] UKSC 9 (extradition)) are not covered at all.

I'm proposing a drive to complete decent quality articles for all, or at least a good proportion of these cases as soon as possible. If we can eliminate the backlog then a small group of editors might want to stick around to ensure articles are created relatively speedily for new cases. Since the Court process, on average, one case a week this shouldn't be too great a task.

I'd like to ask you to help with this drive, and help make Wikipedia a credible source for UKSC case notes.

How you can help

  • Complete that template and add it to existing cases.
  • Improve formatting & prose. Copyediting.
  • Improve the coverage of cases we have articles on, including adding content, sourcing and fact-checking
  • Create new articles for UKSC cases
  • Improve the categorisation and listing of UKSC cases.

Thanks for reading!, Sincerely Bob House 884 (talk) 23:24, 28 March 2011 (UTC)

Gustave Rolin-Jaequemyns[edit]

You're absolutely right, placing the banner. If i had known of its existance, i would have placed it myself. Thanks! :-) Kleuske (talk) 10:23, 5 March 2012 (UTC)

Ernest Nys[edit]

I'm the author of the German article which you translated. After reading your comment on the talk page of the translated article, I just want to let you know that you are right about the order of succession between Alphonse Rivier and Ernest Nys - Nys took over from Rivier in 1898 (Rivier died in the same year so Nys probably took over after Riviers death). Thus, it was also Nys who served as dean of the University of Brussels law school from 1898 to 1900. You can add both facts to the English article if you like. Best Regards & thanks for translating the article, --Uwe (talk) 08:34, 21 May 2012 (UTC)

Thanks for your answer on my talk page. You are right that he became an associate editor of the Revue de Droit International et de Legislation Comparee. Apart from that, thank you for pointing out the wrong year (1968) which I've corrected now in the German article. Last but not least I would like to let you know that I added the information to the German article that, according to Martti Koskenniemi, Ernest Nys is considered to be the first historian of international law (which, as you know, was still a rather young field of law back then). Perhaps you might want to add that to the English article as well (source: Martti Koskenniemi: Histories of International Law: Dealing with Eurocentrism. Utrecht University, Utrecht 2011, ISBN 978-94-6103-016-0, page 5). Best Regards, --Uwe (talk) 20:19, 24 May 2012 (UTC)--Uwe (talk) 20:19, 24 May 2012 (UTC)

Invitation to wikiFeed[edit]

Hello InMyHumbleOpinion,

I'm part of a team that is researching ways to help Wikipedia editors find interesting content to contribute to Wikipedia. More specifically, we are investigating whether content from news sources can be used to enhance Wikipedia editing. We have created a tool, called wikiFeed, that allows you to specify Twitter and/or RSS feeds from news sources that are interesting to you. wikiFeed then helps you make connections between those feeds and Wikipedia articles. We believe that using this tool may be a lot of fun, and may help you come up with some ideas on how to contribute to Wikipedia in ways that interest you. Please participate! To do so, complete this survey and follow this link to our website. Once you're there, click the "create an account" link to get started.

For more information about wikiFeed, visit our project page. If you have any questions, please feel free to ask via my talk page, or by email at wikifeedcc@gmail.com. We appreciate your time and hope you enjoy playing with wikiFeed!

Thanks! MarchionessGrey (talk) 21:07, 25 July 2012 (UTC)

Disambiguation link notification for March 4[edit]

Hi. Thank you for your recent edits. Wikipedia appreciates your help. We noticed though that when you edited Eritrean–Ethiopian War, you added a link pointing to the disambiguation page Arthur Watts (check to confirm | fix with Dab solver). Such links are almost always unintended, since a disambiguation page is merely a list of "Did you mean..." article titles. Read the FAQ • Join us at the DPL WikiProject.

It's OK to remove this message. Also, to stop receiving these messages, follow these opt-out instructions. Thanks, DPL bot (talk) 11:22, 4 March 2013 (UTC)

Disambiguation link notification for March 11[edit]

Hi. Thank you for your recent edits. Wikipedia appreciates your help. We noticed though that when you edited The Corfu Channel Case (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland v. People's Republic of Albania), you added a link pointing to the disambiguation page Sergei Krylov (check to confirm | fix with Dab solver). Such links are almost always unintended, since a disambiguation page is merely a list of "Did you mean..." article titles. Read the FAQ • Join us at the DPL WikiProject.

It's OK to remove this message. Also, to stop receiving these messages, follow these opt-out instructions. Thanks, DPL bot (talk) 09:51, 11 March 2013 (UTC)

Article Feedback deployment[edit]

Hey InMyHumbleOpinion; I'm dropping you this note because you've used the article feedback tool in the last month or so. On Thursday and Friday the tool will be down for a major deployment; it should be up by Saturday, failing anything going wrong, and by Monday if something does :). Thanks, Okeyes (WMF) (talk) 23:28, 13 March 2013 (UTC)

Disambiguation link notification for March 18[edit]

Hi. Thank you for your recent edits. Wikipedia appreciates your help. We noticed though that when you edited North Sea Continental Shelf cases, you added a link pointing to the disambiguation page Kotaro Tanaka (check to confirm | fix with Dab solver). Such links are almost always unintended, since a disambiguation page is merely a list of "Did you mean..." article titles. Read the FAQ • Join us at the DPL WikiProject.

It's OK to remove this message. Also, to stop receiving these messages, follow these opt-out instructions. Thanks, DPL bot (talk) 09:06, 18 March 2013 (UTC)

AFT5 re-enabled[edit]

Hey InMyHumbleOpinion :). Just a note that the Article Feedback Tool, Version 5 has now been re-enabled. Let us know on the talkpage if you spot any bugs. Thanks! Okeyes (WMF) (talk) 00:52, 24 April 2013 (UTC)

Taiwan/Philippines incident[edit]

Dear IMHO, sorry for not having replied sooner, I have been very busy at work so far.

As to the merit, I am not surprised at all. I think that the way our world is becoming, such incidents will tend to be more and more common.

That's why i would see with pleasure such incidents being dealt by international courts, so that an international legal frame could be developped.

Regards

LNCSRG (talk) 19:27, 22 May 2013 (UTC)