Vegetarianism and wine

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
  (Redirected from Vegan wine)
Jump to: navigation, search
A glass of Red wine

Wine is sometimes made with animal products. While wine is essentially made from grapes, on occasion animal products are used in small amounts in the production process, and these wines may not be suitable to be part of a vegetarian or vegan diet.

Non-vegetarian/vegan additives[edit]

Wineries might use animal-derived products as finings. To remove proteins, yeast, and other organic particles which are in suspension during the making of the wine, a fining agent is added to the top of the vat. As it sinks down, the particles adhere to the agent, and are carried out of suspension. None of the fining agent remains in the finished product sold in the bottle[citation needed], and not all wines are fined.

Examples of animal products used as finings are gelatin, isinglass, chitosan, casein and egg albumen. Bull's blood is also used in some Mediterranean countries but is not allowed in the U.S. or Europe. Kosher wines use isinglass derived from fish bladders, though not from the sturgeon, since the kosher status of this fish is in debate[citation needed].

Of these, casein and albumen (deriving from milk protein and egg white respectively) may be considered acceptable for lacto and ovo vegetarians respectively, but not for vegans.

As an alternative to animal products, bentonite, a clay mineral, can be used to clarify the wine. Some vintners also let the wine's sediments settle naturally, a time-consuming process. In Australia, winemakers are required to list the use of potential allergens such as casein and albumin on the label but are not obliged to list the use of other non-vegan fining agents such as gelatin or isinglass.[1] Some wine makers will boast on the wine label that their wine is unfiltered, because some wine connoisseurs prefer wine to be unfiltered.

For grape wines, the juice is usually contaminated with a variety of entrained, liquefied insects and arachnids etc,[2] so producing a truly vegetarian or vegan friendly wine would be very difficult regardless of the type of fining agents used.

See also[edit]

References[edit]

Further reading[edit]

External links[edit]