A veggie burger is a hamburger-style, or chicken-style, patty that does not contain animal flesh, but may contain animal products such as egg or milk. The patty of a veggie burger may be made from vegetables (like corn), textured vegetable protein (like soy), legumes (beans), tofu, nuts, mushrooms, or grains or seeds, like wheat and flax.
The patties that are the essence of a veggie burger have existed in various Eurasian cuisines for millenia, including in the form of disc-shaped grilled or fried meatballs or as koftas, a commonplace item in Indian cuisine. These may contain meats or be made of entirely vegetarian ingredients such as legumes or other plant-derived proteins. While it is not possible, or even necessary, to identify the 'inventor' of the veggie burger, there have been numerous claimants.
Vegetarian bean burgers cooking
A veggie burger with vegetable toppings
Close-up of a veggie burger prepared with a flax bagel, soy cheese, lettuce, mustard, tomato and a Yves veggie burger patty
In places such as India where vegetarianism is widespread, McDonald's and KFC serve veggie burgers. Since February 2010, McDonald's Germany, its fourth-biggest global market, is serving veggie burgers in all its restaurants. Different kinds of veggie burgers are also served permanently in McDonald's restaurants in: