When a Stranger Calls (2006 film)

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
When a Stranger Calls
When A Stranger Calls.jpg
Theatrical release poster
Directed by Simon West
Produced by John Davis
Wyck Godfrey
Ken Lemberger
Written by Jake Wade Wall
Starring Camilla Belle
Brian Geraghty
Katie Cassidy
Clark Gregg
Music by James Dooley
Cinematography Peter Menzies Jr.
Edited by Jeff Betancourt
Production
company
Distributed by Screen Gems
Release dates
  • 10 February 2006 (2006-02-10)
Running time 87-minutes
Country  United States
Language English
Budget US$15 million
Box office US$66,966,987

When a Stranger Calls is a 2006 American suspense thriller slasher film & remake of the 1979 horror's film of the same name based on the urban legend "The Babysitter and the Man Upstairs". In the film, a teenage babysitter receives increasingly threatening calls from a brutal serial killer whom she first assumes is simply a prankster.

The film takes place in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada in 2005.

Plot[edit]

On one side of town, a babysitter and the kids she is babysitting are brutally murdered. The police find that the murderer used his bare hands to tear them to shreds. The shot then changes to teenager Jill Johnson (Camilla Belle) who is going through a teenage crisis, having her boyfriend, Bobby (Brian Geraghty), cheat on her with her best friend Tiffany (Katie Cassidy), and going over 800 minutes on her cell phone, for which her dad, Ben (Clark Gregg), has her babysit for a wealthy family to pay the debt. The unfortunate timing causes Jill to miss out on a school bonfire which her other best friend, Scarlett (Tessa Thompson), is attending. Jill arrives at the elaborate Mandrakis House, which has a greenhouse built in the center. The parents (Derek de Lint and Kate Jennings Grant) show her around and give her their numbers, stating that they won't be back until midnight. As the kids are seen to be upstairs asleep, Jill soon begins to receive anonymous phone calls.

Tiffany visits but Jill, fearing getting into further trouble, asks her to leave. However, tree branches knocked down by the storm outside block the road. When Tiffany gets out to move them, she is apparently attacked by an unknown figure. The calls continue, each one becoming more alarming, suggesting she is being watched. Jill calls the police, who tell her they can trace the calls if she is able to keep him on the line for one minute. Whilst waiting for the caller to ring, Jill sees someone in the guesthouse. After seeing a light switch on, Jill quickly makes her way back to the house. The phone rings, after which the police hurriedly inform her that the calls are coming from inside the house.

Jill finds Tiffany's dead body in the upstairs bathroom whilst investigating an active shower, and is soon attacked. She gets the kids and they run into the greenhouse. Jill finds the housemaid dead as the attacker breaks in. They quickly escape and Jill manages to lock the man inside the greenhouse, but he finds an exit and attacks Jill. There is a struggle and Jill manages to burn the man's back and stab him in the hand with an iron poker, before rushing out of the house into the arms of a police officer, who tells her that she's safe.

As the stranger is taken by the police, his face is shown by the moonlight. Jill awakens in the psychiatric hospital and the phone rings. She lets it ring, worrying that the events will reoccur. She waits for a time and leaves the phone ring, the camera pans to her reflection in the mirror, revealing the stranger to be behind her. The man grabs Jill, who screams hysterically, waking up from her hallucination and finding herself still in the psychiatric hospital with the doctors desperately trying to stop her frantic panicking, while the screen fades to black.

Cast[edit]

Music[edit]

Score[edit]

When a Stranger Calls: The Complete Original Motion Picture Score
Film score
Released February 10, 2006
Genre Film score
Length 47:53
Label Sony BMG Music Entertainment
Producer James Dooley

The album called as When a Stranger Calls: The Complete Original Motion Picture Score was 15-instrumental songs was composed by James Dooley will be omitting commercially released songs that were featured in the film it was released on Friday, 10 February 2006.

When a Stranger Calls: The Complete Original Motion Picture Score
No. Title Length
1. "Main Title"   00:04:51
2. "Fateful Drive"   00:02:57
3. "The House"   00:03:43
4. "Exploring"   00:05:16
5. "Have You Checked The Children"   00:05:11
6. "Tiffany"   00:02:55
7. "Knock Knock Who There"   00:07:18
8. "Curtain Call"   00:03:14
9. "60 Seconds"   00:03:39
10. "Inside The House"   00:04:12
11. "Stranger"   00:03:48
12. "Conflagration"   00:04:07
13. "Police Station"   00:02:44
14. "Lunatic Asylum"   00:03:58
15. "End Credits"   00:02:42
Total length:
01:00:35

Marketing[edit]

For the release of the film, AOL Instant Messenger ran ads beckoning users to IM Jill020306. When messaged, "Jill" (a Colloquis-style program) made small talk before panicking, as she received calls from a stranger asking her to check the children. She then gives the user her phone number (a toll-free 877 number) and asks them to call her. When users call, they hear an ad for the movie.

Also, around the time of the DVD release, a new screen name appeared, Jill051606, to tie in with the DVD release date on 16 May 2006. It does not involve calling her, but instead she directs you to a video security system on the official DVD site where the shadow of the stranger passes by frequently.

MySpace ran an advertisement: the profile for Jill051606, in which users can add the profile as a friend, leave comments, and read Jill's blog.

Production[edit]

Principal photography began on 1 January 2005 and completed on 28 February 2005 in Vancouver, Province of British Columbia, Kingdom of Canada.

Filming[edit]

Principal photography took place in Vancouver, Province of British Columbia, Kingdom of Canada between from 1 January until 28 February 2005.

When a Stranger Calls began filming on 1 January 2005 and completed filming on 28 February 2005 a filmed for 59-days.

Reception[edit]

The film was almost universally panned from critics. On the review aggregator Rotten Tomatoes, 9% of critics gave the film positive reviews, based on 88 reviews.[1] The biggest criticism of the remake was that it gave away the moment of suspense from the original by revealing the source of the calls in the previews.

Box office[edit]

The film opened at No. 1 with $21,607,203.[2]

As of March 19, 2006, the film grossed a total of $47.9 million in the domestic box office, and $66.9 million worldwide.[3]

Home media[edit]

The movie was released on 16 May 2006 on DVD and PSP. Special features include 2- commentaries (one with Camilla Belle & Simon West; the other with Jake Wade Wall), deleted scenes, a 20-minute making-of featurette & trailers.

Cancelled sequel[edit]

Screen Gems had green-lit a sequel, rumored to be titled When a Stranger Returns, in which Hayden Panettiere was to play the babysitter. Screen Gems has since scrapped the film.

Awards[edit]

In 2007, it was nominated to the Golden Trailer Awards in the category "Best Horror".

Broadcasting[edit]

Asia-Pacific[edit]

When a Stranger Calls it was officially premiered by MAX on Saturday, 31 December 2011 at 22:00 until 00:00 HKT with English dubbing & Asian subtitles.

 Indonesia[edit]

When a Stranger Calls it was officially premiered by Trans TV a subsidiary of Trans Corporation & member of Chairul Tanjung Corporation on Friday, 11 May 2012 at 22:15 until 00:15 WIB/23:15 until 01:15 WITA/00:15 until 02:15 WIT a next day to becomes of "Lea Michele" is a Indonesian late night talk show was telecast presented by Lea Michele is a American English pop singer and repeat screening on Saturday, 8 September 2012 at 21:45 until 23:45 WIB/22:45 until 00:45 WITA/23:45 until 01:45 WIT a next day to followed by "When Strangers Appear" is a thriller film with Radha Mitchell and Monday, 21 January 2013 at 22:00 until 00:00 WIB/23:00 until 01:00 WITA/00:00 until 02:00 WIT a next day to becomes of "Reportase Malam" is a Indonesian late news bulletin was telecast presented by Shareefa Daanish is a news anchor for woman, 6-months later was moved to Trans7 a subsidiary of Trans Corporation/Kompas Television Network and member of Chairul Tanjung Corporation/Kompas Gramedia Group on Sunday, 18 August 2013 at 00:30 until 02:30 WIB/01:30 until 03:30 WITA/02:30 until 04:30 WIT a next to closedown by the station ident, national patriotic songs and test card with beep as the test card was broadcasts the end at 02:30 WIB/03:30 WITA/04:30 WIT and 3-hour 30-minutes later it was return telecast to opening broadcasts at 05:00 WIB/06:00 WITA/07:00 WIT by the instrumental national anthem, station ident and first television programme with English dubbing and Indonesian subtitles.

 Malaysia[edit]

When a Stranger Calls it was officially premiered by 8TV a member of Media Prima on Saturday, 16 June 2012 at 20:30 until 22:30 MST and repeat screening on Saturday, 23 June 2012 at 20:30 until 22:30 MST and Saturday, 30 June 2012 at 20:30 until 22:30 MST with English dubbing and Malay subtitles.

 Singapore[edit]

When a Stranger Calls it was officially premiered by MediaCorp TV Channel 5 and HD5 a subsidiary of MediaCorp and member of Temasek Holdings on Saturday, 9 February 2013 at 22:00 until 00:00 SST with English dubbing and Chinese subtitles.

 Hong Kong[edit]

When a Stranger Calls it was officially premiered by ATV World a member of Asia Television Limited on Saturday, 9 February 2013 at 21:00 until 23:00 HKT with English dubbing and Chinese subtitles.

See also[edit]

References[edit]

External links[edit]