Wikipedia:Today's articles for improvement/Further collaboration

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
  Main page   Talk page   TAFI nominations   Holding Area   Schedule   Assessment   Automation   Accomplishments   Further collaboration   Members   Archives  

Welcome to the TAFI Further collaboration page, to coordinate ongoing collaborations after the project's weekly entries have occurred. Herein editors can continue to discuss and collaborate on articles for improvement, including articles that are capable of promotion to GA or FA status. Please sign entries here with four tildes ~~~~.

Please post new entries at the top of the list below. Articles with no significant collaboration in 4 weeks may be archived.

Consumer electronics[edit]

Collaboration started 8 Sept, 2014

  • Presently being discussed at it's talk page regarding merging or splitting the article's timeline sections. NorthAmerica1000 01:40, 15 September 2014 (UTC)

Raven Tales[edit]

Collaboration started 1 Sept, 2014

  • Posted by NorthAmerica1000 15:30, 9 September 2014 (UTC)
    • Peer review received at Wikipedia:Peer review/Raven Tales/archive1 (transcluded below) - Evad37 [talk] 23:30, 22 September 2014 (UTC)
      • Well, that was incredibly positive feedback. I hope @David Condrey: has a chance to look at this. --NickPenguin(contribs) 23:35, 22 September 2014 (UTC)
        • Thanks guys. Yep, I saw it Nick. :) I actually hadn't been back on Wikipedia until last night for several days and am still quite ruffled over the recent issues that I was dealing with a couple weeks ago but I poke my head in to check messages..
        • I'll be replying on the review page in a moment and have added a banner to the article notifying any random editors of it's impending activity. I may not get to it until late in the week or potentially even until this weekend, but as the reviewer recommended, I will nominate the article for WP:GA, pending some further editing of the article to address his points and any other points which may be mentioned in the review. I've also left a new comment on the talk page of WikiProject Indigenous peoples of North America under it's original TAFI banner in hopes of getting some more people to review and offer feedback. If anyone would like to work on the article with me, please feel free, I just request that you please review the comments in it's peer review and actively collaborate on the review discussion or on the articles talk page so as to avoid any conflicting edits or edits which could potentially degrade the overall quality of the article. David Condrey (talk) 04:21, 23 September 2014 (UTC)
          • Can an article be nominated as a Good Article and a Featured List or is it necessary to pick one or the other? If so, which would you guys recommend? If planning to nominate as a good article I'd like to set a goal based on the approaching start of Wikipedia:WikiProject_Good_articles/GA_Cup and have any further edits completed and a nomination prepared in time for that launch in hopes of attracting the most attention. If going for Featured Article it may take me longer because I'm not familiar with guidelines on list articles.. Its somewhat ironic I've always actually tended to avoid lists. David Condrey (talk) 04:43, 23 September 2014 (UTC)

Raven Tales[edit]

This peer review discussion has been closed.
I've listed this article for peer review because myself and and several other editors have spent the past week working together as part of the Wikipedia:Today's_articles_for_improvement improving this article from what had previously been this: |hardly a stub to this. Even though TAFI has moved on, I've continued to fine tune this article and need some constructive criticism to improve it further. Thanks. David Condrey (talk) 00:52, 9 September 2014 (UTC)

Hi David Condrey, thanks for your and others edits to this. Folklore and tradition, particularly of Indigenous peoples, is such a neglected sphere on WP, so it's great to see it receiving some attention. I'd encourage you to nominate straight for WP:GA, as I think it has a good chance of meeting the criteria. In addition, you might receive some more in-depth feedback there. Other thoughts:

  • The more I read this, the more I realize how it is such a large undertaking
  • Perhaps if it was considered a list, you could try for a featured list?
  • In order to prepare for it, you'll have to conclude the merge requests.
  • You will need to provide sources for unsourced areas of the article, of which there are several
  • I also feel some sections could be expanded, particularly where there's a subsection title and just a list.
  • You may consider linking to the articles on the different tribes or dialects
  • A standard format for each subsection would make editing a lot easier. Something like "The tales of people x describe the raven (local pronunciation here) as ..."
  • Including a little background information on the creation myths or geographical local of the tribes would also add some depth
  • Is there a reason that both parts of the title are in capitals? I think in general we try and keep article names in sentence case

That said, this is a very interesting article and a large undertaking! Feel free to ask any questions, these are just my thoughts so take them with a grain of salt! Kindly, --Tom (LT) (talk) 23:05, 22 September 2014 (UTC)

@LT910001:Thank you for taking the time to review the article and left such excellent feedback. I'm sure glad I didn't close this review as I nearly did yesterday when I was checking messages and saw that this looked to be growing spiderwebs. Motivated by your attention, I have left a banner on the article to avoid any editors making any conflicting edits, and am hoping to rally the team over at [[[Wikipedia:Today%27s_articles_for_improvement]] to assist in further editing the article with your comments and any further potential comments left during it's review in mind. Once satisfied that all recommendations have been addressed I will certainly nominate for WP:GA as you suggested. I'd prefer to wait until it's nice and shiny before placing the nomination prematurely. I may not be able to get to this until late in the week, perhaps even this weekend but it will be done soon.
I had previously left a comment on the WikiProject Indigenous peoples of North America talk page but was unsuccessful in getting any feedback but have gone ahead and left a message again to notify of my intention and hopefully get some more feedback.
During the course of it's original editing, it was mentioned on the articles talk page about potentially adjusting this to become more of a list article. I'm not familiar with list articles but will look into this recommendation further, especially since it's not the first time it's been suggested. Can you offer any further guidance on this? As well, would you mind pointing out the areas which you see could use citation?
David Condrey (talk) 04:34, 23 September 2014 (UTC)

Solar activity[edit]

Collaboration started 25 Aug, 2014

Animatronics[edit]

Collaboration started 4 Aug, 2014