Wikipedia talk:WikiProject Articles for creation/Reviewer help

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Main page Talk page
ReviewerAFCH
Submissions
CategoryList
Showcase Assessment Participants Reviewing instructions Help desk Backlog drives
Welcome to the Wikipedia Articles for Creation Reviewer Help page
WPAFC talk pages: Main - AFC Helper script - Reviewer help
AfC submissions
Very high backlog
1911 pending submissions
Purge to update
Shortcut:


  • This page is for reviewers to ask for a second opinion about specific AfC reviews. Are you in the right place?
Skip to the bottom
WikiProject Articles for creation (Rated Project-class)
WikiProject icon This redirect is used for the administration of the Articles for Creation or Files for Upload processes and is therefore within the scope of WikiProject Articles for Creation. Please direct any queries to the discussion page. WikiProject icon
 Project  This redirect does not require a rating on the quality scale.
 

User Space to Main Space -> User name is being included in the scripted move[edit]

Draft:Clay Cross Town Football Club[edit]

Sports expert, please. Is this club acceptable? The article is not yet ready to accept, but a definitive comment there on its acceptability in macro terms would be useful to we reviewers not wise in the ways of this sport. Fiddle Faddle 11:07, 26 June 2014 (UTC)

Best ask the Football Wikiproject for an opinion. BTW I asked the submitter at the help desk to clearly indicate which of the two drafts they are working on so that the other can be removed, but so far have not had a response. Unfortunately it's an IP so chances are that a post to User Talk would be useless. Roger (Dodger67) (talk) 08:47, 30 June 2014 (UTC)
Yes check.svg Done (asked for help) Fiddle Faddle 08:59, 30 June 2014 (UTC)
Not notable. The agreed cut-off point for English football club notability is playing at level 10 of the football pyramid (the club in question plays at level 11), or having played in the FA Cup, FA Trophy or FA Vase (which this one hasn't). Number 57 09:05, 30 June 2014 (UTC)
Very many thanks. Fiddle Faddle 09:17, 30 June 2014 (UTC)
(edit conflict) Fails WikiProject notability. Would need to establish notability through the WP:GNG - this means sources! I cannot definitevly comment as I have not reviewed all sources pertaining to the club. Note, the The club website doesn't count, nor do press releases about results etc. Only reliable secondary sources I can find relate to one event (BBC, Metro) which is rather incidental and sensational coverage and doesn't really establish notability of the organisation. Rambo's Revenge (talk) 09:21, 30 June 2014 (UTC)
Very many thanks. Fiddle Faddle 09:44, 30 June 2014 (UTC)

Why so many "/sandbox" drafts today? And why can't we find a fix for that?[edit]

Looks like a good 50 drafts or more today are "Username/sandbox", more than we usually see. Did something change in the submission process which makes folks even less inclined to include a title?

Seriously, I've complained about this for over a year now, untitled articles sap reviewer time and make it harder to prioritize which articles to review for a given reviewer's expertise. I'd really like to see some mod in the coding to do a "your draft is not yet submitted, you must choose a title" step to put the onus back on the drafters. MatthewVanitas (talk) 07:06, 3 July 2014 (UTC)

Draft:Mansion House - Hurstpierpoint - help with reviewing, please[edit]

I have been standing so close to the OTRS process on this article that I am no longer uninvolved, despite having not actually even looked in any detail at the text or references. I will not review it again.

As far as I can tell the article is a verbatim copy of a report commissioned by the owner of the building. I have gleaned this from my talk page, the author's talk page and email correspondence. As such the article is a large tract of original research, except where verified by references.

Having said that it can be argued that this is an independent piece of research from a heritage specialist (whose pedigree is unknown to me), and is worthwhile material. Indeed, one could argue it is material that Wikipedia "should have".

I have now stopped my involvement in reviewing the article having submitted, myself, the OTRS request, by forwarding an email from the heritage specialist (to me) and a copy of her report. If and when the OTRS validation comes through I will add it to the draft. I have told the (Wikipedia) author that I will help him, but cannot review it further. He is new to the ways of WIkipedia. Please, if you are going to slay his firstborn child (oops, this draft) do it with kindness and thought for his feelings.

Since Wikipedia is a gazetteer and it is a significant building I see a strong argument for an article. I am simply unsure whether it ought to be this article, and my judgment on this topic is now flawed because I am involved. Fiddle Faddle 17:25, 7 July 2014 (UTC)

It is held pending OTRS permissions but otherwise looks "good enough" to promote. It needs cleanup for Wikipedia style/formatting, changing the tone from an academic tone to an encyclopedic tone, and possibly other issues that we can fix. The author needs to improve the references, many of which say nothing more than "Held by current owners of the Mansion House". That type of reference is fine for certain types of academic works but not for Wikipedia. This change can be done pre- or post-move. davidwr/(talk)/(contribs) 20:05, 7 July 2014 (UTC)

Acceptance of a very good Draft blocked because an inferior stub already exists.[edit]

I need help with getting Draft:Lynn Chadwick into mainspace. It is a far better article than the existing Lynn Chadwick mainspace page. Merging would be pointless because there is nothing worth keeping in the existing mainspace article that needs to be merged into the draft (except perhaps a few templates). Roger (Dodger67) (talk) 09:31, 17 July 2014 (UTC)

The original article was created by Theroadislong years ago. Why didn't Chadwick01 contribute to the existing article? WP:G6 doesn't apply so the existing article would have to go to AfD to make room. I couldn't vote support in good conscience so I'd tell the author to contribute to the existing article. They could post on the talk page to warn about their pending wholesale rewrite and then paste it all in. Chris Troutman (talk) 09:43, 17 July 2014 (UTC)
We're not supposed to make newbie draft writers perform such technical complexities - that's what we're here for. I'll figure something out. Roger (Dodger67) (talk) 10:41, 17 July 2014 (UTC)
It is plainly absolutely wrong to move an article from AfC because you like it more than the existing article, Lynn Chadwick. Incorporate any additional info into the existing article. One would suspect, from the user name, that the creator of the new article has a COI, so I don't see any reason for Roger (Dodger67)'s unilateral actions.
Apologies, I meant to explain my revertion here, but had multiple windows open on my PC and forgot to save my comments on this thread! Sionk (talk) 11:11, 17 July 2014 (UTC)
What I was busy with until you came along and disrupted the process was to WP:MERGE the Draft and the existing article (to a new title with disambiguator) and then convert the undisambiguated page title into a disambiguation page for the three different articles with similar titles. It is not a simple "replace one article with another - just because I like it" - content from both pages is included in the new article. Roger (Dodger67) (talk) 11:18, 17 July 2014 (UTC)
I can't see any evidence of a "merge". An existing (basic but reasonable) article had an edit history going back 6 years. Blanking that article and (1) making it into a disambiguation page (which really isn't required) (2) moving an AfC draft to an inappropriately named duplicate article, is not a merger in any sense of the word. If there was any case for a merge you would merge the content of the new draft into the existing article, retaining the edit history. Sionk (talk) 11:31, 17 July 2014 (UTC)
@Sionk - How do we fix this? Do we delete the various redundant redirects/disambiguations etc. - restore the Draft to how it was before I moved it - and then do a Merge from scratch by moving content from the Draft to the 6-year-old existing article? Is a history merge required? Roger (Dodger67) (talk) 14:20, 17 July 2014 (UTC)
Without wanting to sound facetious, I'd say revert everything you did earlier, including moving the new article back to Draft status. As Chris troutman says above, the new editor can expand the existing article (even if that more or less equates to pasting large parts of the new content over the existing article). There's no need for a disambiguation page (the third person listed there isn't called Lynn and has been nom'd for deletion anyway). Lynn Chadwick seems to be a major 20th century artist who would easily lay claim to the undisambiguated title. Sionk (talk) 17:28, 17 July 2014 (UTC)
Considering you agree a merger is a good idea in some form, I'm going to resurrect the pre-existing article and propose a merger from the new article to it. There may be a whiff of COI (and promotion of certain texts) but it would be a shame to lose some of the useful work the author has put into the new article. Sionk (talk) 21:18, 17 July 2014 (UTC)
I'd rather leave it to you as I don't have the tools to move over redirects, history merge, etc. Sorry about the tangle I made. Roger (Dodger67) (talk) 05:31, 18 July 2014 (UTC)