Wikipedia talk:WikiProject Articles for creation/Reviewer help

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Main page Talk page
ReviewerAFCH
Submissions
CategoryList
Showcase Assessment Participants Reviewing instructions Help desk Backlog drives
Welcome to the Wikipedia Articles for Creation Reviewer Help page
WPAFC talk pages: Main - AFC Helper script - Reviewer help
AfC submissions
Backlogged
744 pending submissions
Purge to update
Shortcut:


  • This page is for reviewers to ask for a second opinion about specific AfC reviews. Are you in the right place?
Skip to the bottom
WikiProject Articles for creation (Rated Project-class)
WikiProject icon This redirect is used for the administration of the Articles for Creation or Files for Upload processes and is therefore within the scope of WikiProject Articles for Creation. Please direct any queries to the discussion page. WikiProject icon
 Project  This redirect does not require a rating on the quality scale.
 

User Space to Main Space -> User name is being included in the scripted move[edit]

Confusing statement in decline template[edit]

I have just declined User:Sirerick5255/sandbox as blank. The decline template has a false misleading statement at the bottom that the page has been resubmitted to be reviewed again. I have been absent here over the last few months so I may have missed out on some recent updates to decline templates. Roger (Dodger67) (talk) 12:25, 18 December 2014 (UTC)

A WP:PURGE will fix that. If you notice it happening on a regular basis, let me know so I can investigate. Jackmcbarn (talk) 21:31, 18 January 2015 (UTC)

Both "not submitted" and "submitted"[edit]

I'm new to this, and I've run into some articles that are both "not submitted for review" (gray box) and "review waiting" (yellow-ish box). e.g. [1]. Should I go ahead and review these? Should I pay attention to the gray box? Thanks, LaMona (talk) 21:13, 18 January 2015 (UTC)

Yes, you should review those. I deployed a fix to keep that from happening in most cases a while ago, but it looks like there are some edge cases where it still happens. Jackmcbarn (talk) 21:29, 18 January 2015 (UTC)
Thanks. Figured it was a bug; will dutifully ignore. LaMona (talk) 16:27, 19 January 2015 (UTC)

Completely Stumped by Draft:Hashtag WhyIStayed/WhyILeft[edit]

First I thought it was WP:NOT. Then a neologism. Then I thought that the notability was temporary. Now I'm completely stumped. Can someone take a look at it? It's been at AfC for a while. (I'm trying to get through very old submissions.) Thanks, Julie JSFarman (talk) 00:52, 26 January 2015 (UTC)

Julie, it seems to me that this article is more about the fallout from the Rice controversy than about the hashtag. I would merge/redirect it to the Domestic violence page, adding anything there that isn't already included, and with a mention on the Ray Rice page - something like: discussion of this on Twitter led to the first use of the #whyIstayed hash tag. The tag itself, IMO, doesn't merit a page. LaMona (talk) 21:50, 26 January 2015 (UTC)
There is significant coverage in multiple reliable sources (WP:GOLDEN RULE) so it is a notable topic and eligible for inclusion in the encyclopedia. It would be a welcome addition with a potential incoming wikilink from Hashtag. If someone thinks that the material is better merged as suggested by LaMona, for instance, that can always be discussed and executed once the submission is in mainspace. Submissions should only be rejected with mergeto reason if they do not meet requirements for a stand-alone article. ~KvnG 00:29, 27 January 2015 (UTC)
Thanks to both of you for the input. I just did an edit and accepted the article based on the coverage.JSFarman (talk) 01:26, 27 January 2015 (UTC)

Better copyvio message at Template:AFC submission/comments[edit]

User-space and Draft-space mess - admin help may be needed[edit]

Please see User:ChriCom/The Nate Butler Studio and Draft:The Nate Butler Studio. After the original userspace draft was moved to draft-space the user disabled the redirect, restored the userspace draft and continued to work on it - leaving an inferior text languishing in Draft-space. Do we delete the current (but older) draft-space page and again move the user-space page to draft-space or do we surrender to the perverse ingenuity of a so-called newbie (a user who knows how to disable a redirect and recover an earlier version of a page from history is no newbie) and simply review the user-space draft where it is and let the Draft-space version eventually slip away into the G13 bottomless pit? Roger (Dodger67) (talk) 21:48, 24 February 2015 (UTC)

Looks like this has again been moved to Draft:The Nate Butler Studio. There's a chance the same thing will happen again. ~KvnG 19:09, 1 March 2015 (UTC)
I'm not sure who is claiming to be a newbie, or where. ChriCom has been editing since 2008, with a somewhat unusual seven year gap in their contributions. Arthur goes shopping (talk) 13:10, 3 March 2015 (UTC)