2003–04 Newport County A.F.C. season

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Newport County
2003–04 season
Chairman Wallace Brown
Manager Peter Nicholas
Stadium Newport Stadium
Southern League Premier 7th
FA Cup 3rd qualifying round
FA Trophy 2nd round
FAW Premier Cup Quarter-final
Top goalscorer League: Davis/Eckhardt (7)
All: Eckhardt/Lloyd/Phillps (8)
Highest home attendance 935 vs Merthyr Tydfil (25 August 2003)
Lowest home attendance 523 vs Hednesford Town (21 April 2004)
Average home league attendance 657
Home colours
Away colours

The 2003–04 season was Newport County's fifth consecutive season in the Southern League Premier Division. The club finished seventh in the league.

The advent of the new Conference North and South at the end of the season gave an added edge to the campaign. The top team in the Southern League Premier Division would be promoted to the newly named Conference National and the next twelve teams would qualify for the new regional divisions. County started the season with a run of 10 games before recording a victory but eventually finished seventh and secured a place in the Conference South for the 2004–05 season.

Season review[edit]

Results summary[edit]

Overall Home Away
Pld W D L GF GA GD Pts W D L GF GA GD W D L GF GA GD
42 15 14 13 52 50  +2 59 6 9 6 23 30  −7 9 5 7 29 20  +9

Last updated: 1 May 2004.
Source: [1]

Results by round[edit]

Round 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42
Ground H A A H A H A A H H A H A H H A A H A H A A H A H A A H H A H A H A H A H H A A H H
Result D L L D L D L D L D W W W L W W W D W L D D W W L W L D W L W D L D D L W D W W L D
Position 17 20 19 20 21 21 21 22 22 20 20 15 19 14 11 10 10 10 10 10 11 9 8 9 7 8 8 9 11 7 7 11 12 12 12 14 11 8 7 7 7 7

Last updated: 30 Apr 2004.
Source: [2]
Ground: A = Away; H = Home. Result: D = Draw; L = Loss; W = Win; P = Postponed.

Fixtures and results[edit]

Pre-season friendlies[edit]

Date Opponents Venue Result Scorers Attendance
Fri 18 Jul 2003 Newport YMCA A 8–1 N.Davis 3, J.Phillips, F.Zhiyi, N.Davis, A.Thomas, K.Hanbury
Sat 19 Jul 2003 Chepstow Town A 6–1 J.Perry 2 (1P), J.Phillips, K.Hanbury, S.O'Sullivan, N.Palmer
Tue 22 Jul 2003 Pill A 2–0 K.Hanbury, Zhang Jia Ping
Sat 26 Jul 2003 Caerleon A 1–0 R.Plant
Tue 29 Jul 2003 Carmarthen Town A 1–2 F.Zhiyi
Sat 2 Aug 2003 AFC Wimbledon H 1–1 N.Davis 1,012
Tue 5 Aug 2003 Mangotsfield United A 1–1 N.Davis
Fri 8 Aug 2003 Llanelli A 2–2 G.Lloyd 2
Wed 13 Aug 2003 Spencer Youth H 2–1 C.Rogers 2

Southern League Premier[edit]

Date Opponents Venue Result Scorers Attendance
Sat 16 Aug 2003 Welling United H 0–0 820
Tue 19 Aug 2003 Weymouth A 1–2 N.Davis 1,453
Sat 23 Aug 2003 Stafford Rangers A 0–1 771
Mon 25 Aug 2003 Merthyr Tydfil H 1–1 OG 935
Sat 30 Aug 2003 Grantham Town A 1–2 G.Phillips 423
Wed 3 Sep 2003 Chippenham Town H 2–2 R.Plant 2 751
Sat 6 Sep 2003 Nuneaton Borough A 0–2 1,097
Tue 9 Sep 2003 Moor Green A 1–1 J.Eckhardt 296
Sat 13 Sep 2003 Crawley Town H 1–2 M.Dickeson 632
Wed 17 Sep 2003 Weymouth H 1–1 A.Stevenson 658
Sat 20 Sep 2003 Hinckley United A 4–1 J.Eckhardt 2, G.Shephard, M.Dickeson 480
Sat 4 Oct 2003 Dover Athletic H 2–1 N.Davis, A.Mumford 725
Sat 18 Oct 2003 Welling United A 2–0 N.Davis 2 550
Wed 22 Oct 2003 Weston-super-Mare H 1–4 J.Eckhardt 539
Sat 25 Oct 2003 Chelmsford City H 1–0 S.Morgan 648
Sat 1 Nov 2003 Worcester City A 5–1 N.Davis 2, J.Phillips 2, G.Phillips 1,180
Sat 8 Nov 2003 Eastbourne Borough A 2–1 J.Eckhardt, OG 451
Sat 15 Nov 2003 Dorchester Town H 0–0 637
Sat 22 Nov 2003 Hednesford Town A 2–1 J.Eckhardt, N.Davis 565
Sat 6 Dec 2003 Hinckley United H 0–3 676
Sat 13 Dec 2003 Tiverton Town A 0–0 600
Fri 26 Dec 2003 Merthyr Tydfil A 1–1 S.Morgan 871
Thu 1 Jan 2004 Bath City H 2–1 G.Phillips, J.Moralee 928
Sat 3 Jan 2004 Havant & Waterlooville A 3–0 G.Shephard, G.Phillips, J.Phillips 385
Sat 10 Jan 2004 Worcester City H 0–4 641
Sat 17 Jan 2004 Cambridge City A 2–0 G.Shephard, A.Stevenson 494
Sat 31 Jan 2004 Chippenham Town A 1–2 G.Lloyd 739
Sat 7 Feb 2004 Grantham Town H 2–2 S.O'Sullivan, G.Shephard 560
Wed 25 Feb 2004 Stafford Rangers H 3–1 G.Shephard, G.Jones, G.Lloyd (P) 541
Sat 28 Feb 2004 Dover Athletic A 0–2 902
Sat 6 Mar 2004 Tiverton Town H 2–1 N.Davis 2 668
Tue 9 Mar 2004 Weston-super-Mare A 0–0 446
Sat 27 Mar 2004 Nuneaton Borough H 1–2 G.Lloyd 644
Sat 3 Apr 2004 Chelmsford City A 0–0 370
Sat 10 Apr 2004 Moor Green H 1–1 J.Eckhardt 556
Mon 12 Apr 2004 Bath City A 0–1 918
Sat 17 Apr 2004 Cambridge City H 1–0 L.Phillips 541
Wed 21 Apr 2004 Hednesford Town H 1–1 G.Lloyd (P) 523
Sat 24 Apr 2004 Dorchester Town A 2–1 S.Bowen 2 771
Mon 26 Apr 2004 Crawley Town A 2–1 S.Bowen, A.Williams 1,669
Wed 28 Apr 2004 Havant & Waterlooville H 0–2 576
Sat 1 May 2004 Eastbourne Borough H 1–1 S.Bowen 607

FA Cup[edit]

Main article: 2003–04 FA Cup
Round Date Opponents Venue Result Scorers Attendance
2Q Sat 27 Sep 2003 Weymouth H 3–2 G.Lloyd (P), A.Mumford, R.Plant 769
3Q Sat 11 Oct 2003 Mangotsfield United H 3–6 G.Lloyd, R.Plant, J.Eckhardt 667

FA Trophy[edit]

Main article: 2003–04 FA Trophy
Round Date Opponents Venue Result Scorers Attendance
2 Sat 29 Nov 2003 Hornchurch A 0–1 424

FAW Premier Cup[edit]

Round Date Opponents Venue Result Scorers Attendance
Grp B Tue 30 Sep 2003 Connah's Quay Nomads A 1–1 G.Lloyd (P) 157
Grp B Tue 7 Oct 2003 Rhyl A 0–1 233
Grp B Wed 15 Oct 2003 Afan Lido H 2–0 J.Phillips, G.Phillips 237
Grp B Tue 4 Nov 2003 Afan Lido A 5–2 J.Phillips 2, G.Shephard, A.Thomas, S.O'Sullivan 243
Grp B Wed 12 Nov 2003 Connah's Quay Nomads H 1–1 A.Mumford 287
Grp B Mon 17 Nov 2003 Rhyl H 3–0 J.Phillips, G.Lloyd, R.Plant 340
QF Mon 26 Jan 2004 Cardiff City H 0–1 812

Friendly[edit]

Date Opponents Venue Result Scorers Attendance
Wed 31 Mar 2004 Manchester United XI H 0–1 4,300

League table[edit]

Pos Team Pld W D L F A GD Pts Notes
1 Crawley Town 42 25 9 8 77 43 +34 84 Promoted to Conference National
2 Weymouth 42 20 12 10 76 47 +29 72 Qualified for Conference South
3 Stafford Rangers 42 19 11 12 55 43 +12 68 Qualified for Conference North
4 Nuneaton Borough 42 17 15 10 65 49 +16 66 Qualified for Conference North
5 Worcester City 42 18 9 15 71 50 +21 63 Qualified for Conference North
6 Hinckley United 42 15 14 13 55 46 +9 59 Qualified for Conference North
7 Newport County 42 15 14 13 52 50 +2 59 Qualified for Conference South
8 Cambridge City 42 14 15 13 54 53 +1 57 Qualified for Conference South
9 Welling United 42 16 8 18 56 58 −2 56 Qualified for Conference South
10 Weston-super-Mare 42 14 13 15 52 52 0 55 Qualified for Conference South
11 Eastbourne Borough 42 14 13 15 48 56 −8 55 Qualified for Conference South
12 Havant & Waterlooville 42 15 10 17 59 70 −11 55 Qualified for Conference South
13 Moor Green 42 14 12 16 42 54 −12 54 Qualified for Conference North
14 Merthyr Tydfil 42 13 14 15 60 66 −6 53
15 Tiverton Town 42 12 15 15 63 64 −1 51
16 Bath City 42 13 12 17 49 56 −7 51
17 Dorchester Town 42 14 9 19 56 69 −13 51 Qualified for Conference South
18 Chelmsford City 42 11 16 15 46 53 −7 49 Transferred to Isthmian League
19 Dover Athletic 42 12 13 17 50 59 −9 49 Transferred to Isthmian League
20 Hednesford Town 42 12 12 18 56 69 −13 48
21 Chippenham Town 42 10 17 15 51 63 −12 47
22 Grantham Town 42 10 15 17 45 67 −22 45
Key
Division Champions
Failed to qualify

External links[edit]