2005–06 Newport County A.F.C. season

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Newport County
2005–06 season
Chairman Chris Blight
Manager John Cornforth
(until 13 September)
Peter Beadle
(after 9 October)
Stadium Newport Stadium
Conference South 18th
FA Cup 2nd qualifying round
FA Trophy 3rd qualifying round
FAW Premier Cup 3rd round
Top goalscorer League: Hughes (11)
All: Hughes (11)
Highest home attendance 1,148 vs Thurrock (29 Apr 2006)
Lowest home attendance 504 vs Basingstoke Town (18 Mar 2006)
Average home league attendance 650
Home colours
Away colours

The 2005–06 season was Newport County's second consecutive season in the Conference South and they had been ever-present since the introduction of the Conference North & South in 2004. The club finished in 18th place for the second consecutive season.

County struggled early on in the season in much the same fashion as the previous season's relegation battle. This was to prove the end for manager John Cornforth who was sacked on 13 September after accumulating only four points from the first seven matches.[1] He was replaced by Peter Beadle on 9 October with the team in the middle of a ten-game losing streak.[2]

Results gradually improved and the team eventually climbed out of the relegation zone with five games remaining. A win away at Cambridge City in the penultimate game of the season eventually securing Conference South status with a game to spare.[3]

Season review[edit]

Results summary[edit]

Overall Home Away
Pld W D L GF GA GD Pts W D L GF GA GD W D L GF GA GD
42 12 8 22 50 67  −17 44 7 3 11 28 34  −6 5 5 11 22 33  −11

Last updated: 29 Apr 2006.
Source: [1]

Results by round[edit]

Round 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42
Ground H A A H A H A H A H H A H A A H A A H A A H H H A H H A H A H A A H A H H A A H A H
Result W D L L L L L L L L L L W L L W D L D L L W D L W D L W L D L L D W W W W D W L W L
Position 2 4 9 14 19 19 20 21 21 21 21 21 20 21 21 20 20 20 20 20 22 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 22 22 22 21 21 21 19 19 18 19 18 18

Last updated: 29 Apr 2006.
Source: [2]
Ground: A = Away; H = Home. Result: D = Draw; L = Loss; W = Win; P = Postponed.

Fixtures and results[edit]

Pre-season friendlies[edit]

Date Opponents Venue Result Scorers Attendance
Sat 16 Jul 2005 Cirencester Town A 3–5 R.Shuger, J.Bowen, A.Williams
Wed 20 Jul 2005 Team Bath A 1–0 M.Draycott (P)
Fri 22 Jul 2005 Garden Village A 2–1 OG, N.Harrhy
Tue 26 Jul 2005 Exmouth Town A 5–0 P.Bonner, M. Gorden, C.Belle, W. O'Sullivan
Thu 28 Jul 2005 Elmore A 5–0 R.Shuger, J.Bowen, A.Williams
Sat 30 Jul 2005 Bodmin Town A 3–1 M.Green, A.Corbisiero, N.Harrhy
Tue 2 Aug 2005 Port Talbot Town A 4–1 S.O'Sullivan, C.Belle, N.Harrhy, A.Thomas
Sat 6 Aug 2005 Worcester City A 1–0 N.Harrhy

Conference South[edit]

Date Opponents Venue Result Scorers Attendance
Sat 13 Aug 2005 Carshalton Athletic H 4–1 A.Corbisiero, N.Harrhy, J.Bowen, M.Draycott 886
Tue 16 Aug 2005 Maidenhead United A 1–1 OG 434
Sat 20 Aug 2005 Eastleigh A 0–2 578
Sat 27 Aug 2005 Havant & Waterlooville H 2–3 W.O'Sullivan, A.Corbisiero 720
Mon 29 Aug 2005 Farnborough Town A 1–2 A.Thomas 610
Sun 4 Sep 2005 Histon H 0–1 604
Sat 10 Sep 2005 Lewes A 0–1 485
Sat 17 Sep 2005 Weymouth H 0–3 724
Sat 1 Oct 2005 Eastbourne Borough A 0–2 580
Sat 15 Oct 2005 Yeading H 1–3 A.Thomas 703
Wed 19 Oct 2005 Dorchester Town H 0–2 587
Sat 22 Oct 2005 St Albans City A 0–1 531
Sat 29 Oct 2005 Bognor Regis Town H 1–0 M.Draycott 604
Sat 5 Nov 2005 Basingstoke Town A 0–1 471
Tue 8 Nov 2005 Hayes A 2–3 C.Hughes, J.Bowen (P) 264
Sat 12 Nov 2005 Bishop's Stortford H 1–0 J.Bowen (P) 649
Sat 19 Nov 2005 Sutton United A 1–1 C.Belle 581
Sat 10 Dec 2005 Thurrock A 2–4 S.O'Sullivan, C.Belle 231
Mon 26 Dec 2005 Weston-super-Mare H 2–2 L.Jenkins, C.Hughes 754
Mon 2 Jan 2006 Weston-super-Mare A 1–2 T.Toppar 680
Sat 7 Jan 2006 Carshalton Athletic A 0–1 431
Sat 14 Jan 2006 Maidenhead United H 3–0 J.Bowen, C.Hughes, N.Davies 625
Wed 18 Jan 2006 Welling United H 2–2 M.Green, OG 602
Sat 21 Jan 2006 Eastleigh H 0–2 675
Sat 28 Jan 2006 Havant & Waterlooville A 2–1 C.Hughes, G.Fisken 524
Sat 4 Feb 2006 Eastbourne Borough H 1–1 M.Green 548
Wed 8 Feb 2006 Cambridge City H 0–2 522
Sat 11 Feb 2006 Yeading A 2–1 G.Fisken, C.Hughes 201
Sat 18 Feb 2006 St Albans City H 1–3 M.Green 665
Tue 21 Feb 2006 Dorchester Town A 2–2 C.Hughes, M.Green 452
Sat 25 Feb 2006 Lewes H 2–3 S.O'Sullivan, C.Hughes 534
Sat 4 Mar 2006 Weymouth A 0–4 2,110
Sat 11 Mar 2006 Bognor Regis Town A 1–1 I.Hillier (P) 425
Sat 18 Mar 2006 Basingstoke Town H 2–0 J.Bowen, C.Hughes 504
Sat 25 Mar 2006 Bishop's Stortford A 1–0 C.Hughes 370
Sat 1 Apr 2006 Sutton United H 1–0 J.Bowen 632
Wed 5 Apr 2006 Hayes H 1–0 P.Cochlin 702
Sat 8 Apr 2006 Welling United A 1–1 J.Bowen 629
Sat 15 Apr 2006 Histon A 3–2 P.Cochlin, G.Fisken, A.Thomas 1,092
Mon 17 Apr 2006 Farnborough Town H 1–2 J.Bowen (P) 1,059
Sat 22 Apr 2006 Cambridge City A 2–0 C.Hughes, G.Fisken 507
Sat 29 Apr 2006 Thurrock H 3–4 C.Hughes, M.Prosser, N.Davies 1,148

FA Cup[edit]

Main article: 2005–06 FA Cup
Round Date Opponents Venue Result Scorers Attendance
2Q 24 Sep 2005 Chippenham Town A 0–4 949

FA Trophy[edit]

Main article: 2005–06 FA Trophy
Round Date Opponents Venue Result Scorers Attendance
3Q 28 Nov 2005 Salisbury City A 0–3 806

FAW Premier Cup[edit]

Round Date Opponents Venue Result Scorers Attendance
2 29 Nov 2005 Caersws H 1–0 I.Hillier 258
QF 25 Jan 2006 Wrexham H 0–2 442

League table[edit]

Pos Team Pld W D L F A GD Pts Notes
1 Weymouth 42 30 4 8 80 34 +46 90 4 points deducted, promoted
2 St Albans City 42 27 5 10 94 47 +47 86 Play-off winners, promoted
3 Farnborough Town 42 23 9 10 65 41 +24 78 Play-offs
4 Lewes 42 21 10 11 78 57 +21 73 Could not participate in the play-offs due to ground issues
5 Histon 42 21 8 13 70 56 +14 71 Play-offs
6 Havant & Waterlooville 42 21 10 11 64 48 +16 70 3 points deducted
7 Cambridge City 42 20 10 12 78 46 +32 67 3 points deducted
8 Eastleigh 42 21 3 18 65 58 +7 66
9 Welling United 42 16 17 9 58 44 +14 65
10 Thurrock 42 16 10 16 60 60 0 58
11 Dorchester Town 42 16 7 19 60 72 −12 55
12 Bognor Regis Town 42 12 13 17 54 55 −1 49
13 Sutton United 42 13 10 19 48 61 −13 49
14 Weston-super-Mare 42 14 7 21 57 88 −31 49
15 Bishop's Stortford 42 11 15 16 55 63 −8 48
16 Yeading 42 13 8 21 47 62 −15 47
17 Eastbourne Borough 42 10 16 16 51 61 −10 46
18 Newport County 42 12 8 22 50 67 −17 44
19 Basingstoke Town 42 12 8 22 47 72 −25 44
20 Hayes 42 11 9 22 47 60 −13 42
21 Carshalton Athletic 42 8 16 18 42 68 −26 40 Relegated
22 Maidenhead United 42 8 9 25 49 99 −50 31 2 points deducted, relegated
Key
Division Champions
Promoted
Into play-offs
Relegated

References[edit]

  1. ^ "Cornforth is sacked". South Wales Argus. 13 Sep 2005. 
  2. ^ "Newport unveil Beadle as new boss". BBC Sport. 10 Oct 2005. 
  3. ^ "County on fire". South Wales Argus. 24 Apr 2006. 

External links[edit]