2007 Colonial Cup

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

The 2007 Colonial Cup is a rugby union competition held in Fiji every year. The Fiji Rugby Union controls the Colonial Cup which is used to pick players for the Fiji national team.

This year saw the emergence of a new team, the Bligh Roosters, based in Tavua. This took the number of competing teams to 6.

The Coastal Stallions were the 2007 champions, this being their third win since the tournament's inception in 2004.

Teams[edit]

Results from 2007[edit]

Round 1[edit]

Friday 2 Feb
Highlanders 23-21 Stallions National Stadium
Saturday 3 Feb
Knights 13–20 Crusaders Ratu Cakobau Park
Sharks 29–20 Roosters Subrail Park

Round 2[edit]

Friday 9 Feb
Knights 11-7 Sharks Nasau Park
Saturday 10 Feb
Crusaders 22-16 Highlanders Churchill Park
Roosters 12-19 Stallions Garvey Park

Round 3[edit]

Friday 16 Feb
Crusaders 16-22 Sharks Prince Charles Park
Saturday 17 Feb
Stallions 34-31 Knights Lawaqa Park
Highlanders 33-15 Roosters National Stadium

Round 4[edit]

Friday 23 Feb
Highlanders 20-23 Knights National Stadium
Saturday 24 Feb
Sharks 33-38 Stallions Subrail Park
Roosters 6-18 Crusaders Ra Sports Complex

Round 5[edit]

Friday 2 Mar
Stallions 5-12 Crusaders Lawaqa Park
Saturday 3 Mar
Sharks 5-20 Highlanders Ganilau Park
Knights 38-15 Roosters Ratu Cakobau Park

Final standings[edit]

Team Played Won Drawn Lost For Against Point Difference Bonus Points Points
Crusaders 5 4 0 1 88 62 +26 1 17
Stallions 5 3 0 2 117 111 +6 4 16
Highlanders 5 3 0 2 112 86 +26 3 15
Knights 5 3 0 2 116 96 +20 3 15
Sharks 5 2 0 3 96 105 -9 4 12
Roosters 5 0 0 5 68 137 -69 1 1

4 points for a win; 2 for a draw; 1 bonus point for scoring four or more tries in a match; 1 bonus point for losing by 7 points or less.

Semi-Finals[edit]

Saturday 10 Mar
Highlanders 6-15 Stallions Ratu Cakobau Park
Crusaders 15-6 Knights Ratu Cakobau Park

Grand final[edit]

Saturday 17 Mar
Crusaders 12-14 Stallions Churchill Park

External links[edit]