2010–11 Northwestern Wildcats men's basketball team

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
2010–11 Northwestern Wildcats men's basketball
Northwestern Wildcats logo.svg
NIT, Quarterfinals
Conference Big Ten Conference
2010–11 record 20–14 (7–11 Big Ten)
Head coach Bill Carmody
Assistant coach Mitch Henderson
Assistant coach Tavaras Hardy
Assistant coach Ivan Vujic
Home arena Welsh-Ryan Arena
Seasons
2010–11 Big Ten Conference men's basketball standings
Conf     Overall
Team W   L   PCT     W   L   PCT
No. 1 Ohio State 16 2   .889     34 3   .919
No. 13 Purdue 14 4   .778     26 8   .765
No. 16 Wisconsin 13 5   .722     25 9   .735
Michigan 9 9   .500     21 14   .600
Illinois 9 9   .500     20 14   .588
Penn State 9 9   .500     19 15   .559
Michigan State 9 9   .500     19 15   .559
Northwestern 7 11   .389     20 14   .588
Minnesota 6 12   .333     17 14   .548
Iowa 4 14   .222     11 20   .355
Indiana 3 15   .167     12 20   .375
2011 Big Ten Tournament winner
Rankings from AP Poll[1][2]

The 2010–11 Northwestern Wildcats men's basketball team represented Northwestern University in the 2010–11 college basketball season. This is head coach Bill Carmody's eleventh season at the Northwestern. The Wildcats were members of the Big Ten Conference and played their home games at Welsh-Ryan Arena. In the previous year, they finished the season 20–14, 7–10 in Big Ten play, lost in the quarterfinals of the 2010 Big Ten Conference Men's Basketball Tournament and were invited to the 2010 National Invitation Tournament where they lost in the quarterfinals to Washington State.

2010–11 Roster[edit]

No. Name Position Ht. Wt. Year Hometown/High School
1 Crawford, Drew G/F 6–5 205 SO Naperville, Illinois/Naperville Central
3 Capocci, Mike F 6–6 195 SR Lombard, Illinois/Glenbard East
4 Marcotullio, Alex G 6–3 180 SO Warren, Michigan/De La Salle
5 Ryan, Jeff G/F 6–7 205 SR Glenview, Illinois/Glenbrook South
10 Nichols, Austin G 6–0 192 SO Lansing, Michigan/Lansing Catholic
11 Hearn, Reggie G 6–4 205 SO Fort Wayne, Indiana/Snider
12 Mirković, Luka F/C 6–11 248 JR Belgrade, Serbia/La Lumiere (LaPorte, Ind.)
15 Fruendt, Nick G 6–5 200 JR Batavia, Illinois/Batavia
21 Peljusic, Ivan F 6–8 220 SR Zadar, Croatia/V. Nazor Gymnasium
22 Thompson, Michael G 5–10 190 SR Chicago, Illinois/Lincoln Park
23 Cobb, JerShon G 6–5 180 FR Decatur, Georgia/Columbia
24 Shurna, John F 6–8 215 JR Glen Ellyn, Illinois/Glenbard West
30 Curletti, Davide F 6–9 238 JR Farmington Hills, Michigan/Orchard Lake St. Mary's

Source:[3]

Schedule and results[edit]

Source[4]

Date
time, TV
Rank# Opponent# Result Record Site
city, state
Exhibition
Thu, Nov 4*
7:00 PM
Robert Morris W 91–71 
Welsh-Ryan Arena 
Evanston, IL
Regular Season
Fri, Nov 12*
8:00 PM
at Northern Illinois W 97–78  1–0
Convocation Center 
DeKalb, IL
Wed, Nov 17*
7:00 PM
at Texas-Pan American W 77–71  2–0
UTPA Fieldhouse 
Edinburg, TX
Fri, Nov 19*
7:00 PM
Arkansas-Pine Bluff W 71–45  3–0
Welsh-Ryan Arena 
Evanston, IL
Sun, Nov 28*
7:30 PM, BTN
Creighton W 65–52  4–0
Welsh-Ryan Arena 
Evanston, IL
Tue, Nov 30*
6:00 PM, ESPN2
Georgia Tech W 91–71  5–0
Welsh-Ryan Arena 
Evanston, IL
Mon, Dec 13*
7:00 PM
Long Island W 81–65  6–0
Welsh-Ryan Arena 
Evanston, IL
Thu, Dec 16*
7:00 PM, BTN
American W 78–62  7–0
Welsh-Ryan Arena 
Evanston, IL
Mon, Dec 20*
6:00 PM, MSG
vs. St. Francis (NY)
Madison Square Garden Holiday Festival
W 92–61  8–0
Madison Square Garden 
New York City, NY
Tue, Dec 21*
8:30 PM, MSG
vs. St. John's
Madison Square Garden Holiday Festival
L 69–85  8–1
Madison Square Garden 
New York City, NY
Thu, Dec 23*
2:00 PM
Mount St. Mary's W 70–47  9–1
Welsh-Ryan Arena 
Evanston, IL
Fri, Dec 31
11:00 AM, ESPN2
at No. 12 Purdue L 69–82  9–2 (0–1)
Mackey Arena 
West Lafayette, IN
Mon, Jan 03
6:30 PM, BTN
No. 18 Michigan State L 62–65  9–3 (0–2)
Welsh-Ryan Arena 
Evanston, IL
Thu, Jan 06
8:00 PM, BTN
at No. 20 Illinois L 63–88  9–4 (0–3)
Assembly Hall 
Champign, IL
Sun, Jan 09
6:00 PM, BTN
Indiana W 93–81  10–4 (1–3)
Welsh-Ryan Arena 
Evanston, IL
Wed, Jan 12
7:30 PM, BTN
at Iowa W 90–71  11–4 (2–3)
Carver-Hawkeye Arena 
Iowa City, IA
Sat, Jan 15
12:00 PM, BTN
at Michigan State L 67–71 OT 11–5 (2–4)
Breslin Center 
East Lansing, MI
Tue, Jan 18
8:00pm, BTN
Michigan W 74–60  12–5 (3–4)
Welsh-Ryan Arena 
Evanston, IL
Thu, Jan 20*
5:30pm
SIU-Edwardsville W 98–55  13–5
Welsh-Ryan Arena 
Evanston, IL
Sun, Jan 23
11:30 AM, BTN
Wisconsin L 46–78  13–6 (3–5)
Welsh-Ryan Arena 
Evanston, IL
Wed, Jan 26
7:30 PM, BTN
at No. 16 Minnesota L 70–81  13–7 (3–6)
Williams Arena 
Minneapolis, MN
Sat, Jan 29
5:00pm, ESPN2
No. 1 Ohio State L 57-58  13–8 (3–7)
Welsh-Ryan Arena 
Evanston, IL
Sat, Feb 05
12:00 PM, CBS
Illinois W 71–70  14–8 (4–7)
Welsh-Ryan Arena 
Evanston, IL
Wed, Feb 09
5:30 PM, BTN
at Michigan L 66–75  14–9 (4–8)
Crisler Arena 
Ann Arbor, MI
Sun, Feb 13
2:30 PM, BTN
at Penn State L 41–65  14–10 (4–9)
Bryce Jordan Center 
University Park, PA
Thu, Feb 17
8:00 PM, BTN
Iowa W 73–70  15–10 (5–9)
Welsh-Ryan Arena 
Evanston, IL
Sat, Feb 19
6:00 PM, BTN
at Indiana W 70–64  16–10 (6–9)
Assembly Hall 
Bloomington, IN
Thu, Feb 24
8:00 PM, ESPN2
Penn State L 52–66  16–11 (6–10)
Welsh-Ryan Arena 
Evanston, IL
Sun, Feb 27
5:00pm, BTN
at No. 12 Wisconsin L 63–78  16–12 (6–11)
Kohl Center 
Madison, WI
Wed, Mar 2
7:30 PM, BTN
Minnesota W 68–57  17–12 (7–11)
Welsh-Ryan Arena 
Evanston, IL
Big Ten Tournament
Thu, Mar 10
1:30 PM, ESPN2
vs. Minnesota
First Round
W 75–65  18–12
Conseco Fieldhouse 
Indianapolis, IN
Fri, Mar 11
11:00 AM, ESPN
vs. No. 1 Ohio State
Quarterfinals
L 61–67 OT 18–13
Conseco Fieldhouse 
Indianapolis, IN
NIT
Wed, Mar 16*
7:00pm, ESPN3
Milwaukee
First Round
W 70–61  19–13
Welsh-Ryan Arena 
Evanston, IL
Sat, Mar 19*
10:00 AM, ESPN
at Boston College
Second Round
W 85–67  20–13
Conte Forum 
Chestnut Hill, MA
Wed, Mar 23*
8:00 PM, ESPN2
at Washington State
Quarterfinals
L 66–69 OT 20–14
Beasley Coliseum 
Pullman, WA
*Non-conference game. #Rankings from AP Poll. (#) Tournament seedings in parentheses.
All times are in Central.

References[edit]

  1. ^ "2011 NCAA Men's Basketball Rankings". ESPN. Retrieved March 14, 2011. 
  2. ^ "Big Ten Standings - 2010-11". ESPN. Retrieved March 26, 2011. 
  3. ^ "2010-11 Northwestern Roster". Retrieved 2010-11-04. 
  4. ^ "2010-11 Northwestern Men's Basketball Schedule". Retrieved 2010-10-24.