Age of marriage in the United States
Unlike most Western countries, 18 of the U.S. states do not have a legal minimum age of marriage. Individuals aged 18 have the ability to marry in United States states except Nebraska (19) and Mississippi (21). In addition, all states, except Delaware and New Jersey, allow minors to marry in certain circumstances, such as parental consent, judicial consent, pregnancy, or a combination of these situations. In half of the states, children under 16 can be married too. In the 32 states  which have an absolute minimum age set by statute, this age varies between 14 and 18, while in 18 states there is no statutory minimum age if other legal conditions are met. Although in such states there is no set minimum age by statute, the traditional common law minimum age is 14 for boys and 12 for girls - ages which have been confirmed by case law in some states. Over the past 15 years, more than 200,000 minors married in US, and in Tennessee girls as young as 10 were married in 2001, before the state finally set a minimum age of 17 in 2018.
|Statutory age when all exceptions are taken into account||General age|
|American Samoa||Territory||18||18||Since 2018, the marriage age is 18 for both sexes. In September 2018, governor Lolo Moliga signed into law a bill changing the marriage age for girls from 14 to 18.|
|Arizona||State||16||18||Since 2018, the minimum age with approval of a superior court judge and parental consent is 16.|
|California||State||none||18||No minimum age with approval of a superior court judge and parental consent.|
|Colorado||State||none||18||No minimum age with judicial approval and parental consent.|
|Connecticut||State||16||18||Since 2017, the minimum age is 16 with parental and judicial consent.|
|Delaware||State||18||18||Since May 2018, the Delaware child marriage ban bill was signed into law and went into effect immediately to implement a clear minimum age of 18 with no exceptions.|
|District of Columbia||Federal District||16||18|
|Florida||State||17||18||Since July 1, 2018 17-year-olds need both parental and judicial approval and may not marry anyone more than 2 years older.|
|Guam||Territory||16||18||The consent of at least one parent or guardian is required for a person aged 16 or 17 to get married.|
|Hawaii||State||15||18||15 with parental or judicial consent.|
|Indiana||State||15||18||15 in the case of pregnancy with both parental and judicial consent.|
|Kentucky||State||17||18||Since 2018, 17-year-olds need judicial approval.|
|Massachusetts||State||none||18||Consent can be just judicial, but is normally both parental and judicial. In the absence of any statutory minimum age, one opinion is that the traditional minimum common law marriageable age of 12 for girls and 14 for boys may still be in effect.|
|Michigan||State||none||18||16 with parental consent|
|Mississippi||State||none||21||females 15–21 and males 17–21 can marry with parental consent alone|
|Missouri||State||16||18||In July 2018 a bill was signed into law by the Governor of Missouri, to implement an absolute minimum age of 16 and to ban people over 21 years old marrying people under the age of 18. The law went into effect on August 28, 2018.|
|New Hampshire||State||16 (in effect from January 1, 2019)||18||In 2018, the minimum age was set at 16 (in effect from 1 January, 2019).|
|New Jersey||State||18||18||Since June 2018, the New Jersey child marriage ban bill was signed into law and went into effect immediately to implement a clear minimum age of 18 with no exceptions.|
|New York||State||17||18||Since 2017, the minimum age is 17 with parental and judicial consent.|
|North Dakota||State||16||18||16 with parental consent .|
|Northern Mariana Islands||Territory||16 (females) 18 (males)||18||Males at the time of marriage must be at least 18 years of age, while females aged 16-17 can marry with the consent of at least one parent or guardian.|
|Ohio||State||none||18||18 for males regardless of parental consent. 16 for females with parental consent, 18 for females without parental consent.|
|Oregon||State||17||18||Consenting parent or guardian must accompany the applicant when applying for the marriage license.|
|Pennsylvania||State||none||18||Under 16 years of age if a Judge of the Orphans Court "decides that it is to the best interest of the applicant and authorizes the issuance of the license."|
|Puerto Rico||Territory||16 (females) 18 (males)||21||Puerto Rico is a territory of the United States, and its people are Americans.|
|South Carolina||State||16/none (conflicting laws)||18||The age is 16, with parental consent, but there is controversy regarding the interpretation of the law, which some judges consider to allow marriage without an age limit in case of pregnancy.|
|Tennessee||State||17||18||In 2018, the minimum age was set to 17 and no minor can marry someone more than 4 years older.|
|Texas||State||16||18||Since 2017, the minimum age is 18, however emancipated minors aged 16–17 have an exemption to legally marry.|
|U.S. Virgin Islands||Territory||14 (females) 16 (males)||18|
|Utah||State||15||18||15 with court approval and parental consent.|
|Virginia||State||16||18||In 2016, VA made 18 the minimum age; and 16 with court approval in special cases|
|Washington||State||none||18||May be waived by superior court judge.|
|West Virginia||State||none||18||No minimum with both parental and judicial consent|
- in 2017, Connecticut and Texas became the 24th and 25th states to set a minimum age  , and in 2018, Florida, Kentucky, Arizona, Delaware, Tennessee, New Jersey, and Missouri became the 26th, 27th, 28th, 29th, 30th, 31st, and 32nd states to set a minimum age  
- "Understanding State Statutes on Minimum Marriage Age and Exceptions". Tahirih Justice Center. November 2016. Retrieved 2017-06-03.
- "Gov. Bill Haslam signs law banning Tennessee marriage of minors under 17". The Tennessean. Retrieved 2018-05-31.
- "Section 30-1-4: Minimum age for contracting marriage". Code of Alabama. Alabama Legislature. 1975. Retrieved 2017-06-03.
A person under the age of 16 years is incapable of contracting marriage.
- "Marriage Laws of the Fifty States, District of Columbia and Puerto Rico". Legal Information Institute. 2008-04-14. Retrieved 2017-06-03.
- Renick, Christie (April 13, 2018). "Arizona Sets Minimum Age for Marriage of Minors". Chronicle of Social Change. Retrieved May 7, 2018.
- "California Marriage Age Requirements Laws". findlaw.com. Retrieved 2017-06-03.
- "Office of the Clerk and Recorder: Marriage & Recording / License Information / Marriage of Minors". City and County of Denver. Retrieved 2017-06-03.
- C.R.S. Colorado Revised Statutes 14-2-106
- "IC 31-11-1: ARTICLE 11. FAMILY LAW: MARRIAGE". Indiana Code 2016. Indiana General Assembly. Retrieved 2017-06-03.
- "Nonage minors; authorization of marriage", General Laws: Chapter 207, Section 25, Massachusetts General Court, retrieved 2017-06-03
- Richards, Victoria (2016-03-09). "Child marriage chart reveals girls can wed at 12 in some parts of the US - as lawmakers battle to raise age to 16". The Independent. Retrieved 2017-06-03.
- Hayden, Meg (2007-01-08). "Child Brides". Massachusetts Trial Court Law Libraries. Retrieved 2017-06-03.
- "Section 551.103: MARRIAGE LICENSE (EXCERPT), Act 128 of 1887". Michigan Legislature. 2015. Retrieved 2017-06-03.
- "Title 93 - DOMESTIC RELATIONS, Chapter 1 - MARRIAGE § 93-1-5 - Conditions precedent to issuance of license; penalty for noncompliance". 2013 Mississippi Code. Retrieved 2017-06-03.
Every male who is at least seventeen (17) years old and every female who is at least fifteen (15) years old shall be capable in law of contracting marriage.
- "TITLE XLIII: DOMESTIC RELATIONS, CHAPTER 457: MARRIAGES, Age: Section 457:4". New Hampshire General Court. Archived from the original on 2008-02-02. Retrieved 2017-06-03.
- https://www.hrw.org/news/2017/06/20/us-new-york-governor-signs-anti-child-marriage-law "Human Rights Watch: NY State Marriage Laws Update 2016/2017". Human Rights Watch. Human Rights Watch. June 2017. Retrieved 2017-06-21.
- "Ohio's Marriage Laws". Ohio State Bar Association. 2015-08-21. Retrieved 2017-06-03.
- "Title 23: CHAPTER 13, MARRIAGE LICENSE". Pennsylvania General Assembly. Retrieved 2017-06-03. |
- "Virgin Islands Code 16 V.I.C. ch. 1 § 2". Virgin Islands Code. LexisNexis. Retrieved September 17, 2018.
- "Marriage Licenses". Courts of Utah. 2016-04-04. Retrieved 2017-06-03.
- Portnoy, Jenna (2016-07-03). "Why 13-year-olds can no longer marry in Virginia". The Washington Post. Retrieved 2017-06-03.
- Tsui, Anjali (2016-07-08). "America's child marriage crisis: Virginia law tackles continuing issue". The Guardian. Retrieved 2017-06-03.
- "RCW 26.04.010 Marriage contract — Void marriages". Revised Code of Washington. Washington State Legislature. 2016-12-23. Retrieved 2017-06-03.
Every marriage entered into in which either person has not attained the age of seventeen years is void except where this section has been waived by a superior court judge of the county in which one of the parties resides on a showing of necessity.