Alcohol laws of Nevada
Legalized distilling was formalized with the passage of AB159, which set standards for producing and distributing spirits in the state. Craft distillers are limited to selling 10,000 cases in the state and 20,000 cases exported per annum. Liquor cannot be sold directly to consumers, and must first be sold to a distributor. Samples at distilleries are limited to two ounces per person per day and sales are limited to two bottles per person per month. As of 2014, spirit manufacturers pay between $0.70 and $3.60 per gallon in taxes to the state, depending on the alcohol by volume.
State law restricts commercially operated wineries to counties with no more than 100,000 people. Instructional wine-making facilities may operate in any county but must meet special license requirements and are restricted to selling or distributing no more than 60 gallons of wine in any 12-month period.
While there are no statewide open container laws, local ordinances usually prohibit open consumption. Plastic and paper open containers are allowed on the Las Vegas Strip and the Fremont Street Experience if the alcohol was purchased from a casino.
- "Great Basin Brewing". Nevada Brewers Guild. Archived from the original on 2010-12-20. Retrieved 8 April 2013. CS1 maint: discouraged parameter (link)
- Robison, Mark (7 April 2014). "Reno Rebirth: Beer, liquor makers grow in Nevada". Retrieved 7 April 2014. CS1 maint: discouraged parameter (link)
- NRS 597.240
- NRS 597.245
- "Las Vegas Drinking Laws Explained". Las Vegas Sun. 9 January 2015. Retrieved 17 September 2019. CS1 maint: discouraged parameter (link)
- Morrison, Jane Ann (19 July 2014). "Fremont Street Experience Feels Safer". Las Vegas Review-Journal. Retrieved 17 September 2019. CS1 maint: discouraged parameter (link)
- "Nevada Revised Statutes: Chapter 458, Section 260". Retrieved 2007-05-10. CS1 maint: discouraged parameter (link)
- "Panaca". Nevada Commission on Tourism. Retrieved 29 September 2013. CS1 maint: discouraged parameter (link)