April 1954

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search
01 02 03
04 05 06 07 08 09 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30

The following events occurred in April 1954:

April 1, 1954 (Thursday)[edit]

  • The U.S. Congress and President Dwight D. Eisenhower authorize the founding of the United States Air Force Academy in Colorado.
  • South Point School (India) is founded and becomes the largest school in the world by 1992.
  • The new Cardiff Airport in Rhoose opens to the public after operations were transferred from RAF Pengam Moors

April 2, 1954 (Friday)[edit]

April 3, 1954 (Saturday)[edit]

  • Vladimir Petrov defects from the Soviet Union and asks for political asylum in Australia.

April 4, 1954 (Sunday)[edit]

  • The legendary symphony conductor Arturo Toscanini experiences a lapse of memory during a concert. At this concert's end, his retirement is announced, and Toscanini never conducts in public again.

April 5, 1954 (Monday)[edit]

April 6, 1954 (Tuesday)[edit]

April 7, 1954 (Wednesday)[edit]

  • Dwight D. Eisenhower gives his "domino theory" speech during a news conference.

April 8, 1954 (Thursday)[edit]

  • A Royal Canadian Air Force Canadair Harvard collides with a Trans-Canada Air Lines Canadair North Star over Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, killing 37 people.
  • Born:Gary Carter, American baseball player (d. 2012)
  • Died:Fritzi Scheff, actress & singer (b. 1879)

April 9, 1954 (Friday)[edit]

April 10, 1954 (Saturday)[edit]

April 11, 1954 (Sunday)[edit]

  • This day is denoted as the "most boring day" in the 20th century by True Knowledge, an answer engine developed by William Tunstall-Pedoe. No significant newsworthy events, births, or deaths are known to have happened on this day.[2]

April 12, 1954 (Monday)[edit]

April 13, 1954 (Tuesday)[edit]

April 14, 1954 (Wednesday)[edit]

  • Aneurin Bevan resigns from the British Labour Party's "Shadow Cabinet".
  • A Soviet spy ring in Australia is unveiled.

April 15, 1954 (Thursday)[edit]

April 16, 1954 (Friday)[edit]

  • Vice President Richard Nixon announces that the United States may be “putting our own boys in Indochina regardless of Allied support”

April 17, 1954 (Saturday)[edit]

April 18, 1954 (Sunday)[edit]

April 19, 1954 (Monday)[edit]

This was the day that Evdokia Petrov was mauled onto a Syney plane by violent KGB officers in order to take her back to Russia to her "death sentence".

April 20, 1954 (Tuesday)[edit]

Born: Tom Furgas (American composer/artist/poet) Youngstown, Ohio

April 21, 1954 (Wednesday)[edit]

April 22, 1954 (Thursday)[edit]

  • Senator Joseph McCarthy begins hearings investigating the United States Army for being "soft" on Communism.

April 23, 1954 (Friday)[edit]

April 24, 1954 (Saturday)[edit]

April 25, 1954 (Sunday)[edit]

Born: Jyotindra Mody, India's first textile engineer.

April 26, 1954 (Monday)[edit]

  • An international conference on Korea and Indo-China opens in Geneva.
  • Akira Kurosawa's Seven Samurai is released in Japan.

April 27, 1954 (Tuesday)[edit]

April 28, 1954 (Wednesday)[edit]

  • U.S. Secretary of State John Foster Dulles accuses Communist China of sending combat troops to Indo-China to train the Viet Minh guerrillas
  • Died:Léon Jouhaux, French labor leader, recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize (b. 1879)

April 29, 1954 (Thursday)[edit]

April 30, 1954 (Friday)[edit]

References[edit]