April 2008 in sports

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
2008
January
February
March
April
May
June
July
August
September
October
November
December
01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30  

Deaths[edit]

Main article: Deaths in April 2008

Current sporting seasons[edit]

30 April 2008 (Wednesday)[edit]

29 April 2008 (Tuesday)[edit]

28 April 2008 (Monday)[edit]

27 April 2008 (Sunday)[edit]

65. Detroit Lions: Running back Kevin Smith, UCF
73. Kansas City Chiefs (from Denver through Minnesota): Running back Jamaal Charles, Texas
81. Arizona Cardinals: Wide receiver Early Doucet, LSU
86. Baltimore Ravens (from Seattle): Free safety Tom Zbikowski, Notre Dame
89. Houston Texans (from Jacksonville through Baltimore): Running back Steve Slaton, West Virginia
95. New York Giants: Wide receiver Mario Manningham, Michigan
137. Minnesota Vikings (from St. Louis through Green Bay): Quarterback John David Booty, USC
156. Pittsburgh Steelers: Quarterback Dennis Dixon, Oregon
162. New York Jets (from Green Bay): Quarterback Erik Ainge, Tennessee
186. Washington Redskins: Quarterback Colt Brennan, Hawaii
202. Indianapolis Colts: Running back Mike Hart, Michigan
209. Green Bay Packers (From St. Louis through Minnesota): Quarterback Matt Flynn, LSU
252 (Mr. Irrelevant). St. Louis Rams: Linebacker David Vobora, Idaho
(1) Kimi Räikkönen Finland (2) Felipe Massa Brazil (3) Lewis Hamilton United Kingdom
(1) Dan Wheldon United Kingdom (2) Tony Kanaan Brazil (3) Scott Dixon New Zealand
(1) Pedro Lamy Portugal & Stéphane Sarrazin France (2) Alexandre Prémat France & Mike Rockenfeller Germany (3) Harald Primat Switzerland & Christophe Tinseau France
(1) Kyle Busch Nevada (2) Juan Pablo Montoya Colombia (3) Denny Hamlin Virginia
(1) Mikko Hirvonen Finland (2) Dani Sordo Spain (3) Chris Atkinson Australia

26 April 2008 (Saturday)[edit]

13. Carolina Panthers: Running back Jonathan Stewart, Oregon
18. Baltimore Ravens: Quarterback Joe Flacco, Delaware
55. Baltimore (from Seattle): Running back Ray Rice, Rutgers
56. Green Bay Packers (from Cleveland): Quarterback Brian Brohm, (Louisville)
57. Miami (from San Diego): Quarterback Chad Henne, Michigan

22 April 2008 (Tuesday)[edit]

21 April 2008 (Monday)[edit]

20 April 2008 (Sunday)[edit]

(1) Marco Werner Germany & Lucas Luhr Germany (2) Frank Biela Germany & Emanuele Pirro Italy (3) Scott Sharp United States & David Brabham Australia
(1) Timo Scheider Germany (2) Martin Tomczyk Germany (3) Bruno Spengler Canada
(1) Karl Wendlinger Austria & Ryan Sharp United Kingdom (2) Michael Bartels Germany & Andrea Bertolini Italy (3) Philipp Peter Austria & Allan Simonsen Denmark
(1) Danica Patrick United States (2) Hélio Castroneves Brazil (3) Scott Dixon New Zealand
Danica Patrick becomes the first woman to win a race in a top-flight American motor racing series.
(1) Will Power Australia (2) Franck Montagny France (3) Mario Dominguez Mexico
Will Power claims his debut IRL victory, winning the last ever Champ Car race after 28 seasons of Champ Car racing.
(1) Garth Tander Australia (2) Steven Richards New Zealand (3) James Courtney Australia

19 April 2008 (Saturday)[edit]

Rain, and rain water seeping through the track forced officials to delay the race until April 20.

18 April 2008 (Friday)[edit]

17 April 2008 (Thursday)[edit]

16 April 2008 (Wednesday)[edit]

13 April 2008 (Sunday)[edit]

(1) Mattias Ekström Sweden (2) Timo Scheider Germany (3) Tom Kristensen Denmark
(1) Jimmie Johnson California (2) Clint Bowyer Kansas (3) Denny Hamlin Virginia
Lorenzo becomes the youngest ever winner in 500cc/MotoGP.

12 April 2008 (Saturday)[edit]

11 April 2008 (Friday)[edit]

10 April 2008 (Thursday)[edit]

9 April 2008 (Wednesday)[edit]

8 April 2008 (Tuesday)[edit]

7 April 2008 (Monday)[edit]

6 April 2008 (Sunday)[edit]

(1) Felipe Massa Brazil (2) Kimi Räikkönen Finland (3) Robert Kubica Poland
(1) Carl Edwards Missouri (2) Jimmie Johnson California (3) Kyle Busch Nevada
(1) Graham Rahal United States (2) Hélio Castroneves Brazil (3) Tony Kanaan Brazil
(1) Nicolas Minassian France & Marc Gené Spain (2) Alexandre Prémat France & Mike Rockenfeller Germany (3) Jan Charouz Czech Republic & Stefan Mücke Germany
(1) Stijn Devolder Belgium (2) Nick Nuyens Belgium (3) Juan Antonio Flecha Spain

5 April 2008 (Saturday)[edit]

4 April 2008 (Friday)[edit]

3 April 2008 (Thursday)[edit]

2 April 2008 (Wednesday)[edit]

1 April 2008 (Tuesday)[edit]

References[edit]